We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Portsonachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portsonachan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom lodge which was a little way along from the main hotel. The setting couldnt be falted. Totally idyllic, beautiful, and absolutely one of the most picturesque places I have ever stayed.
In terms of service I cannot fault it, the lady at the front desk was quick and efficent and gave us all the necessary information. The bar staff were friendly and polite. I met the chef and he was also very nice to talk to. We ate in the restaurant one night, I had steak and my boyfriend had burger and we could not fault the food or the service.
The lodge itself was very large, and although its not perfect its great value for money! You cant expect the Ritz if you arent paying that level of charge! Good facilities, clean on arrival, warm.

Overall no complaints whatsoever. I loved it here and wouldnt hesitate to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StaceyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,701)
There are newer reviews for Portsonachan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 1,701 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a 3 day break in late April.
Hotel is quite remote but in a great location with fantastic views.

Overall we were not impressed with the hotel with our comments below:

We booked a room with a loch view which was great but
- Heating could not be turned down/off so the room was very hot. We asked reception to look at it but clearly wasn’t done and no feedback
- Floorboards creaked
- Bed creaked
- Floor slightly slanted
- Room not cleaned one day
- Toilet paper not replenished one day
- Shower (connected to bath taps) didn’t stretch when stood in bath to stand under it
- No shower screen/curtain
- Old furniture

We had dinner at the hotel two nights
- First night given a paper menu- somewhat limited
- Second night given a menu folder which also contained dishes from the previous night
(Which begs the question why the second day menu was not given on the first day)
- Reasonable choice but no vegetables (which we like) to accompany any of the dishes

Breakfast ok but ran out of eggs on the third day!

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view room but this may not guarantee a better quality room from our experience
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TPC1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

out in the wilds, 4 miles down a track, we stayed in a lodge which was really nice, water was brown but found out it comes direct from the loch, bottles of water supplied free, had one evening meal and 2 breakfasts, asked for poach egg on toast and got a round ball, toast was cold as was the extra toast, 2nd morning asked for kippers did not have any, but got fish and again a poach egg all swimming in water, our first breakfast we arrived at 9.30am only for the head waiter to have a go at us, saying loudly 'wot time do you call this' breakfast is served till 10am. all foreign staff, I would think twice about going back.

Room Tip: we stayed in a lodge much bigger they have kitchens so was able to get a decent meal
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We really do not understand why some people have given this place a bad review, we found the opposite.....We went 21.4.14 for a few days on a Groupon voucher for 1 bed lodge.
Friendly, helpful staff, a massive lodge with nice furnishings, very clean kitchen & bathrooms, pristine bedding, bottled water to drink (as it is from a local supply so is coloured ) all which gave us a very comfortable & enjoyable stay with fantastic views and wonderful surroundings.
Only down side or constructive criticism would be the 1 bed loges do not have any outside furniture? and we found the food did not meet our expectations (wed 23.4.14) maybe it was the chefs day off but a main course price range of £13-£15, we enjoyed far far better food locally than in the restaurant, my scallops in cream, pernod and ginger were tasteless, and my husbands beef steak casserole was a very poor offering, although the service was very friendly and efficient, with views to die for while you dine. Would go again.

Room Tip: we think maybe the lodges are in better condition than rooms at the main building
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanA2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

So glad i ignored the bad reviews.My husband and I have just got back from a brilliant weekend.Yes hotel bit dated but we had a lovely room and the views were amazing.Yes water was brown but always had hot water and once loads of bubble bath in was lovely.Breakfast was lovely and lots of choice,ate in hotel one night and food was fine.All the staff were helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.
Stunning view more than makes up for any little niggles please message me if you want any details .Would go again

Room Tip: loch view room fantastic
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Bought 3 night stay at a 'Grand Designs' show 18 months ago (without reading reviews). Bought the break because it sounded good value for the money then read the reviews and panicked. On arrival there was a mix up about the extra I had paid in order to have an apartment (due to husbands disability).BUT it was resolved amicably and quickly. The hotel decor needs refurbing but it was clean and good value for money. They supplied water for drinking (we are used to country living with own water supply). We ate there 2 of the 3 nights - food choices were varied and both the food and service was very good. Breakfast was a bit chaotic first day but sorted the next day. The location is absolutely stunning. If it was refurbed and smartened, the price would be way out of my range. Clean, friendly, good food and service = good value. I don't believe it deserves the poor reviews and the staff should be praised - I don't mind that they are European!

Room Tip: Well worth getting a room with a view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anon745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Where do I start, rooms are shabby can't swing a cat in, beds are really hard it's like sleeping on floor, no shower?it's run by Europeans, the meals come from a ready made packet. One meal I had rain dripping all over me as the roof was leaking. But the worst thing for me was the water! What is going on? It is dirty dark brown, and never any hot water. You feel more dirty when you've had a bath!They seem to switch it off until someone complains then they put it back on (looks like they're trying to save money) I had to complain the 3 nights we stayed. We was walking all day came back needing a bath as we were going out that evening, cold water AGAIN, had to go down to complain, they switch it on and we had to wait 45 min. It's a joke. We wouldn't advise anyone to stay. It's a shame it's not run properly as it's in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Zacy712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsonachan
0.3 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
380 reviews
8.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,479 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
436 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
11.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsonachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsonachan Hotel

Address: | South Loch Awe Side, Portsonachan PA33 1BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Portsonachan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
Price Range: £82 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portsonachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, with restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portsonachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portsonachan Hotel And Lodges On Loch Awe
Portsonachan Hotel Dalmally
Portsonachan Resort Dalmally

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing