We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Restaurant and Excellent Service”
Review of Big Als

Big Als
Price range: US$7 - US$32
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant and Excellent Service”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We visited Cala en Porter between 10th and 23rd May and visited Big Als 3 times and it was closed the first week we were there (only whilst they prepared their new menus - the bar remained open though).

From the moment you walk in you are greeted by very friendly English staff who couldn't do enough for us. We have a 3 year old and a 8 month old and nothing was too much trouble for any of the team!

My oldest daughter loved the cowboy theme - especially the life size horse in the restaurant and cows which her dolls played on regularly as the restaurant this time of year was a little quiet early evening when we dined.

The food was great - we would definitely recommend the Mixed Grill and Classic Sirloin Steak. The meat was cooked perfectly. It's good value for money, especially the beer as it was €2.50 a pint when we visited.

Little things that impressed us were the baby changing facilities which included an actual unit with baby wipes, nappy sacks etc provided, compared to other restaurants in the area which sometimes didn't even have a changing mat at all - for a family with a baby this was a big plus. We never felt rushed which sometimes you get in other places.

Would definitely recommend for a fun night out in Cala en Porter!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    71
    33
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great theamed resteraunt”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

All the food was great, we had the T-BONE stake, Baby back ribs and the chiken breast fillet. Would come back.
Dont forget your cowboy hat!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great place with great staff”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Found this place on day 1 and used it every day. Excellent food, with friendly staff who were always very welcoming..Without a doubt the best value for money place in the resort..Looking forward to going back next year and catching up with owner Linda and the rest of the gang. Special mention for the home made pies,, absolutely top notch. If your in Cala n Porter, check big Als out, you wont be disappointed.We visited nid November 2013
Barry and Tina.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vodkatonicplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st.helens
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“awsome steaks”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have been three times back in 2010 and returned in October 2013. The food was every bit as good as we remembered. The steaks were huge!! Prices were reasonable. Service good and the Sangria excellent - would deffo go back again. Thank you to the staff for making my 50th birthday special xx

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“busy busy”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

couldnt get in to do the food at night busy as it was fiesta which was great, the live music excellent glad to have still been able to stand outside drinks even price but ambience brilliant. the menu looked brilliant if you eat a certain size steak you dont have to pay for it ... excellent

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank m1monroe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Als also viewed

 
Cala'n Porter, Minorca
 

Been to Big Als? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing