We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siesta Mar I

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Siesta Mar I
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I have just returned from a week at the Siesta Mar and thought the apartments were excellent value for money! The apartment was booked for 2 adults and one child and were big enough to sleep 6 people. They were very big, cleaned often, excellent for children and the pool area (3 pools) is one of the best i have come across.
They are also in an ideal location!
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helena11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    29
    35
    13
    18
See reviews for
42
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Have returned from week in sun at Siesta Mar. We originally booked a room at Sa Paissa, which is part of same complex and next door. However when we got there we were told they were overbooked and we had been allocated an apartment. I had emailed them before we left to check our booking anbd been told about the apartment so this was fine. We were delighted to find that the apartment was self catering 2 room, 4 bed apartment with a flat screen tv, fridge and oven with a lovely balcony overlooking the attractive gardens. The apartment was spotless and a fantastic size. We were also delighted to not be bothered by early morning cleaners every day. They seem to come with clean towels and replacement toilet rolls every 3 days, which is just right. The breakfast was served at a great relaxing time of between 9 and 11 meaning you didnt have to get up too early. It was very comprehensive with cooked eggs, bacon toast or cereal and fruit or pastries or the more traditional cheese and chorizo. You can also get wifi whilst in the breakfast area and the bar. We did not eat lunch or dinner as we made sandwiches every day thx to the convenience of 2 v.close supermarkets. It had everything we wanted in terms of being very close to the beach. It was a 5 minute walk down some steep steps. Although I see some people have complained about the steps at cala'n porter beach, I am 6 months pregnant and still managed fine. I jus took it slow and the view going down was amazing. The beach is very unspoilt. After exploring other beaches in menroca we decided this was our favourite. We did some snorkling on a particulalrly calm day and were amazed by the multitude of fish. We also hired a kayak and took it round to where u can see cova d'en xoroi. We didnt use the pool simply coz we were sooo near the beach, however it looked very clean and was a lovely area with palm trees and very tranquil with an area to one side with two long waterslides for children. All staff were very friendly and spoke great english even tho we preferred to speak to them in spanish. We hired a car and there was always plenty of parking on the road. Evening entertainment is not really our style, but if it is urs then u will love the convenience of nipping next door to sa paissa to hear there tribute bands. All in all we didnt want to leave and dont know why this fantastic complex not rated no1 in calan porter as it was the best we saw on our stay. Once our baby is born we will be returning to siesta mar as it was the best package holiday we have had.

Room Tip: We were in room 17, which got lovely sun in early evening and was perfectly positioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Just got back, very nice staff and very clean appartment.
Basic appartment, but for £140.00 it can not be beaten.
You can even upgrade, for a small amount, to half or full board at the bar down the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithnTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Booked appt 115 via "OwnersDirect.com" last minute.
Apartment was very clean, comfortable and the little touches were very welcome. DVDs, CDs, beach mats, fishing nets, tea towels, washing up liquid etc and a bottle of chilled CAVA in the fridge! Great sized balcony and lots of info on places to go, things to do etc. Good sized bedrooms.
Owners live on island so popped by to remedy issue with water - friendly and helpful
Pool area disappointing as no sunbeds (though was aware of this) - we could have dragged ours down a flight of steps but declinded! One of two noisy episdoes of drunken teens using the pool at 5am but otherwise pretty quiet.
Cala n Porter has everything you need. Restaurants, bars, gift shops and a bus that takes 25 mins to Mahon where you can travel all over the island. Many others who stayed elsewhere on the island had a long trek to shops and beach.
Beach (whilst down 150+ steps) was worth it. Clean, clear water and truly beautiful. We visited other beaches on the island and Calna Porter best. Sunbeds expensive to take your own beach mats and umbrella.
The Menorcans are wonderfully friendly and my limited vocabulary was warmly received!
All in all great last minute holiday and great reduced price due to late booking.

Room Tip: Apartments 115, 116 and 117 can be booked directly via Owners Direct.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngandOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Rented 2 bedroom private apartment overlooking the pool for family of 5. Rooms basic and a little dated, but had everything required. Pool area great, but some lilo's would have been a nice touch and the area immediately around the pool was not brushed/cleaned regularly so a lot of rubbish etc off conifer trees found there way into pool daily (pool washowever cleaned every morning). Apart from this, clean and safe complex, great stay and would highly recommend. Would not hesitate on returning some day.

Room Tip: Look at booking viaowners direct website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RandleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed at Siesta Mar for two weeks and it was lovely. Apartment was quite basic but had everything you need for a self catering holiday and the kitchen for fine for cooking a preparing decent meals in. The pool area was lovely and perfect for two young children. Only ate at the restaurant once but when we did the food was very nice. Cala En Porter itself has everything you need with a supermarket directly opposite the apartment and lots of places to eat to suit different budgets . A lot of people where we stayed were put off going to the local beach as there are 180 steps to climb up and down, but I would definitely recommend going. Its a lovely beach, very clean and the sea is very shallow. There are a couple of shops and beach bars down there to buy cold drinks/snacks etc. The walk back up takes about five minutes and my children (6 and 7) managed it fine. I would pre-book a car if you want to hire one as there were very little left when we went in August. I would recommend getting a car and seeing some of the island as there are lots of beautiful beaches worth a visit which you can't get to any other way. Would also recommend taking the reliable bus in to Mahon which is also worth a visit. Perfect holiday for families with young children.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

we have just come back from Cala'n porter where we stayed inb an apartment on the siesta mar complex 1.

It was booked through owners direct and was amazing. recently refurbished, had everything we needed, tv, dvd's, playstation, towels and bed linen. Also lots of inflatables for pool, buckets & spades, balls etc.

The pool on complex 1 is great, doesn't get busy, though no sun loungers but alot of the apartments have their own you can take over.

The pool on complex 2 is also great, with 2 small slides that my girls loved, 6 and 4.
did speak to people who were staying on complex 2, and their apartments not the best!!

The beach is 10 mins away and the restaurants the same, seagrams, big al's ranch,m el pulpo and the chinese/indian restaurants were the best. Dont go to el Salamandra-terrible!!

Perfect location, great apartment, complex, would definatley go back to that apartment, but book through owners direct and check out the pictures first.

Room Tip: rooms on complex 1 are the best, quiet and are all privately owned so they are well look after, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Azul
Hotel Playa Azul
#1 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
10.2 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sa Barrera
Sa Barrera
#2 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Mar I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Mar I

Property: Siesta Mar I
Address: Avenida Central 60, 07730 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Siesta Mar I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Mar i Hotel Cala`n Porter
Siesta Mar I Cala'n Porter, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing