We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting and friendly atmosphere”
Review of Portsonachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portsonachan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
GreenLeadersBronze level
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning setting and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Like other reviewers booked on spec at a travel show as the rate was good so not expecting too much especially after reading earlier reviews. We were pleasantly surprised however at the standard of the hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and could not fault the value for what we paid. Can't comment on the lodges but the hotel rooms have obviously been updated and were clean and comfie if a bit old fashioned in terms of furniture but this suited the traditional style. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed all our food at both breakfast and dinner. The staff were all friendly and helpful, some less experienced than others but all trying hard and very pleasant. A fun after dinner session in the bar sampling the wide selection of malts. Good luck to the new manager -I am sure it will go from strength to strength.

Room Tip: Worth having the lock view rooms -stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniseHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    504
    305
    169
    240
See reviews for
293
924
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Like previous reviewers we had booked a three night stay at a local Flower Show which seemed to be very good value with the freedom to choose when to stay within an eighteen month period. We had paid the extra for an upgrade to a loch view room and can certainly not complain about the outlook, stunning views in both directions but I am afraid the room was very tired. We had no problem with the local water supply being peaty and drinking water supplied but did have considerable trouble trying to control the temperature in the shower it only did hot or very hot. Our double room in fact had two single beds together leaving very little room on either side with only one side having a bedside table with lamp excluding bedside reading for one of us. The staff were friendly especially Sergio and we found no complaint with service at breakfast with everything delivered on time and in the correct crockery. We had one evening meal on our day of arrival and we ate in the bar which was adequate but quite pricey for bar food Overall we had a good stay for the price paid but some serious money is required to bring this once grand hotel up to modern standards .

Room Tip: worth the extra for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaexIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

An excellent location spoilt by the service from the front of house staff. We booked via the Ideal Home Show in April 2013, and it accepted pets we thought it ideal.

On the first evening the bar tender (using the word in the loosest possible way) when taking a booking for evening meal, could not comprehend a local common clan name, deciding it was a made up.

Evening meal service was acceptable, but not exceptional. Then we turn to breakfast. Everytime we were encourage to order quickly as the place was likely to get busy soon - on the three days this comment came at 07:30; 08:30 and 09:15. All it meant was that the order was taken for three of four tables and after a considerable wait tea/coffee and toast arrived, and then after another longish wait cooked breakfast arrived.

The Head Waiter - who we saw on two of the days had all the charm and customer care of Basil Fawlty. Ordering the staff around when they were already do a good job. I saw him taking a pot of tea to another table and carrying it at an angle poured it out on the floor as he walked. On the second day the tea arrived in a coffee pot, the coffee in a tea pot and when we asked for milk it arrived in a tea pot.

The good point was Sergio who gave us service with a smile and could not do enough to help us - when he was given a chance!

The accommodation in a Lochside apartment met our requirements, however the instructions for the TV just did not work. The Freesat was not correctly setup, meaning we could not get BBC2 and the only BBC1 service we could get was BBC1 Wales and BBC1 South East. We commented on this and the response was that was all that they could be done.

There were speakers mounted on the wall of the living area and the head of the bed, which were not connected. The TV in the bedroom was unusable as it was only connected to an aerial and obviously Freeview in not available at Portsonachan.

There were some positives. The location is a great base with Oban and Inveraray easy to get to and some great views across Loch Awe.

Would we go again - unlikely. Would we recommend to a friend, possibly but only with the caveats detailed above.

Room Tip: Get a Lochside apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pencefn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsonachan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We booked our weekend away some months back at a travel show and this was without looking on trip advisor, which is something we would normally always do. On checking reviews when we got home we were slightly worried but we had booked and were looking forward to a weekend away.
We paid a bit extra to stay in a loch side apartment as we wanted to be sure we had a view, for the view alone this is definitely worth it.
On arriving I was slightly disappointed with my first impression of the apartment, although the hotel looked lovely and we were checked in quickly. The apartments are quite old fashioned and could do with a make over, we thought we had gone well equipped but there was no cleaning equipment so had to go out and buy extra as we didn't want to eat out every night. The kitchen and bathroom could have been cleaner, but as mentioned earlier, if they were updated it would help. Some of the pots and pans were very old and wonky!
We had always known we would eat out on the Saturday night and had decided before our visit that it wouldn't be in the hotel, purely because of the reviews but after a long day out driving we couldn't face another drive to Dalmally so decided to give the restaurant at the hotel a go (note: you need to reserve your table on a piece of paper at the bar). We were really pleasantly surprised with our meal, both starters and mains and really glad we decided to give it a go, we eat out and travel a lot and it was lovely! Staff were also very pleasant and polite and couldn't do enough for you. As for one of the previous reviews saying the bar was dark and there was no lounge to have a drink (as well as the terrible food and staff), I'm not sure where they were staying but it doesn't sound like the same place! There is a small intimate bar and a larger lounge with real fire right next door (you can't miss it). The fire wasn't lit so one if the waiters brought wood and coal round and let my partner light it whilst we enjoyed a glass of wine.
I'm not in the habit of writing long reviews but I wanted to get my point across that hotel really is worth a visit - spectacular views, good food and great staff.
It would have had 5 stars throughout if the apartments and had been more modern and better equipped.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I booked this hotel at The Cruise Show in Glasgow last year and we went May bank holiday weekend. We were in the Coach House but the apartment they gave us was upstairs and not pushchair-friendly so they let us have the disabled access apartment - no bother at all. The apartment was quite nice but the hotel itself was lovely. A gorgeous conservatory restaurant overlooking the loch with an equally nice patio area outside. A lovely bar and a residents lounge with big leather sofas and armchairs - a great place to relax on an evening. The staff were all lovely and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts could not be faulted and included local undyed smoked haddock and poached eggs and whole local kippers. There was also a great selection of cereals, a high quality muesli, fruit, yoghurt and toast. I know a lot of people complain about this hotel but funny that they keep going back there! Some people just like to moan I think.

Room Tip: You can choose from the main hotel, a loch-side cabin, a log cabin or the Coach House self catering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieJefferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went here with fear and trembling as we had read the reviews But -- although we knew not to have dinner in the Hotel -the breakfast was excellent
We were in a lovely lodge so had superb lunches in the Oyster Bar at Loch Fyne
Liz was especially helpful and if the chef did fantastic Bar Meals in the evening i am sure that the reviews would tell a different story ! It is too far to eat out at night so a late lunch is ideal --and don't even think about the pub just down the road !!!
Yes the landscaping around the lodges needs attention and some gardening to make it more attractive but the view is spectacular and so peaceful -- we are going back

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 134wilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have also just come back from our second stay at Portsonachan, we even took friends this time, who like ourselves and beta 125 look further than the end of our noses ! and look forward to returning, rooms are spotless, food is excellent staff try so hard and are all friendly, dont knock it until you have tried it !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theclubbhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsonachan
0.3 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
356 reviews
8.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,406 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
6.9 mi away
The Taynuilt
The Taynuilt
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsonachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsonachan Hotel

Property: Portsonachan Hotel
Address: | South Loch Awe Side, Portsonachan PA33 1BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Portsonachan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portsonachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, with restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portsonachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portsonachan Hotel And Lodges On Loch Awe
Portsonachan Hotel Dalmally
Portsonachan Resort Dalmally

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing