We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Basic, but had everything we needed for a great...”

Review of Villa Pilar

Front View of the Villas.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front View of the Villas.
swimming pool - bbq side of the pool Swinging bench terrace and outside shower area side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Front View of the Villas.
swimming pool - bbq side of the pool
Swinging bench terrace and outside shower area side
Living room of the first villa.
Living room of the second villa.
Main Living room doors open up to a covered terrace with table and chairs.
Front both main villa doors open up to a terrace with table and chairs. This area is shaded.
Sofas and Aircon of the second villa.
One of the two double bedrooms
One of the double bedrooms.
One of the Twin rooms, both twin rooms are similar.
One of the batrooms, both are similar.
Kitchen of the first villa.
Kitchen of the second villa.
When sun sets, sky view from pool area.
Bbq side of terrace.(theres more sunloungers!! )
Other side of the terrace with more sunloungers and another terrace with swinging bench under tree.
Lights on at night
Pool lights on, and all exterior lights on.
villa at night, lights on
Front of Villa. Both areas under the wooden beams are shaded. Here we were replacing the roof type.
Just fitted November 2015 new pvc red tiles roof over the wooden beams providing shaded areas.
Front of the villa from street. Door to private parking and walls raised with pvc  for xtra privacy.
The amazing beach, safe bay.
Bird´s eye view of the resort of Calan Porter
Beautiful Panoramic picture of the whole of Calan Porter Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Balearic Islands

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandy B
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic, but had everything we needed for a great week!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We returned last night from a weeks stay at Villar Pilar and Villa Cristina. We arrived a couple of hours early to be greeted by a slightly surprised José who was still preparing the villas for us lol. This was absolutely no problem tho, and he gave us a wonderful warm welcome!
José showed us round both villas (my partner & myself were staying in villa A, and my sister, her husband, their daughter & 8 year old grandson were staying in villa B), and showed us where everything was and how everything worked.
The villas were basic, but clean & comfortable (although the mattresses were very hard in both villas! But we decided that maybe this is standard in Spain?).

We were a little surprised, and to be honest a little cross at being told by José only the day before we flew that there were two cats that lived there and was it ok if we fed them, if not his mother would come to feed them!? By then it was too late to do anything but agree anyway. As my niece is allergic to cats my partner & I said we would take the villa that had the cat flap in the door as this was the one the cats came in. We were told they visited to eat and then we wouldn't see them for the rest of the day. Well Lucy the tabby ended up sleeping on the sofa most of the day & all of the night, and on the beds if we didn't keep the doors closed! We locked the cat flap the first night but were woken several times by her rattling it trying to get in, and crying - so we had to get up to let her in.
Cat hairs got everywhere - so if you're allergic to cats or just don't like them then i suggest you ask for alternate arrangements to be made for them, or this villa just won't be for you.

José i'd also have to point out the dreadful smell that came & went in the bathroom throughout the week. It was only in villa A strangely. I seem to remember being told that Spanish drainage isn't brilliant, and i think this may have been the cause? It needs looking into though as it was breathtakingly bad at times. We ended up keeping the window open all week to air the room.

Anyway moans & groans aside it was a lovely weeks holiday. The pool was brilliant! A great size, and lovely & clean. The pool man came twice to check levels & clean. The water was really cold but it was still May, and it added to the fun watching each other ease ourselves in inch by inch whilst trying not to make too much noise about it lol! Once in it was lovely! My nieces 8 year old son learned to swim whilst he was there & is proud to say he went in every single day whatever the weather! (As did my partner!). There was a good selection of inflatables to have fun with in the pool. Also the BBQ was great & we cooked some tasty meals!

Calan Porter is a beautiful place. The villas were set in like a Spanish equivalent to a housing estate, but the garden is very private & not overlooked. The shops were 5 mins walk away, as was the beach. The steps to the beach are a killer on the way back up if you're not very fit like me! Worth it though as it's a lovely beach.

It was a 15 min drive from the airport & although the taxi prices varied slightly, the average was around 19 euros. The bus into Mahon was really cheap at around 1.50 one way (can't remember the exact price).

All in all we had a fab week. Weather was around 21c so not too bad for May. They had torrential rain & storms in UK!!

Thanks José for being so helpful with everything, and being on hand whenever we needed any information! (He's only a text away folks!).
Oh and we had free wifi all week so were able to use our tablets & whatsapp my teenage kids back home without it costing us anything! :)

I'm sure my sister will also leave a review, but as for me i would highly recommend these two villas if you was a nice relaxing holiday & you love having fun in the pool!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, outside area, location.
Liked least: The cats & the smell in the bathroom!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2014
Hi, thanks for the extensive review, yeah we have always had two cats in the villa (only one of the two), but as i said, we have always emailed first and if there was a problem as i suggested we could have moved them to my mothers house in mahon, and do a proper clean before anyone arrives (in case anyone was allergic) or lock the cat flap, etc, there were some options, but as you said in your email you went on holidays before and adopted a stray one and that it was ok, i thought that there was not a problem. The cats are loosing some hair now because we are coming into the summer but once they do it which lasts a week or two, then they not loose it anymore. As you might have seen in the resort and because we are in the countryside, there are cats everywhere, and they roam around freely most of them. Anyway there were many ways around this, but thanks anyway for doing it.

Also yeah you said that you would arrive at 10 and arrived at 8, we cleand it the day before, but i thought i go there after work and re mop it and take the paint stuff in my car from the shed, thought i had 2 hours but i didnt, anyway i was pretty much done moping and villas were ready.

The smell from drain in villa A, has been sorted, i only had to go and pour some special liquid and that was it, if you had told me while here as i was a text away i would have poped round the villa and done it there and then the first day. I dont see the point of this being on a review, i fixed it in a minute. The spanish drain and sewage system is perfect. The drain just needed that liquid to be poured in, which i did just after you left. But thanks anyway.

As per the matressess, two were bought in new, some people like them hard, some people like them soft, but you cant change them every week, again is not a spanish thing to have hard matresses, but a quiestion of personal choice, but they are actuall pretty new. Again, even this way i you had said this is too hard for me, i would have even gone and get you a softer one.

As per basic, well yeah there are things that can be improved, and will be improved, but all and all as you say it has everything that you need for a week or two holidays. Also as i always say, if you need anything else, let me know, and i will go and buy it the same day. Both villa have flat screens, dvds, air con, wifi, english tv (improved system now) (as you will all know its very hard in spain to get uk channels as the bbc moved their satellites so we are all still experimenting ways over the interned which i have done now and have most of the channels in the villas.)

Is not advertised as a luxurious villa at a luxurious price, we try to keep it nice and simple to a reasonable price offering as much as the necessities and comodities that we can, two independent villas that fit 8 people at the price we offer it, when you see how much per person per day it is, its pretty good.

Thanks very much for the review and hope you come back to Menorca !!

Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m5evv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC 2 WEEKS HOLIDAY IN THE SUN”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Had a great 2 weeks holiday in villa pilar thanks to jose & his mum everthing there that we needed if not jose is a simple phone call away or a 5min walk to his bar in the town , the villa has a great pool with plenty of sunbeds great tv in the room never missed 1 of the soaps lol ... pleasant walk to the town with both supermarkets close at hand with all your needs and more .. great weather during our stay all in all a great holiday with our friends and family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and close to the amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lulu p
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 villas in one”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here Aug-Sep 2012 with extended family and found it great because there are two villas sharing one space. This means you have two kitchens and two bathrooms, two bedrooms in each villa and each place has its own outside space. We found this great for privacy as well as sharing. There is plenty of space by the pool to eat and sunbathe. We also made good use of the bbq area.

It's in a great location very close to the supermarket and restaurants and only 10min walk to the beach. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: were only provided with 1 tea-towels for drying per villa. needed more.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2012
Hi lulu!

Sorry about the tea towells, the cleaners maybe did not check on that, but as i said you only had to call me or come see me and ask for more and i would have brought lots !

Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate N
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, ideal for 2 families holidaying together”
Reviewed 10 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this villa and adjoining Villa Christine for ourselves and our friends, each of us with 2 children aged 8 and 6). The villas are perfect for 2 families holidaying together because you have your own privacy as well as the lovely communal pool and garden area. When we arrived we had to call Jose as we couldn't find the keys to the 2nd villa (in a key press but we didn't know the code). Jose gave us the code over the phone and then called by a few hours later to make sure everything was OK and to show us where everything was. We know Cala'n Porter well as we have holidayed there several times before but the location of these villas is absolutely perfect, as you are so close to the resort centre with its bars and restaurants as well as the beach (lots of steps!). Yet it is also so very quiet tucked away in a little street off the main drag. The villas had everything we needed with the added bonus of a washing machine so we didn't have to bring all our dirty washing home with us! The children spent most of the time in the lovely pool which was well maintained (man came twice in our week) and kept very clean. We were a bit surprised to find a cat in residence that we had to feed, but the children seemed to enjoy it. The interiors could maybe do with a bit of an update - the bath in the first villa was not pleasant (very rusty and old) - the children would not go in it, so we tended to use the outdoor shower instead. The main bedroom was also cramped as there is a huge wardrobe along one side (no side table for you cup of tea in the morning). Other than that, we were happy and would consider returning again to these villas if we holidayed with our friends again. Thanks Jose

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to the resort centre
Liked least: Bath in 1st villa very old and rusty and children refused to go in it!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2012
Hi Katie, hope your well, yeah i mean the two things that you talk about, one the spots of rust in the bathroom (is not that the whole bathrooms is rusted!) they came up like in may, we tried sanding them down and painting them with speciall paint, but did not really work...it happens when someone drops the shower head hard and hits the bath surface, makes a little pore and thats it, it all starts from there, so i brought in the plummer and the only solution was to completely change it, we did not have the time to do it end of may just before june neither the plummer so is something we will do in the winter before next summer.

Also, yes the wardrobe in the double bedroom, has to be changed for another smaller one, and a side talbe needs to be next to the bed exactly like the other villa, but this wardrobe has to go to my dad´s and the replacement that i wanted when i came back to menorca in may, was gonna take a month (yes its menorca in spain) and also had to leave it for this winter. However we continously improve the villa, this summer we had the firs villa kitchen done new, and a door for the drive also pvc wall extensions for more privacy.

Any other little things like forks, glasses etc... i always tell everyone if you need anything call me and i will bring it !

Thanks!

Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the villa
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$902
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing