We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”
Review of Royal Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Sun Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived in the dark to the Royal Sun and were a bit wary as it was a very dark road, but we were straight away greeted by a very polite member of the reception team who sent us off to our room.

The room - well it was beautiful, exceptionally clean and very well equipped. The bathroom was huge and so was the bed which was very comfy. The balcony however was the main focal point and it was humungous, we had our own sunbeds, table and chairs and it was very private with a breath taking view of the Los Gingantes mountains. We could not have asked for more.

The pool area and the hotel in general was spotless and very well maintained, no complaints what so ever. Again the view was exceptional.

Los Gigantes itself has some hidden gems in terms of restaurants. Casa Pedro and The Fisherman's Inn both in Santiago we fantastic, it was some of the best food ive ever tasted and was caught fresh every day (the fish). Both are well worth a try and well worth every penny.

You can get on the local bus to the busier resorts i.e. Las Americas, it cost us 7 euro each for a return which lasts all day and the buses run from early till late.
Id advise the Fisher Uno boat trip to see the whales and the dolphins, we paid 20 euro and really enjoyed, we got fed and watered and got to jump in the sea from a rope swing which was all good fun.

We will be returning next year without a doubt, already saving the pennys.

Room Tip: Room 508 was ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank siobhan_alvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

There is very little I can say about the Royal Sun Resort that hasn't already been said by others.

We have just returned from a week at this resort and have to say it matched and exceeded all our expectations. We arrived at 11:30 pm and fortunately had a very fast and efficient check-in (this may have been due to the fact we were the only people arriving at that time!). Entering our one bedroom appartment on the 5th floor we were struck immediately by the cleanliness and comfort. I will take the accomodation room by room. The kitchen was adequate with all the usual facilities - fridge/freezer, full cooker, dishwasher, microwave plus toaster and coffee machine. The lounge area had two armchairs plus 2 seat sofa, ceiling fan and 40" flatscreen tv. This is where the only minor criticism comes in - the TV had only 2 or 3 English channels - my tip here is to take a couple of DVDs and borrow a DVD player from reception - only 20 Euros refundable on return. The bathroom, as has been mentioned numerous times has a huge bath which can be tricky to get in if not careful, when using the shower you have to be very careful how the shower head is positioned to avoid a flooded bathroom!

Moving on to the bedroom, there is a king size memory foam mattress along with a ceiling fan. There is ample wardrobe space but if you have taken a vast amount of clothes there is extra wardrobe space in the lounge area!!

The sliding doors lead out on to an absolutely stunning glass fronted balcony to fully showcase the sea view overlooking the town of Los Gigantes. The balcony is absolutely huge. Due to the fact the hotel is on the top of the hill this probably gives you the best views in the resort. The sun is on the balcony from morning till night and the blinds mean the one section of the balcony is entirely private as you cannot be overlooked by anyone else. If you choose to cook whilst there I recommend eating by the glass edge of the balcony savouring the views whilst savouring the food.

We only used the restaurant for breakfast at 9 Euros for full buffet breakfast and the most attentive staff you could imagine, this coupled with outdoor tables mean it is the perfect way to start the day.

The walk down and back to the town has been mentioned exhaustively, but Royal Sun have countered any problems by providing a free shuttle taxi to Los Gigantes and Playa Arena. If you don't want to be governed by their timetable for returning then a local taxi is only about 3 1/2 Euros. If walking into town and harbour there is a shortcut that cuts out a lot of the journey down, this is found just opposite the incomplete hotel on the corner of the road.

Whilst there take the opportunity to take an excursion around the island and also the boat trip out from the harbour dolphin watchng.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank saddlersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just got back from a weeks stay at this lovely resort and hotel. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 4th floor. The room was very nice and the beds were one of the most comfortable we have slept in whilst staying in hotels. The only negative is the shower/bath can be a bit awkward getting out. The balcony for the room is amazing! It is very spacious with sun loungers and a table and chairs and the views are to die for! The pool area is very clean with a nice pool, and there is never a problem getting a sun lounger no matter what time you go down. Another positive for this hotel is the food. We ate at the BBQ which was an excellent deal at €20 pp which included a bottle of wine and we also had a 3 course dinner which was one of the best meals we had during our stay! All of the staff are fantastic and were all very friendly and extremely helpful with any queries we had, especially Maria on reception who was brilliant. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

For myself and my boyfriends first holiday together we booked for here and we wer more than shocked when we arrived at the hotel and seen our room. One bedroom appartment with a massive balcony and the view is really just amazing. Ur own sun beds to lay out privately and the place is so quite. There was plenty to do in Los Giantes and we walked up and down the hill every day. (Great exercise). The cleaners are a real credit to this resort as it was always immaculate- they washed our room almost everyday and the hotel itself was always clean. The pool was abit of a let down because it was full of children having no manners and splashing around when there's a children's pool above the adults pool, wasnt very relaxing and you couldn't get doing lengths. The reception staff really do bend over backwards. A real credit, and one guy (VLAD) that we frequently spoke to took a genuine interest in our stay and was a star when it came to renting a car for the day-highly recommend this for exploring Tenerife only €45. We ate in estero grill and highland paddys which wer our stand out places for the week and just a short walk too. Lovely places lovely people. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and would without a doubt return :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank LBROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned from a two week stay at the Royal Sun in beautiful Los Gigantes. This is a fantastic hotel. We had a beautiful one bed apartment with a large balcony, our own table and sun loungers and a gorgeous view. It was beautifully clean and well equipped with fridge/freezer, dishwasher, kettle etc. The rooms are cleaned every day bar one a week and the cleaning staff do a brilliant job and are very friendly. The shower can be a bit difficult to get in and out of but as long as you put a towel down and take your time its no dramas. We were very happy with our room. We were breakfast only and can find no faults here either, Riccardo and his staff in the restaurant put on a good spread and we enjoyed our breakfast very much. Special mention must go to Pedro in the bar, a real character who is a real credit to the hotel and made our stay that bit more enjoyable. The girlfriend and myself enjoyed our time chatting with him and also the reception staff who were always friendly and bent over backwards to help with any queries. We enjoyed our stay there, the pool was great and the Spanish staff that we met, every one of them, were friendly, helpful and a credit to the hotel. I would also like to say thank you to the handymen who, when the fans in our room failed, fixed them within the hour. So why am I not giving the hotel an excellent rating ??, simply put the Russian contingent in the hotel are some of the most ignorant people I have ever met. A couple of nights before we left they set up a Karaoke session in the bar at a massive volume, we could not hear what we were saying to our fellow guests and Pedro let alone the noise that people on the first level must have been putting up with. There was a massive room next door they could have used but they seemed intent on spoiling everyone else's night as they sat ignoring everyone blaring out Russian songs. We also saw this side at the Monday night barbeque, having spent twenty euros a head we watched with some mirth what can only be described as a full on scrum when the food appeared. It didn't matter if you were waiting as apparently being Russian in this hotel means you can just barge everyone out of the way. After an hour of trying to get some chicken we gave up. So to sum up this is an amazing hotel, the Spanish staff are a credit to the place but the Russian owners need to realise that if they allow their countrymen to run amok people like myself are going to have doubts about returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Brian_Mackay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. It was immaculate & well looked after! Pool was gorgeous & the views are to die for! Rooms well equipped & the largest balcony I have every seen! Shower/bath not the best but it did the job! We flooded the bathroom too so just be careful. Staff are all very friendly & aim to please. Pedro the bar man was ace & we had a good rapport with Vladimir Entertainment by the pool each day for the children & some for adults too! I would definitely recommend & would love to visit again! The hotel manager was always around & was happy to help with any requirements.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ROSSI45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Lovely location and views...overall we were impressed, but were disappointed that there was such a huge Russian contingent...some entertainment for Russians only..very strange...
bath/shower design dangerous, and like other guests my partner suffered bruising when slipping getting in...and we also had flooding issues because of bad design
Breakfast very pleasant, with views to die for...and Spanish staff very pleasant...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChristopherAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
1.4 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
339 reviews
39 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
6,182 reviews
2.8 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Resort

Address: Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range: £79 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly against the backdrop of the majestic cliffs that give their name to the tranquil resort village of Los Gigantes ("The Giants"), the Royal Sun Resort is set on one of the cliffs' highest points, with unsurpassed views of the village, the charming marina, and the sea beyond. Quality is the hallmark of every aspect of the Royal Sun Resort, from the tasteful, designer-furnished apartments and the choice of on-site restaurants, to the level of the service offered by the friendly staff. Two swimming pools, one for children and one for adults, are set in the middle of the complex, with a sparkling waterfall flowing from one to the other and superb panoramic views from their surrounding sunbathing terraces. Next to the swimming pools is the pool bar "Oasis Abraxas", supplying the perfect refreshments to keep you cool whilst sunbathing. From elegant dining in "Aqua" restaurant, managed by Lucas Maes, one of the prestigious Canarian chefs, to thematic buffets in the sophisticated "Regency" restaurant with its splendid views, the range of restaurants within the complex serves every taste. For evening entertainment, try the impressive "Imperial" bar and lounge, complete with an entertainment area where regular shows take place. If you like a bit of activity, the modern gym and the aerobics room should keep you busy. One hundred and twenty apartments are spread over six floors, linked by corridors and lifts. There are studios, one-bedroom, two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms apartments, all spacious and comfortable with designer furnishings including air conditioning in lounge areas, satellite flat screen TV, direct dial telephone and a complete kitchen. The bathrooms have a walk in shower, or semi-circular bath and a window that looks out on to a mini cactus garden. Bedrooms have a double bed and doors opening onto a large private balcony or terrace, furnished with sun beds, a table, and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Apartments Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Royal Sun Resort Los Gigantes, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing