We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 9...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely staff and setting but stayed in Room 9 and was awoken every night by the sound of furniture being moved and shuffling footsteps...am amazed nobody has commented upon this...and no it was not the gin! Met some lovely people which is important as a solo traveller but would not return as it is more of a club than an hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the main house although the terrace is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wow! What a great little hotel. Compared to the modern hotels in Es Castell and Mahon, this really is a brilliant place to stay. It is more like a museum or stately home inside with guided tours of the house on a Tuesday. Ideal location to walk to Mahon harbour or the great restuarants around the port of Es Castell (about a 20 minute walk in either direction). Good bar prices, friendly and helpful staff, a small pool and two terraces to have a drink or sunbathe. All in all a fantastic place to stay in Es Castell

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

As some have commented, so many people are regulars (often going at the same time to meet up with others) that you could feel you're intruding in a private club. But we "joined" without much problem - and though I'm not sure I'd want to go every year, it's the only hotel abroad to which we have returned (both times on decent deals with Thomson's "small and friendly"). Think of it like Cheers - where everybody knows your name. Staff are friendly but maintain the niceties - you're an honoured guest.

Last time we ate only on the first night in the hotel restaurant (€12 set meal) but more often this time, as well as eating-out excursions to Es Castell and Mahon. On a budget, you could survive on the bar meals menu.

The historic feel of the place and its naval tradition is great - they even fly the red ensign rather than the union flag - and I'm always tempted to take the salute for the passing cruise ships from the "quarterdeck" - sorry sun deck - looking over the harbour.

We like the simple rooms. They are dark only till you open the shutters - you might need the flyscreens at night but not during the day. And the house and grounds provide lots of shade if you don't want the full sun.

Room Tip: I can't believe anyone suffered from road noise, but that would only be in the south-west facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Warringtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned late June 2014, my parents have been returning to this hotel for over 25 years! The welcoming hospitality and service is second to none and nothing is too much trouble. Lovely clean rooms, comfy beds and the staff are amazing. We had B&B but still ate at the bar each night as the bar menu and food is good and well priced. We had special menu of large prawns grilled and fresh sardines excellent! mostly older people which is fine if you are looking for a complete get away and relaxing holiday. so close to the port of Mahon and Es Castel harbors easy walking distance and lovely for evenings out

Room Tip: If you want history ask to stay in the house if not the rooms by the pool are great for nipping in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just returned from a second two week stay at the hotel. After our first stay in 2013 we could not wait to book again and the Almirante did not disappoint. All the staff are delightful and nothing is too much trouble. If you are looking for a five star hotel then this is not for you. However if you value exceptional hospitality and friendship together with a pieceful setting ideally situated between Mahon and Es Castell then look no further. If you are interested in naval history then Collingwood House and the surrounding area is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chameleon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have just returned from a week's break in Menorca. I selected the Del Almirante for its location, historic past and reasonable price. There was nothing about it that i didn't like. Lovely interiors reflecting its past, comfortable rooms, pleasant gardens, pool and sitting out areas. The breakfast is buffet style with plenty to choose from. The restaurant and bar serve meals at lunch and evening times at very reasonable prices. Location is convenient, situated between the capital and Es Castell. both a short walk away or a bus ride from the stop at the hotel's main entrance. The staff were extremely friendly, more like good friends than hotel workers.

I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building. Don't miss the owner's personal tour of the hotel on Tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Thomson's Small & Friendly brochure occasionally throws up some interesting accommodation; this is one! 40 rooms but only a handful within the main building! The 'rest' are sort of 'old fashioned' Motel rooms, but ok. We had No 28 in a corner. No view at the back but.....the room is cool and dark, twin beds, a dressing table, chair and a fairly recently (?) refurbished bathroom. The shower could use a bit more space, the water is hot but not, for us, anyway, powerful enough....but you don't live in the room not the bathroom. The dining room has gorgeous views over the long approach to Mahon Harbour. The 'lounge area', not unlike some Singaporian hotel, is cool, the tiled floor, the ratan fans and the open airy outlook, is wonderful for sipping those AMAZING G&T's. There is a 'bar' menu, more than adequate for lunches and the staff.....well. they couldn't be any more helpful or friendly if they tried. Really made you feel welcome. Ditto the 'Management'. This is a family owned and run Hotel and on Tuesdays there is a very good historic and anecdotal talk by the owner all about the Brits, Nelson, Collingwood, Mrs Hamilton, ghosts and red paint! If you're very attentive, you can buy him a beer afterwards.
There is a tennis court and table tennis and a smallish but good pool. the pool terrace, up a few steps, has the same wonderful vista overlooking the water. Going to either Es Castell is a doddle, 15 mins and to Mahon about 20. Es Castell is failry small but has the small fishing harbour and lots of cafes and restaurants with plenty of choice. Mahon is lovely, old fashioned Spain with a typical Menorcan feel. Lovely narrow streets, wee cool shops, large open squares, tapas bars/cafes round almost every corner; great ice cream! The Church of Santa Maria had a huge organ, 3,000+ pipes and there is a short 1/2 h concert every weekday (5 Euros). Friends we made there had a car and we went off to Ciudatella - other end of the island but not far - must go back to explore it. All in all, a great week, temp higher than we thought, 30+ C most days. Tripo round the extensive harbour well wotrth the price, great scenery and a potted local history thrown in. We Will go again. Oops, forgot to mention the grounds, peaceful areas for tea, or gin!

Room Tip: Not sure you can choose - best check when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eastbournestrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Castell
0.6 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Agamenon
Hotel Agamenon
#2 of 6 in Es Castell
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jardi de ses Bruixes
1.1 mi away
Catalonia Mirador d'es Port
1.3 mi away
Hotel Artiem Capri Menorca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House

Address: Carretera Es Castell-S.Lluis;Ub Tre s/n, 07720 Es Castell, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Es Castell
#4 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range: £44 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Almirante Collingwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing