We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb food - great service”
Review of Bar Pons

Bar Pons
Ranked #16 of 28 Restaurants in Cala'n Porter
Cuisines: Bar, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cala'n Porter, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“superb food - great service”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The food was beautifully cooked, the 2 children had half roast chickens each and they were excellent. We had paella and it was lovely, piping hot and well cooked. The service could not have been better and the staff had a genuine pride in the food they served up. We all had a really nice meal, and a nice evening

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Bar Pons”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

One of the first and oldest bar/restaurants in Cala'n Porter. An inexpensive menu, a pool and years of traditional service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flamingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Over Rated on Trip Advisor”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We went to this restaurant based on it's No2 in Cala'n Porter rating on Trip Advisor. It was without doubt the worst meal of our Holiday. My daughter ordered a Cheese Salad which was wet and poorly put together. My Son in Law ordered the Curry (Special on a Tuesday); it was dry and had to be sent back as the Rice was cold, he left 90% of it (but still got charged!). I ordered the Prawns to start, at a price tag of 16Euros - I thought that this dish might be special; it was not better that the prawns served at the Restaurant Samoa as part of the 16 Euro £ course deal! I followed with the Lamb Shoulder wich was very good, a pity that they served it with a medely of freezing veg, another meal ruined! To top it all off, the beer was not good either. All in all this was a poor effort, I really dont know how they achieved the Rating that they did. Walk past this one, there are plenty of eateries here that do a better job.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnHoworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good meal with entertainment, good value”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A long standing restaurant in the town which appears to be open both in and out of season and is used by the locals. The staff speak English. Food was good and plentiful and they do special offers of a three course meal with drinks for an all in price. The menu is large and varied, lamb shoulder was particularly good with a hungry son barely able to finish it due to its size. Restaurant is fairly large so there are plenty of tables to choose from but if you want to chat then sit away from the live music as it can be rather loud because it is next to the tables at the front. There are also tables outside for when the weather is a bit hotter. There is live music with singers and musicians on some evenings, people get up from the tables to dance which is all very pleasant. There is a bar on the other side of the building which has the normal big screen TV etc.
Service was a bit slow on the day we went as it was busy and there were 8 of us but we just chatted and enjoyed the music. We've been before mid season and everything has been fine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank edgarwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“lovely steak”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Restaurant was lovely,although quiet.Waiter was very nice.
Fillet steak was very good,definitely the best meal we had in cala en porter.Wine also good.We look forward to visiting again

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank blues52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Pons also viewed

Cala'n Porter, Minorca
 
Cala'n Porter, Minorca
 

Been to Bar Pons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing