We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tired and noisy”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I give it 3 stars simply because you get what you pay for. Booked this as a last minute in the travel agents, and so didn't get chance to look at reviews. The apartment was like a mishmash of 80s tat. The woodwork was probably a fair reflection of the general state of the apartment - sticky, in need of repair, and looking tired. It was poorly equipped for a self catering place - we had 3 plates, and four of everything else (it was SC for 4 people) .We had 3 pans, and a kettle that fused the apartment and left a scorch mark on the work surface. Twin beds in the bedroom, and the most uncomfortable pull out double bed in the living area. There was no air con, or fan, so we sweltered all night. The towels were changed every other day, and the bins were emptied too. If you value your sleep (and sanity) this is NOT the place for you. The bin lorry arrived every other midnight to collect and woke everyone up. Then at 6am, the lorry arrived to water the plants (we think) and do general maintenance. It kept its engine running for 6 hours on Wednesday. This happened twice more. Also, the apartments next door, but within the same complex are privately owned, and we spent 3 nights being serenaded by some bloke on his guitar till 3am. Oh, and his kids screaming blue murder (probably because they desperately wanted to go to bed) and running up and down the shared outer corridors.
Take 20 euros for the safe too - you get 10 back, but it's still a lot in my opinion.
Now the positives. It's right on the lovely harbour, with a little beach a stones throw away. Also the pool is just across the road. It's again a very tired pool, but served us well, and the natural swimming pool was lovely too.
Would we go back? No.
Would we go back to Los Gigantes? Yes.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is such a thing as a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Runtygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    77
    48
    38
    25
See reviews for
75
101
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frimley
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

OK, this complex could do with a bit of TLC, but the location is so fantastic that a bit of shabbiness is not really important. Love the lido swimming pool opposite the complex - very short distance to walk (shorter than many integral apartment pools); the sea views from the pool are wonderful. We love Los Gigantes, and the location of these apartments gives you the full benefit of the marina, sea, beach and cliffs -and only a short walk up to the delightful town square.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank LucyFrimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obertraun, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed for one night only at the Apartamentos Poblado Marinero and thankfully I had only booked one night. I had requested a double room, as I was travelling with my two young grandchildren. When I arrived at the apartment, it had twin beds. I asked the receptionist if there was an apartment with a double bed, as the children and I would be sleeping in one bed. I was informed that this would cost an additional €30, so I declined. I pushed the two single beds together as far as they would go and put pillows down the centre, so that they baby didn't fall through the middle. I stayed in apartment 223. I am led to believe that the apartments are all owned individually, with the reception being part of the management. This apartment had a mishmash of furniture, with nothing matching. The bedding was not very good quality. The living/dining room had a sofa bed, dining table and a tv stand, with no tv on it. There was a kettle, with an British three pin plug on it and a travel adaptor. The apartment was not very clean. There was a cork on the floor and a plastic holder from a six pack of cans in the kitchen. One of the glass shades on the wall light was broken and in my opinion was very dangerous. There were tiny ants all over the apartment. There were no cloths or tea towels provided, which prevented me from cleaning after my stay. The taps were full of calk. Although this seems to be a problem in Tenerife, if they are cleaned properly, this should not happen. The whole apartment could do with totally renovating! It could be possible that other apartments on the complex are in much better condition.

Externally, the courtyard is in very poor condition, with a broken concrete surface. The lift was broken, so I had to get the baby in her buggy up the stairs, with a five year old and a suitcase. The receptionist did help me when I asked him to.

The location on the complex is ideal, right at the quiet harbour. I think that is the best point for this property!

Room Tip: Choose a different place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank FreddieMercury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Gigantes hotels

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We booked an apartment at the Poblado Marinero based mainly on the location, and this is without doubt the best reason to recommend this complex. The apartments are right by the marina, and the swimming pool is free to residents. We had 2 double rooms - one of which was lovely and bright (with windows on to the balcony area). The other one was like a dungeon with our friends unable to tell if it was day or night! Communal area was large, basic kitchen facilities. The bathrooms were very tired, with suites that have definitely seen better days (probably in the 1970s). The rooms were cleaned twice in the week we were there and towels replaced but no clean sheets and no mattress covers. You can access wifi in the main reception area, which is helpful.
Would I stay here again? Based on location, maybe. Based on facilities, probably not. Not complaining as you get what you pay for, but if you want something a bit more than basic, this complex is not for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We wanted a warm, relaxing, hassle free short break just before Christmas. We got that and more. Wonderful location, clean and well maintained apartments. And spacious! at this price level, I expected much less room. even got two toilets for the two bedroom apartment.
Free access to the very nice pool/lido; and for those idiotic moaners, the walk to the pool is shorter than in many so-called on-site pool complexes out there!
The beach is just as close, as soon as you work out the secret entrances and exits dotted around the apartment complex!
Very helpful and friendly staff, the guy at reception recommended a great paella for us.
Location...magnificent. Drove up Mount Teide in less than an hour, and what a great island for December sun, my twenty-something daughter was well pleased!!
We had a fantastic few days, and we will be going back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Onlly half the apartments face the sea, so if this important check ahead. Didn't make any differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed in an owners apartment and it was lovely and well equipped. However the general standard of the apartments are poor. Broken tiles , stairs that need fixing
Etc. could be nice but need a lot of work. Great location and if you have a sea view it is lovely. Nice area at the harbour in front of the apartments. No swimming pool but one across the road which unfortunately like the complex needs a bit of work. Lovely pool just up the hill called the oasis but could be costly if you went in every day. Las gigantes is very hill and not for the unfit. Some nice restaurants in the town and lovely tapas at the last place on the front. Cheaper than the costa adeje and las Americas but certainly not as much to do. If the apartments had a big money investment they would be great but currently not up to standard. If you are looking to stay here please get an owners one to get a decent standard.

Room Tip: Chose A sea view owners apartment. You need a high floor if your apartment is not at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrissieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a pleasant stay here 13 years ago and wanted to return as it was such a great location. The apartments are now a bit tired and dated but were spotlessly clean and the cleaners came in twice whilst we were there. If you want luxury then don't stay here because you will be disappointed. Equally, if you only want to pay £300 for a week then don't gripe about it. It's quiet. You get free entry to the lido. The view is stunning. The staff are helpful (let us keep our room until the evening at no extra charge) and we would still go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomant007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
0.2 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#7 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Poblado Marinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Poblado Marinero

Property: Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
Address: Calle Guios s/n | Poblado Marinero, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Poblado Marinero 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, welcoming and just a short walk to the resort centre, the Poblado Marinero Apartments are an ideal base from which to enjoy your surroundings. In fact, staying here is all about location. Not only are you just 100 metres from resort, but closer still you’ll find the nearest shops, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Poblado Marinero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero Tenerife
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero Hotel Tenerife
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero Los Gigantes, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing