We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Son Granot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Son Granot
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

On the plus side, beautiful views and location. Caroline was also very charming.
Unfortunately, and these are the areas you actually earn your spurs, the food over priced and half the menu was unavailable. Some of the starters were beautiful but €18 for some anchovies is beyond steep. Shrimp salad with truffles and fois gras was stunning. No fruit juices were available although fresh squeezed orange was lovely. Again though, all the positives had a negative. Desert wine? None was chilled and the waitor said as such, it wasn't worth it!!
Butter for the bread? They scoured the hotel but couldn't find any. Really?
For a birthday it just left a slightly sour taste which after other reviews was a real shock.
For us, lots of positives but not enough to return.
We have had better food and and more realistic prices.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    13
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were recommended to stay here while attending a wedding in a different venue. The hotel is beautiful and clean and well looked after and has a great pool. The breakfast is very tasty and the food is very fresh (eggs are freshly hatched that morning by the chickens in the field next door!) - dont worry you wont hear them! and tomatoes are freshly picked. Food at dinner was excellent and nicer than other restaurants we visitied in the area (a group of 11+ ate there twice) and the wine chosen as pairings by Carolina our host was divine. Dinner was reasonably priced. Carolina our host was excellent and always made a huge effort to ensure we and the rest or the guests were very happy. Customer service in general was superb. We will be returning and highly recommend Son Granot. ps Location is about 10-15 minutes walk away from Es Castell centre.

Room Tip: Our room was slightly small but other rooms we saw were bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Es Castell but we did think that the accommodation was a bit over-priced for quite ordinary rooms.

The staff were all very friendly and the pool was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportsfanHerts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

For our first stay on Menorca, off pick season, when many hotels have not opened yet, we were quite lucky to have a recommandation for this beautiful guests house. It is conveniently located in the countryside, within walking distance of Es Castell port, and yet very close from Mahon. Rooms were a bit small, you could barely move around the bed, but the view from the balcony is marvellous.
The owner is a very nice lady, extremely helpful, never short on hints about what to do on the island and eager to make you like the island. And we did. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and I flew from London with all our guests to have our wedding reception here and it was the most amazing day. The food was absolutely incredible and we were so well looked after by Carolina and her husband/team of wonderful staff who gave us a very classy and romantic reception.
Carolina did an amazing job planning everything for me from hairdressers to bridal flowers and really looked after us during our reception.
Sadly we didn't get tostay the night there but some of our guests did and coulndnt stop raving about the gorgeous food, the relaxed vibe and the good service so we hope to go back one day and experience that side of it.
If you are looking for understated, simple luxury in a quiet corner of this beautiful island then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Penelopegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

historic mansion, we had a nice balcony room , great beakfast on the terrace and enjoyed the beautiful pool and garden. carolina and her family are very hospitable

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
45 Thank funholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

This really is a breathtaking hotel....I travelled alone with my 17yr old daughter and 7yr old son. Having arranged a transfer from the airport via emails with Carolina, the owner, we were met with a very warm welcome from the minibus driver and politely driven in a very smart vehicle to the Son Granot. Our eyes lit up as we approached the wonderfully imposing, colonial style, red and white hilltop mansion, set amidst freshly ploughed fields dotted with chickens, peacocks, saturnine tortoises, horses and softly bleating goats! Majestic prickly pairs flanked the driveway (it's steep, so go to the left - the ramp - if you're carrying heavy cases) as we were welcomed by Tony, also the owner, who gently flourished into a potted history of the place, his enthusiasm glowing like a friendly Aga.
We stayed in late October but were still able - a little bracingly to begin with - to swim in the pool on the first evening. Mercurial and entertaining Carolina cooked wonderfully delicious, locally sourced meals and even organised a birthday cake for my son during our week. Smiling and bubbly Reyes the waitress and room maid, served us enthusiastically, always keen to chat - albeit in my very broken Spanish! All the staff did everything to make our stay perfect.
The beds were really comfy - memory foam - and the easterly view from our room (room 7) meant a gorgeous sun rise across the bay. The pretty balcony boasted incredible views of La Mola, the bay towards Mahon, out to sea and across to the gardens, pool and farmland. It really was perfect!
There are lovely walks to Fort Marlborough, Fort Penjat and the pretty harbour village of Calas Fonts and St Esteve. I also hired a car (very good value through an excellent company recommended by our helpful host Carolina - Euros30 a day) which meant we were able to drive across the island in 45 mins to Ciutadella and drop down to some of the pretty, pine clad, tantalisingly turquoise beaches (although on the north - Pregonda - we saw a fair amount of bottles and depris, drifted in from cruise ships apparently; a shame, as the red volcanic terrain is dramatic and moon like to walk on). Macarella beach to the south was beautifully unspoilt with a 30 minute walk down through the pines from the car park.
Son Granot is a really special place to stay...it stands out amongst the landscape, visible for miles around. Mahon is only a ten min taxi ride (for about Euros7 in the evening) or there's the ten min walk to Cala Fonts (turn left out of the hotel drive) with it's pretty harbour side restaurants....a few were closing for the end of the season, but we still had lots of choice. There was also a very good glass bottom boat tour which we did at the beginning of the week, good to get your bearings and also very good to see some gorgeously luxurious homes around Port Mahon!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
50 Thank Sallyshomemadejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Castell
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
0.9 mi away
Sant Joan De Binissaida
Sant Joan De Binissaida
#5 of 6 in Es Castell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House
1.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jardi de ses Bruixes
1.6 mi away
Biniarroca Hotel
Biniarroca Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sant Lluis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Granot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Granot

Property: Son Granot
Address: Carretera de Sant Felip s/n, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
Hotel Class:4 star — Son Granot 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Son Granot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing