We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Average Hotel”
Review of Portsonachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portsonachan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kelvedon, Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Views, Average Hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay, getting promotional deal from local show. Upon arrival down a very narrow road, we were over joyed to see the views of Loch Awe from the hotel, absolutely awesome. However that was where the joy ended.
Reception was manned by young lady who had just started her job there, but as hard as she tried she had obviously not had any initiation into the role. Not her fault. She was very polite and attentive though, her little dog Berry was gorgeous. I think she would be better suited at a better run hotel.
Our room was not ready when we arrived but we did arrive early so no problem there. It was ready for 16:00 as promised.Were told room on first floor when in fact on second floor. The room was very dark, but the bed was comfortable.Tea/coffee making facilities were available using free bottled water provided. Mains water not drinkable, but not a problem. Shower very unpredictable.
We had dinner the first night. i had beef stew and dumplings( one dumpling cut into small pieces in what looked like dog food). My partner had a fish pie which she left most of.No vegetables unless you asked for them. As a result we did not eat there again in the evening.The Scottish (i would assume)head waiter was a noisy arrogent man, who seemed to think he was funny, he was not. Indeed he did nothing but put down everything, every one and indeed anything. The rest of the staff worked their socks off but you could see had very little training in the art of hospitality. Things did improve once the head waiter!!!! had a couple of days off and the rest of the staff were more at ease and service did improve.
Breakfast was very hit and miss. I had the full Scottish (beans would be a good idea) which was the smallest one i had ever had, but just about edible.Toast came when we had cereal, so it was cold by the time your main element turned up. You could ask for ssome more though My partner tried most things on the breakfast menu, but other than the porridge did not enjoy anything. In fact the haddock with poched egg seemed to have had Loch Awe drained onto the plate so the fish could carry on swimming. She also asked for condiments and we did not get them at all.
The bar area was dark and dimly lit, but service here was ok. The guy from Hungary(did not get his name), tried his best, despite again just starting his employment. Ran out of draught beer on last night. Not many drinking it so really inexcusable over bank holiday weekend. They also have ordering issues as there were numerous empty barrels round the back.
As a base to explore the surroundings it was ok, but most things were at least 35-40 miles away(Oban. Fort William, Glencoe etc) We ended up eating in Oban which on both occasions was great. I think it would be a good idea for the owner to take the waiting staff to a good resturant to see how service should be done and how to not be so run off there feet with a bit of time management and efficiency training.
Do not go here if you are disabled. Access to front door has no ramp. In fact a young lady in a wheelchair almost fell out when trying to go through it. Road outside hotel full of potholes (not hotels fault but local councils) so access to chalets was a bit of a minefield especially during the night.
Would we go back, well NO!! Find another hotel and pay a bit more. It would be well worth it. This could be a great hotel. Putting into place tried and tested service methods would work wonders. Also a bit of money spent on upgrading rooms and hotel decor would work wonders.

Room Tip: Go there with eyes wide open. Ask for lochside room, just to see the views. Do not go here if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nostrodamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    504
    305
    169
    240
See reviews for
293
924
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is a very difficult review to write I always try to be fair as it is what I would expect. We always look at reviews before booking and pay particular attention to trip advisor, however on this occasion we were at a show and Vic was there with his stand displaying the beauty of Scotland. As a wheelchair user we have to be very careful where we book. He assured us that they had special fully equipped rooms and I would have no issues. My husband rang to confirm this and we were told the room was a short walk from the hotel.
I think if you read the other reviews you will see most of the issues and it is very hit and miss as to the experience you have here. Self catering walkers with dogs would love it as you can even take your dog with you to dinner. Something I was not comfortable with.
My journey from the room to breakfast involved a dangerous journey down a potholed hill/dirt track. When I raised this as a concern we were told that in x years no one in a wheelchair has ever tried that and implied I was stupid to try. How should I come for breakfast then. Well you should drive here.
As with many others beds not made even after a promise etc etc. Since our visit we have looked into the establishment further and it appears the owners have lost interest and simply want to make money. Or are they doing the best they can in a recession I don't know. The staff try to do the best they can with what they have but you are at the mercy of who is on duty or still working their.
Should you visit
Not if you want to drink water or bath / shower in clean water. It is a disgusting brown.
Not if you use a wheelchair mine is electric with head rest.
Not if you want to walk anywhere from or around the hotel safely.
Not if the hospitality really matters to you.
I would never visit this place again or book a holiday from a show.
Yes If you are a dog lover and have a car.
I wouldn't take children their as there is nothing to do around the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsonachan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
South Shields
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom lodge which was a little way along from the main hotel. The setting couldnt be falted. Totally idyllic, beautiful, and absolutely one of the most picturesque places I have ever stayed.
In terms of service I cannot fault it, the lady at the front desk was quick and efficent and gave us all the necessary information. The bar staff were friendly and polite. I met the chef and he was also very nice to talk to. We ate in the restaurant one night, I had steak and my boyfriend had burger and we could not fault the food or the service.
The lodge itself was very large, and although its not perfect its great value for money! You cant expect the Ritz if you arent paying that level of charge! Good facilities, clean on arrival, warm.

Overall no complaints whatsoever. I loved it here and wouldnt hesitate to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StaceyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a 3 day break in late April.
Hotel is quite remote but in a great location with fantastic views.

Overall we were not impressed with the hotel with our comments below:

We booked a room with a loch view which was great but
- Heating could not be turned down/off so the room was very hot. We asked reception to look at it but clearly wasn’t done and no feedback
- Floorboards creaked
- Bed creaked
- Floor slightly slanted
- Room not cleaned one day
- Toilet paper not replenished one day
- Shower (connected to bath taps) didn’t stretch when stood in bath to stand under it
- No shower screen/curtain
- Old furniture

We had dinner at the hotel two nights
- First night given a paper menu- somewhat limited
- Second night given a menu folder which also contained dishes from the previous night
(Which begs the question why the second day menu was not given on the first day)
- Reasonable choice but no vegetables (which we like) to accompany any of the dishes

Breakfast ok but ran out of eggs on the third day!

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view room but this may not guarantee a better quality room from our experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TPC1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

out in the wilds, 4 miles down a track, we stayed in a lodge which was really nice, water was brown but found out it comes direct from the loch, bottles of water supplied free, had one evening meal and 2 breakfasts, asked for poach egg on toast and got a round ball, toast was cold as was the extra toast, 2nd morning asked for kippers did not have any, but got fish and again a poach egg all swimming in water, our first breakfast we arrived at 9.30am only for the head waiter to have a go at us, saying loudly 'wot time do you call this' breakfast is served till 10am. all foreign staff, I would think twice about going back.

Room Tip: we stayed in a lodge much bigger they have kitchens so was able to get a decent meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We really do not understand why some people have given this place a bad review, we found the opposite.....We went 21.4.14 for a few days on a Groupon voucher for 1 bed lodge.
Friendly, helpful staff, a massive lodge with nice furnishings, very clean kitchen & bathrooms, pristine bedding, bottled water to drink (as it is from a local supply so is coloured ) all which gave us a very comfortable & enjoyable stay with fantastic views and wonderful surroundings.
Only down side or constructive criticism would be the 1 bed loges do not have any outside furniture? and we found the food did not meet our expectations (wed 23.4.14) maybe it was the chefs day off but a main course price range of £13-£15, we enjoyed far far better food locally than in the restaurant, my scallops in cream, pernod and ginger were tasteless, and my husbands beef steak casserole was a very poor offering, although the service was very friendly and efficient, with views to die for while you dine. Would go again.

Room Tip: we think maybe the lodges are in better condition than rooms at the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanA2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

So glad i ignored the bad reviews.My husband and I have just got back from a brilliant weekend.Yes hotel bit dated but we had a lovely room and the views were amazing.Yes water was brown but always had hot water and once loads of bubble bath in was lovely.Breakfast was lovely and lots of choice,ate in hotel one night and food was fine.All the staff were helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.
Stunning view more than makes up for any little niggles please message me if you want any details .Would go again

Room Tip: loch view room fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsonachan
0.3 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
357 reviews
8.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,406 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
6.9 mi away
The Taynuilt
The Taynuilt
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsonachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsonachan Hotel

Property: Portsonachan Hotel
Address: | South Loch Awe Side, Portsonachan PA33 1BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Portsonachan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portsonachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, with restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portsonachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portsonachan Hotel And Lodges On Loch Awe
Portsonachan Hotel Dalmally
Portsonachan Resort Dalmally

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing