We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect !!”
Review of Hotel Playa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Playa Azul
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Certificate of Excellence
redditch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect !!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

just come back from 10days at the Playa Azul,perfect choice for us ,very friendly staff ,excellent food, very clean and tidy hotel nothing to much trouble for the staff.The beach was just across the road, and yes the steps down to the beach are very steep,but worth the effort !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    418
    109
    19
    11
See reviews for
208
695
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Nothing bad about this hotel, location is quite high up , from the beach, but the views are amazing over looking the sea from the hotel , defiantly worth a stay ,
Could do with tea and coffee facility's in room,
If it is a relaxing holiday you need, this is the place to be , pool is amazing, food very good , lots of choice ,
Staff very helpful , nothing to much trouble

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nurse5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Recently returned from a couple's week away to Hotel Playa Azul - arriving at the end of June. After reading through the variety of reviews on Trip Advisor, it was clear that this was the perfect choice for us. The view is fantastic and the small town of Cala'n Porter is ideal if you're looking for a relaxing getaway, but still want to be able to easily connect to the local area. The buses to and from the capital Mahon are reliable and under 2 Euros each way - if like us, buses are fairly expensive back home you will appreciate the price and the service provided! During our week we did a variety of activities from a boat trip around the gorgeous Port of Mahon to Kayaking in the north of the island in Fornells - excursions can easily be arranged with your Holiday Rep (if booked with Thomson, Caroline is a great help) or the hotel can assist with certain excursion bookings or offer advice. We also visited Cova de Xoroi, which is a phenomenal place to visit, especially during it's sunset session - a bar/club that is built within the caves in Cala'n Porter and is only a 15 minute walk from Playa Azul. The entry fee may seem expensive, but the views are breath-taking, it's very spacious and relaxed and you receive a free drink!

Hotel Playa Azul has lived up to it's reviews on Trip Advisor. The location is perfect and the area is quiet and we had no issues in the local area. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with all of our needs and any questions we had during our stay. The room was fairly basic, but clean and air-conditioned with a wonderful sea-view that was a joy to see every morning. Reading through the reviews, it is clear that many had the same thoughts with the beds as we did. The beds aren't fantastic and the pillows not something everyone is used to, but once you're settled in and after a busy day or a relaxing day by the pool, we slept like babies! The cleaning staff were very good, despite what other reviews may say and I believe that the option to change sheets mid-week was a nice added touch! The hotel is ISO 14001 accredited (Environmental Management) and the island is big on being environmentally-friendly, so it was nice to see the hotel being proactive in this way! The food was not so great, but edible. We went for half-board in order to be able to go and eat out without feeling like we had wasted money (good choice for us, it depends on what you plan to do on your holiday). Our flight home wasn't until evening and the hotel offer a late-check out service for 25 Euros to extend until 6pm - I honestly think this is a reasonable price to pay in order to stay in your room for an extra 6 hours! It was a great help to us, although not everyone will be able to take advantage due to busy periods and availability, but the hotel does offer a storage room for luggage and shower facilities, so everyone can make the most of their stay!

Overall, a great trip, a satisfactory hotel and a beautiful island. This hotel is ideal for families, couples, adventurers and those that just want a relaxing holiday. It's simplistic, but it has everything you could need.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view! If you have a family and wish to be away from the bar, then maybe look at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trose19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our third stay at the Playa Azul and again we were not disappointing,having read a review from astro Stef who is so far away from the mark,The rooms were cleaned every day if you wanted and there was no dust or sand on the floors at any time as stated.We had a bungalow again nice large room with a good bathroom and shower the views were out of this world .Plenty of sunbeds round the pool and also in the bungalow area.poolside was a lovely suntrap with shade underneath a canopy by the dining area.The food was superb plenty of it and did not see any recycling of food as another review stated,Staff worked very hard to make your stay as good as possible,no rowdy drinkers in the bar if you are not satisfied with local drinks there are plenty of brand names if thats what you want.Pool was kept very clean as was the gardens and all round the hotel,I for one will certainly be going back for a 4th time playa azul is a little gem in the lovely island of menorca thank you xxxxx

Room Tip: have tried both the rooms and bungalow and its bungalow for me every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jawa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Visited the Playa Azul for a week's r and r with my wife. First impressions are of a good hotel with friendly staff. We arrived at the hotel just after 10:30 and were greeted by a friendly lady on reception who allocated our room straight away.
The rooms are clean and tidy,with a neat living area and bathroom,leading out(in our case) onto a huge balcony with a table and 2 seats overlooking the beautiful beach area,
We were on 1/2 board rate which included a good breakfast( full English if you wanted),cereals,toast,continental breakfast with some great pastries,yoghurt,meat's and cheese's,fresh fruit,tea and coffee of all sorts.
The Evening meal was similar with usually salad's,meat and fish options of which the quality was pretty good......Now for the little extra,the very friendly waitress showed us were everything in the dining room was located,then proceeded to tell us that the drinks with our meal ( local wine,red,rose and white, local beer and soft drinks,water etc were free of charge and to help ourselves) this seemed to be afforded to all guest's(Nice touch).
Throughout our stay nothing seemed to be too much trouble,cleaners were in every day to change towels(if you wanted) and the bed linen on Tuesday(also if you wanted).
All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
As for the steps to the beach(all 173 of them),yes it's a hike but the trip down is worth it,the cleanest beach I have seen,fully staffed with life guards and a several cafe type places to eat/drink.Just beware of the 'jellyfish',the day we visited there were dozen's of them but a flag advises you of the fact they are there,but don't let that put you off...have a great stay in a wonderful friendly hotel.

Room Tip: rooms 114,108 and 109 are the rooms to choose if you want a large balcony and a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed as a couple for a week. Returned 4th July.
Hotel, staff, food etc were brilliant. Room very clean as were all areas of the hotel. Plenty of sunbeds are available around the pool. If you are a beach person there are about 180 steps or so down to the beach so not easy access for the elderly or pushchairs. We will definately be returning at some point as perfect place for a quiet relaxing holiday. Met some great people, so Hi to all!
Our First choice rep Caroline was excellent, extremelly helpful, as were the staff when we arrived minus 1 case!. Welcome meeting worth doing as good local knowledge and very informative
We did get the case back 1 day before coming home...on a positive note only 1 case of dirty washing as i packed 50 50 of his and hers in each case!.Thanks to all for making our holiday so enjoyable. K & D

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KazzaHuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from two weeks, all inclusive at the Playa Azul. The staff at the hotel were the best we have ever encountered. From the cleaners to the management staff, they were all very friendly and helpful. The location is great but you need to be fairly fit to enjoy it, especially the 180 steps to the beach. The rooms are basic but kept very clean like the rest of the hotel. There was plenty of choice in the restaurant and the quality of the food was generally good but we did have the occasional stodgy rice and rock hard chips. It does look like a school canteen and lacks ambience. In the two weeks we only had three entertainment evenings. One act in particular, a female soul singer, was fantastic. The best non-professional we have ever seen and made up for numerous cheesy acts. The only real negative was having no free wifi and sadly even sixty plus year olds need constant access to the internet.
Overall the hotel is good value for money but could be improved by improving the restaurant layout and provide free wifi.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
10.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,024 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
4.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sa Barrera
Sa Barrera
#2 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
346 reviews
9.1 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 2 in S'Algar
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Azul

Property: Hotel Playa Azul
Address: Paseo Maritimo, 27, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During the winter of 2009, the Hotel Playa Azul has undergone a full refurbishment including a brand new, fabulous, outdoor swimming pool, overlooking stunning views of the bay and stylish, contemporary guest rooms. Popular with both families and couples this is a great choice for a relaxing holiday. In a privileged position on a hilltop, overlooking the rocky headland and sea is the Hotel Playa Azul. Just 200 metres away from the sandy beach, which is down a set of steep steps, the panoramic views are amazing. Located near to the commercial centre, the local shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife of Cala’n Porter are all within walking distance of the hotel, and downtown Mahon is just a short bus ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Playa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibb Playa Azul Hotel
Hotel Playa Azul Cala'n Porter, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing