We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect!”
Review of Hotel Playa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Playa Azul
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My brother and I stayed for a week, and have nothing but praise for this hotel. We were greeted by the wonderful staff at reception and, whilst we didn't request a sea view room, we stayed in room 307 which a pretty decent view of the bay. The room was clean, tidy, with an excellent bathroom, comfortable beds and good air con. The restaurant was excellent with great choice, beautifully prepared food for both breakfast and evening meal (we went half board) and it ran like clockwork. We never used the pool bit I could see it was meticulously prepared everyday. We really couldn't think of anything to fault; a wonderful hotel, with lovely staff; perfect for a relaxing break! Sunshine!!!

Room Tip: Worth going for a sea view room as the bay is stunning!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Playa Azul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a wonderful holiday. The hotel was excellent and all the staff were helpful and very friendly. The rooms were comfortable and were always cleaned to a high standard. The food was very good - always a good choice with a very good salad bar. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and thought it was excellent value for money. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and will be coming back

Room Tip: We were allocated a sea view room - great views over the sea
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Only used the hotel for the day, had to be out of our villa so booked a day stay here. Staff were very helpful even though we were only day visitors. Room lovely and clean, pool fantastic for small children and nice cool bar area with WiFi, would come back and stay longer!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 31Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Second (& definitely not our last) visit to the Playa Azul. Incredible location, beautiful view across the bay. Excellent staff, unobtrusive, but helpful, efficient & hardworking. Good rooms, although not used much - too busy lounging round the pool! Something for everyone in the restaurant, good range of choice, well presented & delicious. Bar service excellent. Just the perfect place to do as little as possible, without any unnecessary intrusion. Bliss!

Room Tip: worth paying for a sea view, it is an added bonus to watch the boats & see the evening sunset wh...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hols4Halls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just back from a fantasic week at the Playa Azul. We were really pleasantly surpised by the quality and cleanliness of the hotel and room. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the clientele are a mixture of (mostly) Brits but also Italian, french, spanish belgian etc. The beds were really comfortable (I like them firm!) and the standard room ample for two people.

As others have said, the buffet-style food is really good and plentiful. I can't eat gluten and it was great to find that at dinner there were always a couple of options hot and cold that I could eat for main course, and typically a couple of deserts. The chef was really helpful and happy to confirm what I could and couldn't have. Also really nice GF bread available when I asked. We were half board which worked well for us. The hotel has no probs with swapping between lunch/dinner with a days notice. We generally had dinner but on one occasion had lunch and found that at least some of this was based on leftovers from day before. Not a problem in itself, what had been done with it was tasty, but I could see this getting a bit monotonous if you were full board.

The pool area is nice and clean, but quite small. Usual issues with people leaving towels on sunloungers for hours on end. Not a problem though as the beach is close and pretty great - clean sand, clean water and uncroweded (in early July at least). We gathered that sunloungers under a shade are nearly €20 per day so better option is to buy a sunshade in the shops in town for €10!

Cala'n Porter itself was pretty quiet when we were there, and we liked it for it. There is not a huge selection of bars / restaurants etc but its very pleasant for a peaceful beach holiday.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room, which was fine as quiet but limited sun on balcony. The sea view rooms w...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lrd_Lucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

just come back from 10days at the Playa Azul,perfect choice for us ,very friendly staff ,excellent food, very clean and tidy hotel nothing to much trouble for the staff.The beach was just across the road, and yes the steps down to the beach are very steep,but worth the effort !!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Nothing bad about this hotel, location is quite high up , from the beach, but the views are amazing over looking the sea from the hotel , defiantly worth a stay ,
Could do with tea and coffee facility's in room,
If it is a relaxing holiday you need, this is the place to be , pool is amazing, food very good , lots of choice ,
Staff very helpful , nothing to much trouble

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nurse5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
15.9 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,284 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
5.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sa Barrera
Hotel Sa Barrera
#2 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBB Blue Hotel - Paradis Blau
IBB Blue Hotel - Paradis Blau
#3 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Azul

Address: Paseo Maritimo, 27, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range: £54 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During the winter of 2009, the Hotel Playa Azul has undergone a full refurbishment including a brand new, fabulous, outdoor swimming pool, overlooking stunning views of the bay and stylish, contemporary guest rooms. Popular with both families and couples this is a great choice for a relaxing holiday. In a privileged position on a hilltop, overlooking the rocky headland and sea is the Hotel Playa Azul. Just 200 metres away from the sandy beach, which is down a set of steep steps, the panoramic views are amazing. Located near to the commercial centre, the local shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife of Cala’n Porter are all within walking distance of the hotel, and downtown Mahon is just a short bus ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Playa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibb Playa Azul Hotel
Hotel Playa Azul Cala'n Porter, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing