We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Hotel Agamenon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Agamenon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is not pretentious and as a result we felt very relaxed immediately. It is quieter than the usual tourist grade hotel and all the better for it.although most clientele were adult, there was a fair smattering of kids and teens and the staff were very welcoming to them. The buffet was on the whole very good, plenty of fish on the menu, and local produce,as well as a regular pasta dish. Breakfast was fine, usual stuff.the rooms were spotless and cleaned to a very high standard every day. We were on the 5th floor facing the harbour which had really great views& the air con was v efficient. All the staff were really nice, a credit to the Seth training.special mention to maria,Jorge,gabby,Elena and cili who made our stay so pleasant. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lfs2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Excellent hotel with good varied food,the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. The Hotel set in a quiet location with excellent views of the harbour. Public transport is frequent and easy to use.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned from a week at the Agamenon and firstly have to say that all of the staff there are among the nicest I have ever came across, always a smile always willing to help an absolute delight and I have to add they work very long hours. If you are after peace and quiet then this is the place to come, they don't have a kids club or even any entertainment so there are very few children and even sitting around the pool is relaxing and so peaceful, the local area is picture pretty and a short walk away is a beautiful harbour bursting with restaurants, we ate at three and was not disappointed. Our room on the 4th floor did overlook the car park but that did not take away the beauty of the place the view was beautiful just sitting there watching boats of all sizes from small fishing vessels to cruise liners passing silently by. If peace and quiet is what you need for a week with the best service nice food and beautiful scenery then try this hotel we are so glad we did.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank HazyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed from the 26th July 2014 for a week, I wish I had gone for longer. Excellent position our room was overlooking the mouth of the harbour, spent a lot of time watching the boats come and go, food excellent, staff friendly, hotel very clean, what else can I say.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DennyWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a wonderful week's stay at the Agamenon in July 2014. The hotel is clean, well furnished and immaculately kept. The staff were at all times 100% polite, courteous and helpful. Really they couldn't do enough for us, especially Cilli at reception who advised us on where to eat and generally was extremely helpful.

The hotel has the most amazing location - right at the harbour mouth and you could spend hours just watching all the yachts come and go. We wouldn't hesitate to return. The pool area is clean, quiet and very pretty. The breakfast was good, didn't have dinner. Lunch of salad by the pool was also good. The rooms are pretty basic but clean.

Minor niggles - lack of drawer space in the bedrooms, very hard beds and pillows, bedroom doors very noisy when closing, lack of electric points near a mirror but it's that European thing of drying your hair in the bathroom which I am always a bit anxious about.

If you have problems walking, this hotel is not for you as it is a good 10 mins walk to nearest cafe or shops. Five mins to Mahon in a taxi. We liked the location as we did feel we were in the middle of a little Menorcan village - you'd have been hard pushed to find a tourist shop here. We loved the restaurants and the atmosphere at Cala Fonts which is about 10 mins away and is utterly charming.

We were initially put in a room on the first floor which we thought disappointing but the hotel was very accommodating and moved us to the top floor the next day. The views are spectacular up here, well worth asking specially for a high room.

Fantastic transfer time - 10 mins tops. Loved the hotel and the island and will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chocolateyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

lovely hotel, great views, good food, quiet, clean, all staff effecient, near mahon, near cala fonts, nice walks all around es castell, bus service and station for a small island is very good, taxi fares good, booked water taxi from hotel jetty in to mahon harbour, a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hhhhjjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We completely agree with all the previous comments regarding the friendly, helpful staff and cleanliness of the hotel. It is a wonderful place to stay and we cant wait to return. Only one suggestion/criticism perhaps they should consider installation of an additional lift.

Room Tip: All have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMatthewsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Castell
0.2 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Port Mahon
Hotel Port Mahon
#1 of 8 in Mahon
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Artiem Capri Menorca
3.4 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 3 in S'Algar
1,563 reviews
4.7 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agamenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agamenon

Address: Calle Agamenon 16, 07720 Es Castell, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Es Castell
#2 Luxury Hotel in Es Castell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range: £68 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agamenon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Agamenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agamenon Hotel Es Castell
Hotel Agamemnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing