We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments Colonial Parque
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

having spent a month here for Christmas and new year we decided to come back in Feb/March as we enjoyed it the first time so much. We got the same apartment which has fab views. and nice and clean with basic faculties but very functional.
The location is fine and easy access into the town with a little bit of an uphill walk but nothing that bad. Very clean apartment with great views FREE wifi downstairs in reception area, reception staff are lovely and very helpful. Nothing was ever a problem. Everything is reflected in price and this is really good value for money especially for the winter sun more or less guaranteed.
Already booked for our return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We actually booked a better apartment through Canary Sun Holidays, who were happy to take our money but no help at all when we were actually allocated a smaller, inferior apartment (number 51, mentioned in an earlier review). I would echo the advice of others to ensure you get an apartment on a higher floor, as this one was noisy owing to its proximity to the reception area - both from people coming and going during the night (the front door closed with a loud bang every time), and because people sat in reception to use the free wifi service to call friends & family (we could hear every word of their conversations). The balcony was too small for sun-loungers and in any case was almost completely overshadowed by the much larger balcony above : we had less than 2 hours (late afternoon) sun per day. We were also expecting the bedroom to open onto the balcony (as promised by Canary Sun Holidays), instead it had a window onto the communal corridor which had been obscured by what appeared to be black plastic bin-liners, held in place with teaspoons.

The local agent (Lylliam) was friendly and responded efficiently to other problems, however, for example she replaced a faulty kettle within 2 hours.

Room Tip: Avoid apartments on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 81Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Gigantes hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed for the month of January here and we're going back next January, it's very reasonable and as for the utility's they were ideal, I don't think I've ever slept so well or come home so happy and relaxed. The lady Lillian was very helpful and friendly nothing was to much trouble our transfers were excellent, I would most definitely recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I would recommend those apartments for people with a low needs. The apartments are quite clean, despite they're cleaned only once a week. The beds are really uncomfortable, and the bedding especially plaid are old enough and worn.
The kitchen is ok for those, who are not planning to cook much. Because there's too less dishes and crockery.
The bathroom is quite old and uncomfortable. The bath is with rust and that puts off from long bathing.
The hairdryer in our room didn't work, but when we knew how much we paid for those apartments it was not a big problem :)
The terrace was really nice and the view was awesome.
The place is ok for those, who are with a car, because it's quite far from beach and from the bigger city, so you need to go far to the shop or any dining place. The local beach in Los Gigantes was also not really nice, so we were going to puerto santiago beach every day which is too far to go by foot.
I couldn't say that the place of the apartments is very quit, but it's really not too laudy. Sometimes there comes a tourist buses, but it's not the problem.
I forgot to mention that there was some problem with electricity, because sometimes the lapms and the ventilators switched on by themselves.
Collectively i would recommend those apartments not expecting anything special. You get that, what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto de Santiago, Canarias, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Knowing how much you pay to stay in Colonial Parque ( or how much I did) I laugh at anyone who dares to complain. Paying less for the whole month of September than my monthly rent was in the UK, the place was clean, maybe a little run down ( especially solarium) but more than adequate for our needs. As we were there in low season, Lilian ( the mysterious lady who is never there according to a comment further down) was indeed only there on Mondays. She explained that there was not enough work in low season for her to be there everyday, and left us her number to call if need be. Her phone number, as well as at least one more emergency one were posted on the door of reception for all too see. She was indeed also extremely friendly and pleasant.
The apartment would have benefited from a larger cooker and a better fridge, but the latter of these problems came from the shere temperatures experienced in the days we were there. Yes, it was hot in the apartment, but you cannot have everything ( if you want the views of the sunset, then you get the heat of the sun too)
This block was not at all noisy ( as is suggested by another unhappy visitor) In fact, we were the only ones using the swimming pool on several occasions. Yes, the pool is small, but quite sufficient for the size of the apartment block.
Looking on the letter boxes downstairs, yes it did seem that at least half the owners were british, but didnt catch anyone pretending to "own the building" as is stated below. In fact, we found our neighbors friendly and spoke to them frequently
Used the apartment as a base whilst job hunting and house hunting, so did not infact stay the whole month, but moved into our permanent home 2 weeks later.
All in all, you get what you pay for, and with views to die for and a stunning resort all round, you cannot complain.
On a final note..totally unsuitable for disabled, wheel chair users, or parents with small children in buggies..as it is on the top of a cliff!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room that is high up..you will get better views and less noise from traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

the heading says it all - o
however the second time there was dissapointing - we were in a different apartmnent with a small balcony and not much space. It is a very tired complex but prices its apartments to a stage that if you browse other websites you will get a much more comfortable apartment but maybe without the spectatular views.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My mother has had an apartment in this complex for a number of years.She absolutely adores the place and for some reason I have only just got round to having a week there! So what did me and my girl think of it? ( we had a child free week for the 1st time! yippee!)

los gigantes itself takes about 45 mins to an hour from the airport but its a nice ride along some of the coast.

These apartments are mainly residential or privately owned.They are situated right at the back and at the start of the resort. Obviously been my mums apartment it had all the home comforts and it was really nice. The complex itself is very well kept and the views you get with been right up the top of the resort are spectacular. The complex is on a bit of a main road and I suppose there is a bit of traffic throughout the day but we didn't think it was that bad.The swimming pool was great.Peaceful and a real oasis.Again the view! Sunbeds are plentiful.

Ok the resort and surrounding areas. There is an Italian restaurant just outside the complex. We had a takeaway pizza one night and it was not good at all and put us off having a meal there to be honest.Although it seemed popular with the locals.Cross the road directly outside the apartments you come to a path wich zig zags down the bank and into los gigantes.Its ok to walk down but we always caught a taxi back which was only 4 euros. Los gigantes itself is wonderful. You do feel as if you are really experiencing Spain.The square being a focal point with some really nice resturants and tavernas.Sitting outside with a nice glass of rioja watching the world go by just says it all really.There are plenty of british pubs with entertainment and sports on if that's what you require.Prices are reasonable and we found we could have a very nice 3 course meal for 2 with a few drinks for about 40 euros. You could get lager in plenty of places for 2 euros! In paddys Irish bar they do awesome cocktails for 5 euros. Try the pina colada!. So, nigh time wise its perfect for familes and couples but I wouldn't recommend for younger people out to give it large.

One thing that Los gigantes does not have is a decent beach.Apparently there is a tiny one some where but we never found it. If you want the beach you have to go to the next resort , Playa de arena , this is a 5 min taxi ride (5 euros) or a good half hour walk.Playa de arena itself is very good with plenty of places to eat shop and drink!.Back to Los Gigantes, the main harbour at the bottom is very busy and full of activities from whale watching to jet skiing.Again along the harbour front there are numerous places to eat and drink.

3 days out of the 7 we spent the day at "oasis swimming" which is situated by the harbour and right next to the sea in an elevated position.It is open to the public and as the name suggests is an oasis.A lovely clear blue pool with slides for the kids,a bar (very cheap beer!) and a restaurant which does a superb paella for 6 euros.The poolside area is clean and surrounded by palm trees and soft grass. Its free to get in but you have to hire sunbeds and parasol which cost us 10 euros each time.Well worth it and we had 3 very relaxing days.

Try the flipper uno boat.20 euros each 3 hours whale and dolphin watching and food and drink! Ive done a detailed review of this aswell.

So all in all a nice relaxing holiday and would definetly go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank eddie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
0.1 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
#3 of 3 in Los Gigantes
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
#1 of 1 in Acantilado de los Gigantes
2,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Sombrero
El Sombrero
#2 of 3 in Los Gigantes
444 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Colonial Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Colonial Parque

Property: Apartments Colonial Parque
Address: Avenida Maritima 73, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Los Gigantes
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartments Colonial Parque 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartments Colonial Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Colonial Parque Hotel Los Gigantes
Apartments Colonial Parque Los Gigantes, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing