We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centre of village”
Review of Sa Paissa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sa Paissa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Centre of village”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Small hotel at centre of Cala n Porter. Very good restaurant, wished we had gone half board. We went bed and breakfast. All breakfasts were cooked and served to table, this was better than self-serve. Same prices at night as local restaurants so mainly ate out.

Room cleaned every day, very nice, friendly cleaner. Small hotel with a nice pool.

Kareoke most nights - we got used to it. Audience numbers varied as we went at beginning of season, early in June.

A small village - we took local (cheap) buses to explore rest of island. And had a great whole island tour organised by Raphael who is based in nearby Spar.

Main beach a walk from hotel. Not a wide beach but more a cove, good for families.

Liked open-air bar and girl who worked there very efficiently.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DShaw860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    31
    38
    10
    17
See reviews for
18
72
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

If you are on a budget, this place is excellent. Rooms are small but very clean, comfy and efficient. I was there during the off season, so had lots of privacy. However, if it was prime season, I think I would have found it busy and noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

If you are sir Andrew and expecting 5 stars hotel service for a little money it will not happen. The hostel however offers great value for money with their tasty food and passionate warm staff.
Just to answer happywonder, Andrew go for 5 stars price.

Room Tip: Pool side let you watch performance from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The rooms were small but as Inly a hostel so there were no cooking facilities. Everyone was so friendly and just lovely. The beds were made every day and the towels were changed on a daily basis too by a lovely cleaner who couldn't do enough for us. The restaurant cooked the best food we had although all the restaurants bar the castle were lovely too. Big Al's had the best steak I've had for a long time. The buffet breakfast was approx 20 metres up the road and provided a wonderful, all you can eat buffet, every thing from cereals to cooked breakfast with fruit and cakes in abundance. This is possibly the best budget holiday I have ever had. The only downside was, that it was very quiet of a night time but it is a small family resort. Even the tribute bass were great. I can't praise Sa paisse enough really. Pity about the weather but hey, that wasn't there fault lol

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We travel extensively and can honestly say this has to be the worst place we have ever stayed in. The rooms and balconies are minute. We booked HB but had to eat at the sister accommodation 200mtrs up the road.
The food quality was very poor and always stone cold. Hygiene standards non existant.
No sleep before midnight due to the mediocre tribute bands music every night
Beach only accessible via 191 steps or cardiac arrest hill
Cleaning/ towel change very good- but still cant understand why bed linen changed on day 9 of a 10 night stay??!
Staff very friendly until owner/manager appeared when they visibly quaked in their boots.Wondered why until we tried to resolve issues with him and realised how unapproachable he is.

Room Tip: If you must stay here!!? rooms at the back are slightly bigger and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happywanderer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cala'n Porter hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

stayed 7th - 14th september 2011
hotel ok stayed in number 5 at the back of the hotel a larger balcony than the front ones which
looked very small with room for (2 chairs only) our room was cleaned every day and the bed made and towels changed (1 large and 1 very small) I think they had ran out of bath sheets.
breakfast was ok nothing to shout about just ok
shows on every night not our cup of tea but people seemed to be enjoying them selfs
we used the hotel as a base and it was good for that
also we had to be out of our room by midday but they let us keep the room until our flight 21.00. tony and gail 45ish

Room Tip: number 5 larger balcony and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Having previously had villas in the area we were a bit apprehensive as to what quality to expect. The room we had was larger than others have described - maybe the back of the building has larger rooms and clean. The balcony was a good size as was the bathroom. The shower was good and the water pressure was always good. There was daily maid service from 2 very friendly ladies. The beds were on the hard side but surprisingly comfortable. The different breakfast each morning was actually very nice, very substantial and tasty. The weather was very hot so a ceiling fan or air conditioning would have been good but a plug in fan was provided and worked well when the weather dropped to low 30s. We popped into the local Spar to cool down as their air conditioning was great! Sa Paissa staff staff were all friendly and spoke English to various degrees.

Room Tip: There are no tea making facilities or fridge but drinks are available locally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacky and Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
0.2 mi away
IBB Blue Hotel - Paradis Blau
IBB Blue Hotel - Paradis Blau
#3 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Azul
Hotel Playa Azul
#1 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sa Barrera
Sa Barrera
#2 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hostal Jeni
Hostal Jeni
#1 of 1 in Mercadal
167 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
9.0 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 2 in S'Algar
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Paissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Paissa

Property: Sa Paissa
Address: Avda Central 54, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sa Paissa 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sa Paissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Paissa Hotel Cala`n Porter
Sa Paissa Cala'n Porter, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing