We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Directions!”
Review of Ocean Explorer - CLOSED

Ocean Explorer
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Directions!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We drove to Los Gigantes but had problems finding the 'Marina'. If you click through to Google maps on your generic smart phone from Tripadvisor it shows Ocean Explorer's location as just off the coast in the next town down. The real location on Google maps is Puerto de Los Gigantes on Calle Poblado Marinero. You can park on the harbour side (if you're a confident driver) which cost us €7 for about 4 hours. There are plenty of restaurants harbour side too.

There are quite a few companies selling their trips although I think only two or three selling dolphin and whale watching. Ocean Explorer don't actually have a stall which makes them more difficult to spot but they're on the right as you come into the harbour by a gate that leads to the pontoons.

We were very fortunate to see dolphins that were in a playful mood (see the pics). It was incredible. Our fellow passengers had been out previously and seen a hammerhead shark near the cliffs.

It was one of our holiday highlights.

The cost was a bargain €15 for 90 minutes including a run under the cliffs in the circa 12 man speedboat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    18
    0
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a must do for anyone”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

we went on Aug 4th we liked the idea of a money back guarantee as we felt they wouldn't offer that if we they were not confident of their success. We wanted a small boat so we would be closer to the water and hopefully a better chance of seeing something this boat only take a max of 11 people life jackets are provided for children and on request for adults. Nico the captain really knew his stuff we saw migrating pilot whales and a mother and baby came right next to the boat and then passed under and surfaced right alongside it was magical we spent ages just watching and taking photos of several whales some longer than the boat it self. Would not hesitate to go again with this boat maybe next time we will see some dolphins, but we did see the huge manta ray that has been seen in the area lately.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stephdix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakes UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice trip”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Had a lovely boat trip to see Dolphins and Whales they guarantee you would see at least one type of each if not money back we saw both plus Turtles so it was extra special. To be fair at 45 euro for the 4 of us ( 2 adults 2 kids) it was good value but we did find one that was 2 hours for same price ,but the friendly skipper and the lady who sells the tickets are lovely people also.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunbedlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect dolphin viewing boat trip”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Well worth the visit to los gigantes for this trip. Great value for money and just a small boat full of people. To see dolphins up close to the boat was a fantastic experience :-)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant trip”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

After travelling out after 1/2 hour we saw pilot whales and dolphins. The captain of the boat really knows the best places to go and gets really close for plenty of photo opportunites. Heading back along the coast we saw a few lone turtles and heading back to the harbour a fin whale and more dolphins.
At 15 euros each and space for only about 12 it's really good value.
Put plenty of sun tan cream on though because although it was a bit cloudy it can get really hot with no cover.

Helpful?
3 Thank daveyc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Explorer also viewed

Los Gigantes, Tenerife
Los Gigantes, Tenerife
 
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Los Gigantes, Tenerife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing