We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, lets it self down in some areas .. shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, lets it self down in some areas .. shame”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Arrived at the hotel for a 3night stay this bank holiday and upon first impressions everything looked OK.
Shocked to see that you had to pay €5 per night to use the in-room safe !!!
Also beach towels you had to pay €5 per stay + a deposit of €20 per towel.

The service at the hotel was OK, not excellent and we stopped on a half board basis, on reflection we should have had only B&B as the evening meal was OK (buffet) but nothing special.

A nice touch was a bottle of cava & fruit for my birthday, I did not tell them but the housekeeping must have seen cards in room and put these in .. so top marks for that.

We would recommend hiring a 4-poster sunbed .. think the cost was €34 but this included 2 towels and a bottle of Cava and fruit .. ask at reception to do this.

We went everywhere by bus, bus stop a 5minute walk and direct into Mahon (mao) .. €1.65 per person.
The port of es-castell is a 3minute walk away and is very nice - there is no beach here.

The downside was the noise made by housekeeping, this was not on purpose but just the layout of the hotel meant you heard them clean the room next door or even worse above - every time they moved a chair the noise carried to the room .. not good if you want a lie in !!

and the best bit no kids, I would certainly stop here again.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room .. also maybe on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank perky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    359
    159
    61
    23
See reviews for
47
871
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had a 3 night stay at the Hamilton in August. It's a lovely and modern hotel, the pool and sky bar are fantastic. The area is also good, there's a small port about 2 minutes away which is great for a drink / dinner at night. The adults only concept is also great.
The let downs: service can be quite slow at times, the check in is at 3 and they aren't very flexible with this, the fitness area is very basic and if you like working out whilst away isn't ideal, they charge for use of pool towels; wifi is hit and miss
All in all it's a solid choice for this area of Menorca.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank carlitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Es Castell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel has an excellent location and facilities for adults. The room layout is quirky and modern. We had a sea view which allowed us to watch all the different boats and ships go to and from Mahon harbour. For us it was definitely preferrable to overlooking the quiet swimming pool. We had been there last year and there appear to have been cut backs which seems to really overstretch the already busy staff. The Blue Sky Bar with its jacuzzis offers a relaxing way to while the day away but watch out there is not much shade! Unfortunately it does not seem to be exclusively for hotel guests and we had an unpleasant experience on one day which involved drunk non residents during the afternoon. There are no beaches nearby but the bus service is very good into Mahon and from there on. We hired a car for a few days to explore a bit of the beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Writing this while still here, we've been here for 5 days with still a week to go. If I wait until we go home I'll probably not get around to doing this!!

What a find, fantastic hotel, definitely not what you would label a typical "holiday hotel"

It's very stylish in decor, rooms and balconies are quite compact but very well fitted out with quality fittings. There's even a Villeroy & Boch toilet pan so they've obviously spared no expense.

The food is lovely, tending to be more traditional Spanish as the majority of guests are Spanish. I always think that's a good thing, a bit like going into a Chinese restaurant that's frequented by Chinese people.

We're AI, so there is a choice in the afternoon of a daily changing 3 course a la carte menu or you can order from the bar menu. Not everything on the bar menu is available to AI but if you choose anything that's not, you only pay 50% of the marked price.

It's the same with the drinks menu, but the choice for AI is pretty extensive, Smirnoff vodka, J&B or Ballantynes Whisky, Jim Beam etc. you want a single malt, you pay 50% of the marked price.

The rooftop Sky Bar is fabulous, about 5 jacuzzi's, large mattress beds and fantastic views. Spending most days there then back in the evening after dinner where there is a DJ or a duo playing.

A previous reviewer mentioned towels on the beds, we've not experienced this at all. There has been entertainment every night so far, mostly singing duos (good quality) between 9:30 - 11pm

Cleanliness was brought up before, my wife is an absolute clean freak and she has no problem with the place, I'm a bloke so what would I know!!

Definitely coming back here

Room Tip: Sea view does have a very good view but pool view gets more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We came here for our honeymoon, amazing hotel in everyway! Roof terrace with hot tubs is fab, two more pools downstairs. Food faultless. Biggest beds ever! Water taxi is the way to travel. Highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wedemire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A modern hotel, in a quiet location.Clean, great selection of food. As mentioned previously, sea view rooms have fantastic views. Ample sunbeds, 2 pools. So relaxing and quiet. The rooftop bar/sunbathing area with jacuzzis gave fantastic views, and was open at night for drinks/cocktails with a dj playing ambient tunes.10 minute bus journey into Mahon (buses every half hour). Menorca has a great public bus service, which is well timetabled, easy to comprehend and good value for money. Once in Mahon you can catch a bus to all resorts on the Island, and there are also several boat trips/water taxis available.You can also get a water taxi from Calas Fonts (5-10 min walk from the hotel). Calas Fonts has several waterside bars and restaurants, and is a great place to sit and watch the world go by. I would stay in this modern, clean, peaceful hotel again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms only get the sun early morning. Keeps the room cooler, but no sunbathing on the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MyviewMansfieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have just come back from spending 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel is very modern and extremely clean and comfortable to stay in with excellent facilities. The roof top bar and pool area has stunning views and is a hidden gem. The location is good...5 min walk to cal de fonts-amazing little harbour with excellent restaurants. The hotel is a 7 minute walk to the bus stop which has regular buses to Mahon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Castell
0.2 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
24.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,113 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,517 reviews
24.5 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
18.3 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Hamilton Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Hamilton Menorca

Property: Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Address: Santa Agueda, 6 | Villa Carlos, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Es Castell
#3 Luxury Hotel in Es Castell
#4 Family Hotel in Es Castell
#5 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Hamilton Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Hamilton Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hamilton Hotel Es Castell
Barcelo Es Castell
Barcelo Hotel Es Castell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing