We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartments with stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sun Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartments with stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We were so happy to be upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment - the views over the Los Gigantes bay from the huge balcony are just brilliant.
The apartments are clean and well kept and quite large as they used to be timeshare. The bath is huge.

The restaurant lunch buffet wasn't great when we tried it, but snacks by the pool were fine.

The little kids club is brill my little one loved it.

I don't recommend for those with walking difficulties - there are lifts but it is very high up and a long way away from the beach up a very steep hill (as all Los Gigantes is set uphill)

Very pleasant stay - if you are looking for a relaxing week by the pool and come cocktails on your balcony watching the sunset then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hannah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    406
    74
    16
    17
See reviews for
407
587
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went self catering in a 2 bed apartment and it was absolutely massive with a huge living, eating and cooking area although the kitchen was dated, 2 very good sized bedrooms and masses of storage space. The kitchen contained everything you would want including fridge freezer, microwave and a dishwasher. A huge balcony stretched across the length of the apartment and being on the top floor gave us excellent sea views.
A good restaurant and bar but for us the biggest disappointment was the lack of regard for English guests. While I am not a football fan my husband and son were watching the World Cup on the tv in the bar several times, only to be moved into another area to accommodate Russian karaoke - which had to be in the bar - several times a week. There was not a lot put on in the way of entertainment and to see the flamenco, for example you had to partake in the paella evening in the restaurant. There was a large lounge with a stage but it was not utilised much.
The walk down to the town was not too bad but we took taxis back up for less than 3 euros 50 each time. Some good eating places but not big enough town to keep us busy for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, floor 6 in a 2 bed apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pauline453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The apartments and public areas in the hotel are well furnished and spotlessly clean. Apartment kitchen was well-equipped and the view from the large balcony was spectacular. This is a great hotel for couples or families with older children. The walk down to the harbour area and nearby restaurants takes about 10 minutes, but a bit longer on the way back as it's a steep climb ! Super quiet location for a peaceful holiday

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a balcony with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel with stunning views from your balcony out over the Atlantic Ocean
However the bad points the pool is too small and too cold and no lilos are allowed in but ball games are permitted and the only other bad point is breakfast it's to pricey you can get it for half of the nine euros they charge in town.
Everything else was fine massive rooms with massive balconies cleaned on a daily basis very helpful staff at reception who always went out of there way to assist especially the lovely blonde Russian who's name I didn't get
If you don't like hills though you'll have to get a cab back from town as they have one called cardiac hill and I can see why
Would I stay at the royal sun again no probably not but that's not cos of the hotel if they could move the hotel to the outskirts of los christianos it would be ideal for me as los gigantes itself is for the retiring age generation
Still a fantastic holiday and beautiful hotel though and well worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theaddicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We previously visited this hotel before it closed around 9-10 yrs ago and have wanted to return ever since. We have recently returned from a 10 night break and were in no way disappointed. The staff were ALL excellent from the reception team through to bar staff/housekeepers. Views absolutely stunning, total alround fab holiday. Reviews regarding the decor and breakfast choices etc we felt were unfounded. The rooms were spotless and had everything we needed. If I really had to complain about anything it would be the huge bath which was difficult to get in and out of (especially when you are only 5ft 1!!). I had two huge bruises on my knee, which I noticed a few others had also!! Evening entertainment was limited but suited us as we wanted to do our own thing. If you really want a holiday with lots of familys, Bingo and magicians in the evening then you would research before and choose a different hotel. Plenty of sun beds which were never all taken so no need to reserve with your towel!! The animation team during the day were funny and a pleasure to watch. I had a swedish massage round the pool by Andy which is a must, felt so relaxed afterwards. A lovely walk into town in the evenings as the sun was setting and a meal finished the day off. Don't try to walk back get a taxi!!! Suffice to say we have just booked to return in October for our birthdays!!! Counting down already. Please do not be put off by any negative comments as this is the best accomodation/service we have received in the 20 years of going abroad. Well worth every penny!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic views but choose Floor 4 or 5 for the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having just returned from two weeks at this fabulous hotel (booked after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor) I can honestly say that this was one of the best equipped self-catering apartments we have ever stayed in. I won't repeat what was in the room as this has already been well covered by others, suffice to say I agree entirely. Couldn't fault the hotel at all, clean, friendly and helpful staff. Cannot comment on the food at the hotel as we either ate in the apartment or in Los Gigantes itself. Plenty of places to chose from and all excellent value for money.

Views from the apartment to die for, watching a pod of whales feeding out at sea was breathtaking to say the least. We stayed in room 209 and found the views just as good as when looking from the pool area situated on floor 3. Beautiful sunset on a night too.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone although i would just mention it is a hell of a way from the village centre! We felt like billy goats by the end of the holiday :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank andrea815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have been to Los Gigantes on 3/4 occasions, last time about 9 or so years ago when the Royal Sun was owned by its previous owner. The hotel was closed for a few years following the owner going bankrupt and I was surprised to see it when searching for a recent holiday with Thomson. Seeing that it appeared to have been given dome modernisation, we opted to book here.

We hired a car which we picked up from the airport and made our journey (approx 60mins). Upon arrival, I could tell the front facing walls had been given a new lick of paint so was hopeful about the rest.
We were greeted at reception by 'Vlad' who was very welcoming and spoke pretty good English. They had noted my partners prior request to have a room on a higher floor and we were given room 506. We were advised of a 21€ fee for the in room safe for 7days, which were disappointed at having to pay, but paid regardless. We were given free access codes for the wifi which were valid for the 7day duration of our stay, as well as a discount voucher for our first evening meal in the restaurant.

The hotel has a 2nd entrance hall close to the hotel shop and hair salon, which is a bit further down from the main entrance. There are 2 lifts in the hotel (one in each lobby), these are both incredibly slow so it is sometimes quicker to take the stairs!!

Making our way to the room, it is obvious that the hotel has had new doors and electrics fitted and the communal areas are kept very clean.

Upon entering our room, it was a shame to see that the only modernisation to the room were the new sofa/armchairs, a piece of wall art and a flat screen TV. Having seen some of the photos on Thomson's website, I was expecting it to have been modernised a bit more than how it looked those 9 years ago. I assume that the rooms are being done up one by one and our room just had not been done yet. Needless to say, the room was spotlessly clean and spacious and the balcony offered the same amazing view it always has done and does from every room!

The beds were comfortable, although the ceiling fan in the bedroom did not give off any sort of breeze at all, which made for warm nights sleeping! We did ask at reception a few mornings later about a standalone fan for use, but maintenance (who were there at the time) did not have any left, leading us to believe other rooms were in the same predicament!

We booked Bed and Breakfast and breakfast was served between 07:30 & 11:00am, consisting of a continental buffet, which was mostly warm rather than hot whatever time you went to eat, but was still nice and enjoyable. You can also order something off their breakfast menu which will be cooked to order. We often ordered the pancakes which were ok.
Our sever at breakfast was often Ricardo, who remembered us each morning, greeted us with a smile on his face and friendly attitude.

The pool area was clean and the pool itself newly re-tiled. There aren't really enough sun loungers bearing in mind the number of rooms and the ones that are there are almost on top of each other, so we preferred to sunbathe on our balcony.

The bar area is very small and still very dated despite one of the walls being knocked down (where the stage once was) into the function rooms. It could use re-fitting and expanding. The function/entertainment area appears to be mostly used for a russian holiday firm during the day.

Evening entertainment was often pretty dire. We watched a bird show one evening which involved 2 people coming in with some eagles in boxes, get them out one at a time for 3mins each and talk about them and then moving on to the next. It lasted about 20mins and there were only about 8 guests watching, 2 of which were us!!! We therefore went out for the other evenings.

It was my 30th birthday whilst at the hotel. After being out for the morning, we returned at lunchtime and found a bottle of wine all made up with fruit and chocolate around it, wrapped in cellophane and ribbon, courtesy of the hotel director which was a lovely surprise and unexpected gift. We later returned from our evening out to find a chocolate mousse dessert, nicely presented on a dessert plate with 'Happy Birthday!!!' written in chocolate sauce next to it, again compliments of the hotel.

The hotel offers a free taxi service down to the marina, or it is a 20min walk down. However, you'd probably want the taxi back up! We walked a couple of times, but often had the car because we'd been/were going somewhere else also.

To summarise, we would recommed this hotel for it's location, staff and cleanliness and as a general overall recommendation. I would just prefer to see the rooms all modernised and some of the other areas, such as the bar and lifts updated to be able to give this a 5* rating.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors, away from the pool and restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aeonburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
2.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
39.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sensimar Los Gigantes
Sensimar Los Gigantes
#1 of 1 in Acantilado de los Gigantes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Resort

Property: Royal Sun Resort
Address: Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly against the backdrop of the majestic cliffs that give their name to the tranquil resort village of Los Gigantes ("The Giants"), the Royal Sun Resort is set on one of the cliffs' highest points, with unsurpassed views of the village, the charming marina, and the sea beyond. Quality is the hallmark of every aspect of the Royal Sun Resort, from the tasteful, designer-furnished apartments and the choice of on-site restaurants, to the level of the service offered by the friendly staff. Two swimming pools, one for children and one for adults, are set in the middle of the complex, with a sparkling waterfall flowing from one to the other and superb panoramic views from their surrounding sunbathing terraces. Next to the swimming pools is the pool bar "Oasis Abraxas", supplying the perfect refreshments to keep you cool whilst sunbathing. From elegant dining in "Aqua" restaurant, managed by Lucas Maes, one of the prestigious Canarian chefs, to thematic buffets in the sophisticated "Regency" restaurant with its splendid views, the range of restaurants within the complex serves every taste. For evening entertainment, try the impressive "Imperial" bar and lounge, complete with an entertainment area where regular shows take place. If you like a bit of activity, the modern gym and the aerobics room should keep you busy. One hundred and twenty apartments are spread over six floors, linked by corridors and lifts. There are studios, one-bedroom, two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms apartments, all spacious and comfortable with designer furnishings including air conditioning in lounge areas, satellite flat screen TV, direct dial telephone and a complete kitchen. The bathrooms have a walk in shower, or semi-circular bath and a window that looks out on to a mini cactus garden. Bedrooms have a double bed and doors opening onto a large private balcony or terrace, furnished with sun beds, a table, and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Apartments Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Royal Sun Resort Los Gigantes, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing