We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel & Food”
Review of Hotel Agamenon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Agamenon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent a week in May at this Hotel……after a difficult flight from Manchester due to a 4.5 hr delay we arrived too late for the evening meal, however the staff did provide us with a lighter meal and drinks at no cost which was very welcome. The hotel is very clean and in an excellent, quiet location. Great views of the inlet to Mahon harbour, also good gardens and plenty of space/area to relax. We arranged our own trip and were not there with Saga even though we are in our 60's…we didn't notice any difference in the way we treated to other guests and things were just fine. Recently we have stopped hiring cars on holiday as they are a distraction and nuisance with driving, parking etc…..so we have started using public transport this year… Sorrento, Cadiz and Menorca on this trip…..the hotel is a short walk from a regular, air conditioned and cheap bus service to the main bus station in Mahon where you can explore the city or get another bus to just about anywhere you want. We found the buses clean, all air-con, regular, punctual and reliable, also well priced……who needs a car ??…. The hotel entertainment at night isn't something that interests us but it seemed reasonable enough as we passed by. The food was very good, large choice at breakfast and evening meal….plenty of alternatives to the vast choice of fish so please don't think you will be stuck with fish alone as you won't. Very quiet at night whilst we were there….pleasant and fairly affluent looking neighbourhood with no discos, mopeds and rowdy goings on to upset you. Es Castell is a treat….there was a fiesta/ carnival during our stay with a large stage in the main square and all sorts of different things going on at night…so overall a good place to stay and it gets my recommendation…….

Room Tip: Pool side for views of mahon….
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Valves4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a 2-week all-inclusive holiday at the Agamenon wth Saga, and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. The staff were extremely friendly and always ready to help in any way posssible...even the drinks were generous in size !! The food was invariably excellent, with some really unusual and very tasty fish dishes which we especially enjoyed. This is without doubt the cleanest Hotel we have ever stayed in, both in the public area and in our bedroom. This had a side-sea view and being at a lower level did not have such good view as from on high. A good tip....ask for a room near the top of the Hotel where the views are quite excellent. The only dowside to the holiday was the quite long walk to the bus/coach stop. The walk into Es Castell was pleasant and not too steep at any point and the town has greatly improved since we last visited seven years ago. Altogether a very good holiday for someone of the Saga generation...possibly not so for someone young or looking for excitement and night clubs. But for someone looking for a quiet, peaceful holiday in an excellent Hotel, this gets our firm recommendation.

Room Tip: As high a level as you can get; those overlooking the swimming pool have the best views of Mahon and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LarryC1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just returned from three weeks at this wonderful hotel we were made to feel at home immediately the staff could not do enough to please and that includes every member of staff, bar, reception,maids, restaurant if I have missed anyone please forgive me. The location is superb with absolutely fantastic views over the magnificent harbour and island. The town is also lovely - being a tipical Spanish town with no tourist tat shops.Food very good and always hot and lots of choice. All in all a wonderful holiday - thank you Agamemnon.
Two Seniors

Room Tip: Over looking the car park - morning sun until about 2 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ValerieAnn187050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived on a cold wet cloudy day & every thing looked very drab and shabby our room was quite large but no drawers other than small bedside drawers. There was one chair & one small bottle of water in an otherwise empty fridge as Saga guests we get fruit as well but there were three pieces of fruit ,no knife to cut it up with. The food was not good quality & though there was two or three choices of meat & fish everything was covered in a sauce or gravy I'm not a meat eater so chose chicken or fish, the cod was always salty & chicken tough. The desserts were assorted pastry's melon & custards every night. Lunch was mostly the same but not so much choice & breakfast was always fried eggs never scrambled ,.the streaky bacon was sometimes more
fat than bacon. The walk to the harbour was quite a long way also down hill not much going on in October so was very quiet.
The entertainment the week we stayed was really good a couple of very good singers & other evenings there were quiz's run by our Saga rep. The Hotel staff were lovely, very helpful & friendly. We had some brilliant trips with very good guides. Saga have a lounge with tea & coffee but we had to keep boiling a kettle to make tea which wasn't a good idea.
One last comment there was only one lift & waited quite a while some times for it we could & did walk down but didn't want to walk up. My feeling to sum up, not worth 4 star rating & as Saga have only had this Hotel since the spring this year they will make some changes. We would love to come back to Menorca & to this area. So please take note Saga.

Room Tip: Side sea view was good 3rd floor we could see the car park but didn't find it a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Having just spent two weeks at the hotel, we come home with mixed feelings. The hotel was very clean & the staff always very helpful. However this is not a 4 star hotel. There is 1 lift that serves the WHOLE hotel ( 5 floors) this also doubles as a service lift. The rooms are very sparsely furnished & would appear more hostel than hotel. The food was just about adequate. Only just. The food on a hot counter should be hot not warm as in this hotel. The dining room does not have adequate facilities to either keep the hot food hot or the cold food cold, which results in it all being warm NOT A GOOD IDEA. We were there on an "all inclusive " basis, but soon found that if we wanted to have water from the bar we were charged. If we wanted coffee from the bar we were charged. If we wanted ice cream or any snacks from the bar we were charged. This is not what we would regard as "all inclusive". This is such a pity as this could be an ideal holiday destination as it is in a wonderful location.

Room Tip: choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roderick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Would recommend this hotel for good food, lovely location and very helpful, friendly staff. We hope to return. It is a bonus to have free internet connection throughout most of the hotel. Evening entertainment occurs approximately three times per week.

Room Tip: Avoid end corner rooms if you want good internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funbear34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

You can look out towards the bay as you enjoy the tasty buffet style meals in the hotels restaurant. Other facilities include a lobby bar and snack bar and socialise with other guests lifts to all 7 floors . There is free WiFi internet access in the reception area .Outside there is a pool and terrace .There are 75 bedrooms . Each room has contemporary décor and is equipped with a furnished balcony . Other facilities include a TV telephone ,hairdryer and safety box. The staff were all wonderfull and could not do enough for you .

Room Tip: all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hornsbydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Castell
0.2 mi away
Artiem Carlos - Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Port Mahon
Hotel Port Mahon
#1 of 8 in Mahon
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 3 in S'Algar
1,566 reviews
23.7 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,380 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
#1 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agamenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agamenon

Address: Calle Agamenon 16, 07720 Es Castell, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
#2 Luxury Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range: £73 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agamenon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Agamenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agamenon Hotel Es Castell
Hotel Agamemnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing