We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a mini-museum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Almost a mini-museum”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were recommended to this hotel by family who had stayed there previously. The hotel is a delight and a great credit to the owner and his family who have sympathetically restored the dilapidated old building once owned by Admiral Collingwood. Our visit was at the end of September, which may explain the preponderance of UK pensioners in residence, many of whom appear to be regular clients. The staff worked hard to meet the needs of residents, which makes it difficult to be too critical. However, we did find that catering was not the hotels strongest suit. Breakfasts were continental, with cooked food being a cost option, and bar meals were fine, but it was the evening dining experience which failed to meet expectations. The menu was limited, though it changed daily and the food was not always well presented. We felt sorry for those who were booked in on a half-board basis. Thankfully, good restaurants were only a short walk away in the harbour.

Room Tip: Booking a room in the main house would be preferable unless proximity to the pool was important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LXX_Nav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    115
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
31
197
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

As with previous reviews, the hotel is a very interesting peace of English Colonial history, full of character and extremely relaxing. The Staff are so friendly and work long hours constantly trying to please visitors. I have no complaints with the staff but a few of the guests who seem to think they owned the hotel ! At the time l appeared to be the only single person there, and despite saying hello and smiling, l was ignored and stared at. manners and politeness cost nothing ! After two days l was welcomed by a lovely couple from Kent, otherwise l would have booked an early flight back home. It is not the place to stay if you are under 50 and like nightime entertainment. We joined a quiz one evening, it was fun but when our group won , the 'regulars' made snidey remarks and sulked . It then became evident, this was a 'clicky' holiday hotel/residential home for the minority who objected to anyone enjoying themselves. This was also reflected by the set menu, soup every night ! The bar food was really nice so B & B would be advisable. The swimming pool and terraces are perfect, tennis court and table tennis, although the TV room is outside in a brick shed. It would be best if the pool table was placed outside and the TV inside. I was lucky to have a room in the house as opposed to outside, but found it to be very dark and gloomy. But who spends their holiday in a bedroom ? Overall: quiet, relaxing, wonderful staff, shame about some of the guests though.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrissie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice for those guests with an interest in history. Lovingly restored by its owner, it is a fascinating place to stay. The owner does a weekly tour of the property which is well worth attending, & visitors are recommended to explore the hotel at their leisure to appreciate this little piece of colonial history. The hotel itself is ideally located as, lying almost halfway between Mahon & Es Castell, it is only 20 mins walk from either. There is also a regular bus service between the two, with a bus stop conveniently close to the hotel.
The rooms are basic but clean with some in the hotel itself & others around the pool. Our room was by the pool, the room was cleaned daily with fresh towels provided. We could not fault any of the staff, all of whom could not do enough for their guests. Reception staff were always able to offer helpful advise on bus times, places of interest etc, most useful to first time visitors to Menorca!
The hotel has a lovely terrace which overlooks Mahon harbour and offers wonderful views, a great place to relax.
We stayed at the hotel on a B&B basis. Breakfast was usual continental style, ham, cheese, rolls, fresh fruit etc. Traditional English breakfast was available at additional cost but we were more than happy with the fare on offer.
This hotel is an excellent base to explore Menorca but also is a great place to relax and unwind. We are not surprised guests return as we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Have just returned from a great stay in a fabulous hotel. The hotel is only small but full of history about Collingwood. the owner of the hotel gives a talk on a Tuesday about the history and explained about the items in the house and what they meant. The terrace overlooks the harbour and it was lovely to sit there in the evening and watch the sun go down. The bar staff are absolutely great and were always smiling even though they seemed to work long hours. The rooms are cleaned everyday and towels also changed each day.
I cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel. If you want something relaxing then this is the place to come. It is a lovely stroll into Mahon and Es Castell from the hotel.
Other holiday makers have been coming back to this hotel for 10-20 years. I can see why.
the only downside was that I forgot to pack my travel iron and the hotel does not have an iron to borrow, so if your thinking of going remember to take a travel iron with you.
A great holiday was had by all. Thank you to all the staff that made it wonderful

Room Tip: Either get a room in the house as they have more character or try for rooms 43-48 as they have a har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likesalaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Took my husband here for his birthday, mainly for the historical content. What an interesting place this is, it looks untouched (in a good way) since the days when the Admiral lived there. We had a lovely view of the harbour from our window and watched cruise ships coming and going most days. The hotel staff are all wonderful and so helpful. This hotel is so different from the many bland glass and steel buildings you get, stay here for a change and have a great time

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortyeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were lucky to get a room in the original house, as we hadn't thought to request one in advance. Enrique apologised that it was the last room and that the bathroom was very small but it was fine for our requirements. The property, with its collection of artefacts, is fascinating and staff really went out of their way to look after us. We were very sorry to leave.

Room Tip: We had a great view from the back (seaside) of the house, although others may prefer the modern, poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleborough
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

the hotel is halfway between mahon and escastells. with a bus stop at the top of the lane. on the main road buses every thirty mins.the hotel is clean with good food.reasonably priced.you can have lunch at the hotel at lunchtime off the menu.evening meal is three course and a choice of menu.there is a lovely terrace looking over the harbour. small swimming pool.in the garden there are tables and chairs which have lanterns which are lit up at night.the hotel inside is very large and full of character. the management and staff are very attentive and take great pride in their work .as I said in the begining. what a delightful hotel.we will return again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Castell
0.6 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,235 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Artiem Capri Menorca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Catalonia Mirador d'es Port
3.5 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 2 in S'Algar
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House

Property: Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House
Address: Carretera Es Castell-S.Lluis;Ub Tre s/n, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Es Castell
#4 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Almirante Collingwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing