We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”
Review of Hotel Sa Barrera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sa Barrera
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just spent a week at the Sa Barrera hotel in Menorca. The staff is very helpful and go above and beyond to help you. The rooms are clean. Nice location. It is a small hotel but very friendly people. I would recommend to my friends and family, and I would love to come back. Special thanks to Roberto and Timothy, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Probably the best holiday we have ever had. The hotel Sa Barrera is just stunning, the staff are so helpful and happy.The rooms although on the small side are kept immaculately clean. The pool area is relaxing with comfortable sun beds and shades. I cannot praise the hotel enough. A big thank you to Timothy, Helen, Roberto and the lovely lady that does the cooking. The resort itself is small but very friendly with some really good eateries dotted around. The beach although down several steps is beautiful and very clean. Some fabulous walks to be had if you fancy moving away from the poolside. All in all just perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank heather f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent 4 days here hotel is very clean the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you they even remember what you have for breakfast ie bacon and eggs as you have to order this when you go in for breakfast a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The excellent rating takes into account that the hotel is only a Spanish 3 * , so you have not to expect too much in the way of ultra modern luxuries, large contemporary rooms etc The hotel is apparently the oldest/first one in the area but has been refurbished at some point.
It is privately owned by Italians, and run with the help of foreign exchange/language students. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. As there are only about 25 rooms , the hotel/pool area is generally quiet and uncrowded. Everything is very clean , including the pool area, which although not very large is normally not that busy. There are enough sun loungers and they are of high/comfortable quality, with enough shaded areas if needed. It is a very relaxing pool area ( no kids) with a view to the sea and a nice cooling Menorcan breeze seemingly always present. Breakfast was simple ( fresh fruit, cheese, ham , bread, cakes, eggs etc ) but of good quality. Evening food was also good , although not cheap if you had 3 courses, the pizza's are better value. You can eat breakfast and dinner by the pool, which is rather pleasant.
Despite the excellent rating there were a few small issues:
The TV only had a couple of English channels ( no BBC, ITV, Sky etc)
The aircon was either on or off, the temperature control seemed ineffective.
Some of the ground floor room balconies are right by the poolside breakfast/dinner tables , so this can be a bit intrusive and at these times it is necessary to keep the curtains closed for privacy.
Finally visitors should be aware that although this hotel has a mix of nationalities as customers, in the local small town the tourists are predominantly British. So there are British/Irish style pubs and some of the eating places are offering breakfast fry ups, cheap burger and chips etc. Even in the more Spanish style places, everybody speaks English and some have British owners. Also it is a town just built up on tourism, so nothing really to explore.
So although the town is safe , convenient ( 15 mins taxi from airport) , in a nice location and not very expensive , it lacks some character/Spanishness.

Room Tip: Better to avoid ground floor , especially Rooms 101 and 102.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albermarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here for two weeks recently and everything about the hotel was excellent e.g. the location, service, cleanliness were all outstanding. The staff, without exception, were attentive, friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and in fact when I had a problem with my return transfer on my last day, one of the ladies going off duty after a night shift very kindly offered to take me to the airport.

The breakfast was extremely good and plentiful and fresh with lots of cold meat, cheese, fruit, bread pactries etc, and hot food was cooked to order. The whole hotel (my room, the pool area, public areas etc) was spotless, maintained daily by the very hard working staff.

I had dinner/lunch in the hotel a few times and the food was again excellent, with generous portions. Slightly more expensive than other nearby eateries but not outrageously so.

The situation of the hotel is lovely, high above a very pretty bay with sandy beach...beware the 185 steps down to it although you can walk back up the road if the steps defeat you! The sun beds and parasols on the beach are hired out by someone other than the hotel at a cost of 17 euros, so not many were occupied.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sa Barrera to others and I'm looking forward to returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms 301-303 and 201-203 (I think) are the only ones without a view of the pool/sea but I stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a small hotel located in the heart of Cala n Porter. Each bedroom has a small balcony that overlooks the swimming pool (unfortunately the water was very cold at the time we stayed although not so cold that I was able to enjoy my daily swim). Our room also had a beautiful view of the countryside and each morning we enjoyed the sound of birdsong.

On arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our room. Indeed, our luggage was taken there for us. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast was buffet, typically continental, but we were able to ask for a cooked breakfast of scrambled or poached eggs with bacon.

The staff were extremely attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was kept exceptionally clean and tidy by the cleaning staff. All in all we were treated really well and we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The breakfast and location were good, but was let down by the small rooms with questionable decoration.

Didn't have dinner there but maybe the food is the highlight of this hotel, I noticed the fries they serve with sandwiches were not frozen but home made. They made us scrambled eggs a la minute for breakfast, the best I had on the island. Service is very good.

The price is higher than other hotels I have stayed that were newer with better facilities and well located. An enjoyable atay though, the beach in cala porter is excellent. Beware that you have to climb dozens of steps from the beach to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedroAugusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Azul
Hotel Playa Azul
#1 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
1,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBB Blue Hotel - Paradis Blau
IBB Blue Hotel - Paradis Blau
#3 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
192 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
15.8 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,352 reviews
4.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sa Barrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sa Barrera

Address: Calle Barrera 12, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Menorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range: £32 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sa Barrera 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only hotel in Menorca. Enjoy a free kids holiday. Three star hotel in Menorca with 26 rooms at only 200 meters from a beautiful sandy beach. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sa Barrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Barrera Hotel Cala`n Porter
Sa Barrera Cala n Porter
Hotel Sa Barrera Cala'n Porter, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing