We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only first class hotel in Andalsnes.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Andalsnes
Stockholm
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The only first class hotel in Andalsnes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Andalsnes is famous for the spectacular Trollstigen road to Geiranger and also well known among mountain climbers for the famous Troll Wall, the highest vertical rock face in Europe.
The Grand Hotel Bellevue is the only first class hotel in Andalsnes and it meets the expectations you may have. The rooms are clean and functional and there is a decent a la carte restaurant.
The lobby is pleasant with free coffee or tea.
Perhaps the breakfast buffet could have been a little more generous for the price (sausage instead of bacon with the scrambled eggs) but that is a minor fault.
If you need fitness and/or wellness you will have to look outside the hotel. However the hotel will help you with this.
The Wi-Fi did not work in our room (it needed a reset) but performed well in the lobby.
We found the price a little high, perhaps due to the monopoly situation in Andalsnes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the fjord particularly if you are staying for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eseon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    57
    28
    2
    5
See reviews for
21
50
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were reluctant to book at the Grand Bellvue due to poor reviews on Trip Advisor but we were pleasantly surprised. Whilst the hotel from the outside looks a little shabby the floor we were on (5th) has recently been refurbished and our room was well decorated, fresh and clean with a fabulous view to the mountina. the dining room again has been refurbished. Breakfast was included in room price. Dining room was closed on Sunday night we visited but we ate at the the nearby Chinese restaurant and it was excellent food and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BMW-Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed here for one night during my trip throughout Norway. The rooms are old an are in need of refurbishment, strangely enough they do possess a 40" LCD screen however all TV-stations are Norwegian. Mattresses are soft and not really comfy and the whole room smells a bit dirty.

Evening buffet was an absolute joke, I paid 120 NOK for a dinner-buffet in which the only hot dish was an omelet. Furthermore, there were no cold dishes either apart from some pieces of cheese and bread. Do not ever have join the buffet. The breakfast however was lovely, and had much more variety and dishes than the evening buffet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravnoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 598 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We did a one night stay at the Grand Hotel while starting off on a Fjord exploration journey. When we arrived on a Tuesday, the nightclub wasn't happening and the town was pretty quiet (probably because the end of August the Norwegian tourist season is pretty much finished). The hotel is a 7 - 10 minute walk away from the train station (the hotel is up the hill and across an overpass which passes over the train tracks).

I came in expecting the worst (because of some of the scathing reviews) but was actually relatively satisfied with the actual room we spent the night in. The hotel will indeed will be doing some major room renovations over the next few months so I'm not certain how timely or useful any room details I provide would be.

Bathroom linens (two medium sized towels, two smaller towels) were pretty well worn. No washcloths or bar soaps, just soft soap dispensers.

We did dinner and breakfast (which goes from 7 to 10 a.m.) the next morning at the hotel. Dinner (from a relatively small menu of three to four main courses to choose from) is in a smaller dining area while breakfast is in a much bigger room. The breakfast buffet spread was pretty good. This was my first time ever seeing caviar in a spreadable mini-toothpaste-tube format.

Hopefully this information helps you out. And if you did find useful information in my review, please let me know by clicking the "Helpful" link down below. Have a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichaelInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Arrived at the hotel on a Sunday evening after 11 hours in the car. It was then a bit dissapointed to find that the hotel did not serve dinner this day. But a quick walk in town and we found a nice place.
Room was fine, clean and with a nice view. (5th floor) If you are a "light" sleeper, you might want to ask for a room with no neighbours, as I could hear the person next door snooring...
Breakfast the morning after was very good, and the hotel filled up our thermos with coffe free of charge.
If I am going to this area again, I would probably stay tere again.

Room Tip: try to get high up for better view. 516 nice fjord view, 513 nice mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy2trave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for one night whilst on tour so did not get particularly familiar with this hotel.
Not so impressed with the very basic room, the bathroom was very dated and in need of refurbishment. Also not too happy about the night club in the basement that kept on playing loud music until late and kept me awake.
However, it is very clean and the breakfast very nice!
Hotel staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KariJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

It is an old shabby and dirty hotel. We had to put towels on the chairs because they were so dirty! The shower was in the middle of the bathroom and when you take a shower everything gets wet! There is no way to roll your suitcases into the hotel because it has only stairs. The 1 elevator works slowly and doesn't always function.We saw a handicap who had to go down 5 stories because he couldn't wait for the elevator.The coffee they provide free to the guests is always cold. The television in the room has only 2-3 channels only in Norsk and no CNN or BBC for tourists. The amount of money we payed there (1110 nok) is much too much for what we received. We will never recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orit b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andalsnes
2.4 mi away
Hotel Aak
Hotel Aak
#1 of 2 in Andalsnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
20.8 mi away
Scandic Seilet
Scandic Seilet
#1 of 7 in Molde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotell Molde Fjordstuer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Alexandra
20.6 mi away
Thon Hotel Moldefjord
1.0 mi away
Setnes Feriesenter
Setnes Feriesenter
#1 of 1 in Veblungsnes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bellevue

Property: Grand Hotel Bellevue
Address: Aandalgata 5, Andalsnes 6300, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Rauma Municipality > Andalsnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Andalsnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Bellevue is a full service hotel near the terminus of the Rauma Railway in andalsnes in Romsdal. With its location at the foot of the Romsdal peaks you have views of both mountains and fjord from the hotel. In the same building is Rauma Kulturhus used for courses and conferences, library, concerts and shows. From andalsnes you can visit attractions such as the Trollstigen Road, Trollveggen Wall and the Geirangerfjord area, or what about joining a fishing trip on the fjord? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing