We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing holiday”
Review of Siesta Mar I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Siesta Mar I
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Rented 2 bedroom private apartment overlooking the pool for family of 5. Rooms basic and a little dated, but had everything required. Pool area great, but some lilo's would have been a nice touch and the area immediately around the pool was not brushed/cleaned regularly so a lot of rubbish etc off conifer trees found there way into pool daily (pool washowever cleaned every morning). Apart from this, clean and safe complex, great stay and would highly recommend. Would not hesitate on returning some day.

Room Tip: Look at booking viaowners direct website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RandleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed at Siesta Mar for two weeks and it was lovely. Apartment was quite basic but had everything you need for a self catering holiday and the kitchen for fine for cooking a preparing decent meals in. The pool area was lovely and perfect for two young children. Only ate at the restaurant once but when we did the food was very nice. Cala En Porter itself has everything you need with a supermarket directly opposite the apartment and lots of places to eat to suit different budgets . A lot of people where we stayed were put off going to the local beach as there are 180 steps to climb up and down, but I would definitely recommend going. Its a lovely beach, very clean and the sea is very shallow. There are a couple of shops and beach bars down there to buy cold drinks/snacks etc. The walk back up takes about five minutes and my children (6 and 7) managed it fine. I would pre-book a car if you want to hire one as there were very little left when we went in August. I would recommend getting a car and seeing some of the island as there are lots of beautiful beaches worth a visit which you can't get to any other way. Would also recommend taking the reliable bus in to Mahon which is also worth a visit. Perfect holiday for families with young children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

we have just come back from Cala'n porter where we stayed inb an apartment on the siesta mar complex 1.

It was booked through owners direct and was amazing. recently refurbished, had everything we needed, tv, dvd's, playstation, towels and bed linen. Also lots of inflatables for pool, buckets & spades, balls etc.

The pool on complex 1 is great, doesn't get busy, though no sun loungers but alot of the apartments have their own you can take over.

The pool on complex 2 is also great, with 2 small slides that my girls loved, 6 and 4.
did speak to people who were staying on complex 2, and their apartments not the best!!

The beach is 10 mins away and the restaurants the same, seagrams, big al's ranch,m el pulpo and the chinese/indian restaurants were the best. Dont go to el Salamandra-terrible!!

Perfect location, great apartment, complex, would definatley go back to that apartment, but book through owners direct and check out the pictures first.

Room Tip: rooms on complex 1 are the best, quiet and are all privately owned so they are well look after, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Great resort, beach, lovely for families. stayed at siesta mar complex 1, was great, lovely pools in both complex 1 and 2. weather amazing.

1  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at Siesta Mar 1 Apartments, Calen Porter first week of August. Only 20euro taxi from nearby airport (but note that taxi only takes 4 persons, so if more of you, you need two taxis). Reasonable accommodation, bit dated but fine for the time spent in it. We only used the apartment to sleep in and prepare lunch the rest of the time we were at the beach or exploring nearby Mahon. Buffet breakfast was great value - french bread, jams, cereals, fresh fruit, english breakfast, juice and fabulous coffee. We bought lunch from supermarket across the road and made a pack up lunch. We brought a soft cool box with freezer packs with us and this saved us over spending. The jewel of this place is the beach. Large enough for this time of year that it wasnt overly packed and some great beach bars with affordable prices. Cala en Porter only really had one main Hotel - Playa Azul, situated at the top of the stairs which led down to the beach. It had a spotless pool and the hotel and bungalows were freshly painted in white and blue. We used the pool often! The bus stop was outside this hotel and for 1.60 you could travel the 20 minutes into Mahon, walk around the Port, a little bit of shopping and return to the resort. We only did this once until we got our car rental as there were five of us. There were a selection of places to eat - La Vela we felt was the better place of all and service and food was good. Our other favourite choice was Rustic Barcala on the beach and we ate there several evenings as they did Tapas in the evening as well as the day and the service was friendly and food very tasty. We rented a car for three days which was ample - in short the better places we visited were the fishing village of Fornells, Son Saura (south of Cuitidella - for a more rural natural beach), and Binibequer, a quaint Moorish white little village type place - see photos. These were the better places we found. We did visit some other beaches like Cala Galdana, Son Bou, Sant Tomas but felt these were more built up with hotels and much busier as a result. All in all we found driving in Menorca easy, road signs fine and all short distances, so very manageable. Of all the places we visited we still felt Calan Porter had the better beach - cleaner, no rocks or seaweed and lots of little fishes. Only downside for families would be the huge number of steps down to the beach but for those with able children like ours - we just saw it as a bit of exercise! Evenings we walked up to Club Menorca which has a bar with views the beach from the opposite direction (and had Cava at 6 euros a bottle) and we also walked up and down the hills to look at all the villas - a pretty resort overall and we felt the island was far more chilled with no crime and a safe vibe for us and the children - which gave them more freedom, compared to Majorca where we normally holiday. We will definetly be returning to this resort but maybe to a private villa so we can spend a bit more time cooking for ourselves. Recommended :)

Room Tip: Siesta Mar II apartments were the noisier of the two blocks, both had pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank LondonAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Apartment was very basic. It was sparsely furnished. Very dark furnishings. Bedding was stained. Staff extremely unhelpful. Breakfast was inedible, everything cold and covered in congealed grease.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kennedy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I was very happy with Siesta Mar and will definitely return.
There were two of us and we got an apartment on the 3rd floor. The balcony is huge - you can walk around it and there is a table and chairs and a clothes horse for leaving your bikinis and towels out on. A big beautiful large tree covered our balcony from the apartments in front of us but did not block out the sun. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and crockery. There was always hot water in the shower and the beds (one was a couch that pulled out into a double bed) were both firm and very comfortable. Our apartment was cleaned twice in one week, which I was very happy with.
The breakfast was plentiful and would set you up for the day - cereals, fruits, cold meats, fried food, yoghurts, toast, tea and coffee. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. The adult pool was clear and fresh - the children's pool and the other pool with the slides also looked like lots of fun. The Siesta Mar is very centrally located to all amenities and we regularly took to the bus to and from Mahon. Octopus restaurant does the best seafood and the Chinese/Indian was delicious - we had the Indian food and it really was fantastic. All in all, Siesta Mar is a fantastic place to stay; it may not win awards for decor but it is very comfortable, convenient and it has everything you need. People in Calan Porter are very friendly and sociable. Muchas gracias amigos!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank orlayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
0.2 mi away
Nelva Resort
Nelva Resort
#4 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
48 reviews
4.4 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Azul
Hotel Playa Azul
#1 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
10.8 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,791 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tramontana Park
Tramontana Park
#2 of 5 in Fornells
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Mar I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Mar I

Address: Avenida Central 60, 07730 Cala'n Porter, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range: £46 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Siesta Mar I 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Siesta Mar I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Mar i Hotel Cala`n Porter
Siesta Mar I Cala'n Porter, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing