We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel is more than location and infrastructure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Barcelo Hamlton service is not adequate to a 4 star hotel.
The postive; hotel location (Es Castell) and the newly built hotel are beautiful, close to Mahon, while having the charm of the small town.
The negative: cleanliness was lacking during our stay, for example you room would be covered in the sand you brought in on day 1; the staff being overly friendly to the point it felt they were not taking us seriously; gastronomy was far below the spanish standard and that goes for their buffet, their fancy water side hotel and the roof top bar...
The worse: being charged for every little service on offer, 1 EUR for ice cubes in your drink! a charge for pool towels, another for parking. Yes, at one point it reminded of Les Miserabe inn keeper Thenardier:
" Charge 'em for the lice, extra for the mice
Two percent for looking in the mirror twice
Here a little slice, there a little cut
Three percent for sleeping with the window shut
When it comes to fixing prices
There are a lot of tricks he knows
How it all increases, all them bits and pieces
Jesus! It's amazing how it grows!"

Room Tip: rooms are well insulated, but try to get an ocean facing one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Travelbusybee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

I agree with all the other positive comments from contributors who have stayed at this hotel. Everything is geared up for a relaxing stay and nothing is too much trouble for the very helpful and freindly staff. It has been noted by others that although a kettle is provided in the rooms there is no tea and coffee. I am pleased to report that during our stay these were provided in all the rooms along with milk, so a nice touch and one which I have not come across in other '4 star' spanish hotels. I would recommend paying the extra for the sea view, if only to observe some of the millionaire super yachts passing by....ahh dream on!!!
Another plus for this hotel, transfer from the airport 15mins.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Coppice023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Well refurbished hotel in ideal location.

Likes: Views (partciularly Deluxe panoramic rooms) friendly staff, great roof top bar. Breakfast selection and paqui on the omelettes!!

Dislikes: vagueness on in - hotel prices ie mini bar etc had pack prices but what if you just want a beer? evening buffet wasnt to my taste but that could be me, however it did discourage us from paying at one of the other hotel restaurants.

This is meant to be constructive it certainly wouldnt put me off going again.

Room Tip: deluxe panoramic view rooms...if you can stretch it a bit they are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having visited in 2010 before the renovations, it was great to see how much the Hotel has improved (especially the Blue Sky Bar) whilst retaining their best feature - their friendly and helpful Staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank drhoci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This came highly rated and we were not dissapointed. It is an adults only hotel which does make a huge difference.

Set in a beautiful location and equally beautiful hotel with an eye for detail. Our room overlooked the pool and had the sun on the balcony. The rooms are clean, light and airy and cleaned every day, there is a kettle but take along or buy tea and coffee as these are not supplied.

The pools are lovley and also discovered the flotation tank, which I did not know about. Dipping in the top pool after this was like going into a warm bath. The flotation tank I'm still not sure if I liked but I can tick it off my bucket list !. Plenty of sun loungers and no need to save them with towels !

We went half board, great selection for breakfast and evening meal again a good selection. My only criticism is that water was not offered with the meal. Warning for the men, trousers must be worn for evening meals.I attended a master chef demo ( aprox 15mins) and sampled fish soup, which was delish !

The skybar is a must at the top of the hotel with jacuzzis, bar and beautiful views.

Staff were always polite and helpful.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the beautiful harbour. We got a bus into Mahon, and walked back past all the millionaires yahcts, now dreaming of owning one.

We have no doubt that we will return to this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Lauren1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights while on business trip and cannot fault hotel. All smoked glass and marble foyer, the balconies have rails resembling staterooms on a cruise liner which hotel resembles, excellent friendly staff. Lot of package tour guests, who are all inclusive, but we just went for B and B, breakfast excellent and very varied. There are lots of little restaurant Just round the corner overlooking the harbour at Cala Fonts. We had dinner a couple of evenings at Sa Cova, the hotel's restaurant on the seafront, where the food and service were impeccable . My only complaint would be that most of the loungers by the pool were 'reserved' with towels or books by 8.30 each morning, and remained empty until their owners turned up sometime several hours later, and these were mainly Brits! However very pleasant hotel would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joannaflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We went to this hotel for a family holiday to celebrate my Dad's 60th birthday. We came mid July and were told by our rep that we had arrived just in time for the good weather. This hotel is decorated to a every high standard. The room is very contemporary and the air con is excellent.

The buffet restaurant was excellent. In the evening there was always a salad bar and a cold meats bar with individual salads and a dessert bar. In addition to this was the hot food buffet which had different meals each night along with a hot plate where the very nice staff would cooked fresh meat and fish. There was a similar setup in the morning with the addition of fresh juice, coffee and Cava. You can dine either inside the nicely air conditioned restaurant or you can dine in the alfresco seating area overlooking the harbour.

The staff at the hotel were so lovely. We had an issue when we arrived and mentioned it to reception and to our rep. Our issue was dealt with with no fuss and we received a gift of a mini bottle of cava biscuits in our room. Also as it was also my Mum's birthday during the actual holiday she also got a gift.

The best thing about this hotel has to be the roof terrace. We sunbathed there during the day, popping into the Jacuzzi to cool down and we went up there in the evening for a nice drink listening to the awesome DJ who played some really chilled out mixes.

The area is quiet but I think this adds to the appeal. A 5 minute walk from the hotel is Cales Fonts harbour with a number of wonderful restaurants. It was lovely to sit out here both during the day and the evening watching the world go by. We went to Mahon on a couple of days and went both by bus and walked. The bus was €1.65 and only took 15 minutes. They were every half hour from Es Castell. When we walked it only took us about 30-40 minutes and it was easy to get to with wide pavements all the way.

I would recommend a day out to Ciutadella on the other side of the Island also the Don Juan glass bottom boat trip around Mahon harbour was excellent value for money.

Overall this was an amazing holiday that I would definitely go back to!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tracy_G_Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Castell
0.2 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
24.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,352 reviews
4.6 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,361 reviews
24.5 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
11.5 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Hamilton Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Hamilton Menorca

Address: Santa Agueda, 6 | Villa Carlos, 07720 Es Castell, Menorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Es Castell
#3 Luxury Hotel in Es Castell
#4 Family Hotel in Es Castell
#5 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range: £76 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Hamilton Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Barcelo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelo Hamilton Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hamilton Hotel Es Castell
Barcelo Es Castell
Barcelo Hotel Es Castell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing