We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely holiday.”
Review of Hotel Playa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Playa Azul
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked this hotel as a last minute deal and wanted something with a short flight time and a short transfer (30mins). Reception and check in were excellent, immediately the staff made an excellent impression. One of the most important things to us is that the hotel is suitable for our 2yr old, and the Playa Azul really was. We have stayed places where we were made to feel less than welcome with a small child in tow, but here he was treated kindly with smiles and chat from the moment we checked in. The room was lovely, we had a ground floor room which I was pleased about as a lively toddler and a balcony would not make for a relaxing time. The decor was cool with laminate flooring, fully tiled bathroom with over shower bath and double sink with marble surround which gave the whole bathroom a luxurious feel; standards higher than we expected for a 3star rating and certainly higher than the 5star we stayed in last year! Air conditioning in the rooms was excellent; quiet but kept the room really cool, we had to turn it off a few times! The pool area was lovely, the small pool was a perfect depth for children with a few toddlers able to jump in and out safely with steps at either side. The bigger pool was also ideal with a gentle sloping ramp into water about thigh deep and steps at one side into the shallow end. The deeper side of the pool was not too deep at less than 6ft so I was never suddenly out of depth with my son but we were able to swim comfortably when we wanted to. There were plenty of sun beds around and a nice seating area at the pool and down the few steps to the bar if we wanted to be out of the sun for a while. The pool was never too busy and there were always beds available. The beach was only a short walk but down many steps; I counted about 170 so take care if travelling with small children or if you have limited mobility. We managed it every day and had to carry my son most days back up so it's worthwhile going down to the beach but beware as it is a work out coming back up though there are places to stop and look out over the bay so it isn't as bad as it sounds! The beach was perfect for kids; gentle sloping water not too deep til quite far out and soft sand. Sun beds were 17euros for two so we bought a lilo for the second day we went just to keep us off the sand a bit, but to be honest a good size towel would be fine as the sand is soft enough. The food at the hotel was fine for husband and son, I am vegetarian so always tend to struggle a bit but here it was fine and there was always something which was also clearly labelled. The bar served lots of drinks during the day as all inclusive and also snacks which meant kids could graze if they wanted to. There is also a small play area for kids which is out of the sun for most of the day so it was ideal to cool off a bit. That said, it never got really hot with temperatures at most 28C so it was comfortable and perfect to relax in the sun. The resort itself is quite quiet but has a good number of restaurants and a few bars though one right next to out room had live music til midnight which had we been a bit younger and not with a toddler would have been great, but trying to sleep through it was difficult. That was only one night though so we wouldn't let it put us off a second time. Throughout our stay the staff were friendly and kind and always made an effort to chat. We felt very welcome and whilst we had no cause to raise concerns, I am sure that if we did it would have been dealt with. We would definitely choose to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view seem quieter and away from the road/bars just next to hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
8  Thank Grays511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Second time coming here and was very pleased that the hotel and service had not changed and was still first class.They had added a couple of extras which improved our time there. Will be going back again next year and would very much recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malcolms1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Playa Azul for a week in mid July and had a great time. Our room was spacious and clean, if a little sparse, but had all the facilities we needed. The hotel itself is a great and has a lovely view over the beach and bay below. There are two pools, one normal and one for kids and both are of a good standard. I would say the food is excellent, it's buffet style but has loads of variety with the offer changing each day. The salad and fresh food is particularly good and there is usually a good fish option too. The deserts are also really nice and there is loads of choice. We went half board and planned to eat out a few nights, but didn't really feel the need.

The only thing to be wary of is that if you are not all inclusive, drinks can be a bit expensive compared to other bars. But there are pubs very close by and also a shop where you can buy cans etc. The hotel will also charge for wifi if you want it, it was 5 Euro for one day but i think it was cheaper if you got it for the week etc. It may be free if you are all inclusive but i am not sure.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants within a couple of minutes walk so there is enough going on without it being too crazy. The resort itself is nice and offers good value for money. One tip, we got taxi's to and from the airport to the hotel for only 20 Euro each way this was much less than the £60 that the travel company wanted to charge us for transfers!

Overall this is a lovely hotel in a good resort, and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank The_Yorkshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely location with lovely views over the bay. Lots of variety in the food all of which was very tasty, meat, fish and salad dishes + drinks etc? The rooms were nice and clean and of a good size. One point to note, the beds were very firm.Don't be put off by the 181 steps down to the beach as there are places to stop and the beach is lovely and is shallow for quite a distance.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank SlurpMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was superb and exceeded our expectations . The place was clean, friendly . The food was great , I've stayed in 5 star hotels and the food was on a par if not better . We went for a relaxing week and that is exactly what we had . Will be going back as great value for money. .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gib1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Really enjoyed staying at the Playa Azul. We had a great family holiday. Great swimming pool, food was good with loads of variety, staff were friendly and the rooms were made up every day.
The beach is excellent and has pedelos, sun loungers, volleyball. It is a bit of a climb back up the180 or so steps though.
Would definitely recommend for a relaxing family/couples holiday.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Playa Azul for a 5 day break on the 21st July. I must confirm that the excellent reviews are to true. This is a very good 3 star hotel. Food, cleanliness, pool & staff service are all outstanding.

I would recommend this for a relaxing getaway break. There is no daytime entertainment & only twice weekly evening entertainment but this is what we wanted. The clientele was a mix of English & Spanish with a wide range of age groups. Probably would be to quiet for older children.

I loved this hotel and would recommend. We will be booking again.

P.s ladies there are decent hair dryers in the bathroom!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bondys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
15.9 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,371 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,368 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sa Barrera
Hotel Sa Barrera
#2 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
372 reviews
4.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,568 reviews
8.3 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Azul

Address: Paseo Maritimo, 27, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range: £63 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During the winter of 2009, the Hotel Playa Azul has undergone a full refurbishment including a brand new, fabulous, outdoor swimming pool, overlooking stunning views of the bay and stylish, contemporary guest rooms. Popular with both families and couples this is a great choice for a relaxing holiday. In a privileged position on a hilltop, overlooking the rocky headland and sea is the Hotel Playa Azul. Just 200 metres away from the sandy beach, which is down a set of steep steps, the panoramic views are amazing. Located near to the commercial centre, the local shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife of Cala’n Porter are all within walking distance of the hotel, and downtown Mahon is just a short bus ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Playa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibb Playa Azul Hotel
Hotel Playa Azul Cala'n Porter, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing