We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Happy...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portsonachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portsonachan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Happy...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just back from a two night stay in 3 bedroom log cabin, it had everything you could ask for in it...so spacious so warm.. beds so clean and comfy.. Staff in hotel were very friendly,Was told new staff just took this over seven weeks ago.. hanks you for making us so welcome.xx

Room Tip: Our cabin was fantastic great views it was called Kilchyrn would highly recommend this.x
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shadylady124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    486
    296
    164
    238
See reviews for
286
893
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We went on a 3 day break and stayed 5 days. We had a great time, Charlotte is working hard to overcome some of the past negative comments. The staff were welcoming, food was good, great log fires and amazing sculptured tables. We'll be going back :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pmorris149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Booked via a country fair, had some concerns reading previous feedback. But had a great time. Staff extremely polite and helpful. Set in a stunning location. Views over the Loch were great. Didn't get a loch view room but the room was more than adequate. The hotel is a little tired but we had no problems what so ever. Bottled water provided in room for drinking as hotel has private water supply that has brownish tinge from the peat laden water. Meals were fantastic great quality good choices. Will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel rather than adjacent (over the road) wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The location of this place was superb, with stunning views of the loch from our lochside apartment. Yet I find it very sad that on the whole our stay was slightly spoiled by small problems that could easily be sorted.

On arrival to our apartment (which was relatively clean and a decent standard) we found there was not enough towels for the four booked guests or bedding for the sofa-bed we were to sleep on. Unfortunately meaning we got to see some nice stains left on the pillows and covers from previous guests. These issues were sorted relatively easily when we made it known to staff.

Unfortunately our meal was a bit of a let down. Sat in the huge conservatory (leaks and all) all our meals were average at best, with one of us finding a rather large hair in our meal. Again the staff dealt with it well and took it off our bill.

When arriving the next day for our afternoon tea (part of the deal we'd bought), we were told that they were out of scones and the waiter would try to find the pastries chef (I have doubts he existed) to make up a fresh batch. In the mean time we were given shortbread and told "this is just the start, I'll be back"..... An hour later after finding the same foreign waiter doing electrical work in the bar I was met with an unapologetic "couldn't find him, nothing I can do". Poor service.

The sad thing is this hotel could be great, but a lack of organisation let's them down. I think that's the most frustrating thing about the place, the staff, although on the whole friendly and maybe trying their best, aren't quite on the ball enough. It wouldn't take much to polish this rough diamond up.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slickdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a 6 hour journey for our 3night stay at this hotel the greeting we received was warm and welcoming. We stayed in a lock side apartment which was lovely.
The views are breathtaking.
The hotel has a new manageress who is working really hard to build an excellent team of staff. The staff give information about places to visit and scenic routes and places of interest Any problems are dealt with promptly.
Congratulations to Charlotte and all of the staff at Portsonachan hotel you are doing a fab job.
Can't wait to see you all in the future keep up the good work .
Thankyou Mick Sue and Betty the Bulldog x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in a cabin for 3 nights. Getting there was an adventure as it was down a very long single track road with passing places but we eventually reached the hotel and cabins. We had booked a groupon experience which include a breakfast pack for the morning, but there was non available so we were given a free breakfast for the first morning, which was excellent. We also at in the restaurant on the first night, and the food and service was of a very high standard. Unfortunately the cabin we stayed in was not. Amongst other things the smoke alarm in the living room had been dismantled or was broken, a radiator was hanging off the wall and one of the dining chairs was falling apart. We gave a list of defects to the proprietors when we left so I assume they will be rectified before the next visitors book in. I see a previous contributor has written that the proprietors have only recently taken over this hotel on so I imagine things will shortly improve.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MM1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked lodge through Groupon.( And we got our money back full refund) Worst place I have ever seen on arrival told lodge not ready,and we could have afternoon tea in conservatory I think waiter used to work at faulty towers, his hands shook so much he nearly dropped cups etc.
Three cups four of us ! Waited over an hour, then we had to ask if lodge was ready.
Eventually told we had a upgrade to three bed lodge. Would have been nice to have extra bedroom, but bunk beds for over 50's? On arrival at lodge found steps broken, hot tub outside with broken cover and half full of dirty water and leaves.
Opened door to lodge .Well the smell of damp ! you would not believe, water ingress on two walls of lounge area.
Electrical heaters damaged not safe to use (believe me I am a electrician definately not P.A.T. tested).
Airing cupboard had vermin bait in it and smelled as if someone had urinated in it.
Kitchen cupboard also had vermin bait in it (lovely).
Dishwasher had probably never been cleaned.
Bathrooms disgusting,definately not fit for purpose.
Overall not a place we would wish to stay, so we didn't.
Complained at reception, think we would have got our upgrade £40 back until the very arogant manager arrived and said he would not give refund of any money.
Lucky for us we booked though Groupon, took a little while but eventully we had a full refund.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jotajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsonachan hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsonachan
8.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsonachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsonachan Hotel

Property: Portsonachan Hotel
Address: | South Loch Awe Side, Portsonachan PA33 1BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Portsonachan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Portsonachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, with restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Portsonachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portsonachan Hotel And Lodges On Loch Awe
Portsonachan Hotel Dalmally
Portsonachan Resort Dalmally

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing