We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Playa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Playa Azul
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 star”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spent a week at the Playa Azul. Found the staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent choice of food and drink. Although basic the cleanliness of the hotel could not be faulted. The view from our balcony was fantastic over the beach and out to sea. The pool was lovely with amazing views especially the sunsets. I would definitely recommend this Hotel and would stay again. Very relaxing holiday. Only 20 mins from the airport but no noise from planes. The only negative comment I would make is too many towels sitting on empty beds & they were very close together.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    407
    104
    19
    10
See reviews for
197
661
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Lovely, clean friendly hotel with excellent food, helpful staff and good facilities, but take travel kettle with you if you like to have cup of tea in your room and are half board, plus travel mug. Took our two year old and she loved it, was able to share room with her and enjoyed the beach nearby with lots of steps to climb up and down to beach. Great to tire us all out for afternoon nap. Check weather conditions if travelling in late September, we went end of Sept and lifeguards would not let us swim in sea because of red flag assessment, bit frustrating as waves and wind like an average day at Porthcawl and people still allowed to swim there! Hey ho - health and safety. Otherwise great experience and awesome cheap bus service to Mahon and lovely spanish food in local cafes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Booked for a late late summer break and very glad we chose this Hotel. Everywhere was very clean and tidy. Rooms were big (we stayed in a 'bungalow') well appointed. LCD in the room had several mainstream UK TV channels. Room cleaned every day. The food was superb, especially if you like fish. Every meal had three hot fish dishes and two meat. Buffet can be repetitive but as were only there for a week we found each day to be different and tasty.
At this time the Hotel is in the Saga brochure so the clientele is mature and obviously well behaved: next year maybe different as Saga have moved in. I would fully expect the Hotel to become noisier and thus less stress free.
All the staff are to be commended on their helpfulness and fine attitude.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarryGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just back from a week at the Playa Azul in Minorca.
Very basic but very clean. Food good and varied but the dining room
was more like a canteen than a restaurant! Excellent location. Staff
friendly. Would definitely go back. Only 20 mins from airport.

Room Tip: Sea view room was over the bar and could be noisey up to 11 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Arrived at hotel early in morning and our rooms were ready, we had room 29 very big and with a large bathroom. The food was very good and well presented with quite a lot of fish dishes. Staff were great and very friendly we had quite a laugh with plenty of banter, the pool was clean with plenty of sunbeds to go round even though at this time of year not to warm, entertainment bit sparce but what they had was good, brilliant girl singer, plenty of bars in area if you get fed up with the hotel and want a change. One big drawback for less mobile, if you want to go to the beach its 181 steps down to it, ok if you want a bit of daily exercise, would definitely go back for another short break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Previous visitors have commented on "Rosa " the wonderful manageress/ receptionist.... She certainly lived up to her reputation...so friendly and efficient, also the cleanliness of the hotel was excellent. The food although varied was not of the highest quality and the choices dwindled if you arrived a little later into the evening . The pool area was very nice with plenty of sun beds. Local shops and bars just a short walk away and although winding down in Sept...probably quite lively during high season ? Would not return as not our favourite part of the island.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a garden view, which gave us afternoon shade !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for ten days had a great holiday. Food very good lots of choices. Staff fantastic and friendly very nice hotel spotless. entertainment could be more but what they had was very good. Will definitely go back. D L.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
10.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
871 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
1,116 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,380 reviews
15.9 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,831 reviews
17.3 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Azul

Property: Hotel Playa Azul
Address: Paseo Maritimo, 27, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During the winter of 2009, the Hotel Playa Azul has undergone a full refurbishment including a brand new, fabulous, outdoor swimming pool, overlooking stunning views of the bay and stylish, contemporary guest rooms. Popular with both families and couples this is a great choice for a relaxing holiday. In a privileged position on a hilltop, overlooking the rocky headland and sea is the Hotel Playa Azul. Just 200 metres away from the sandy beach, which is down a set of steep steps, the panoramic views are amazing. Located near to the commercial centre, the local shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife of Cala’n Porter are all within walking distance of the hotel, and downtown Mahon is just a short bus ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibb Playa Azul Hotel
Hotel Playa Azul Cala'n Porter, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing