We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodges at portsonachan.”
Review of Portsonachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portsonachan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lodges at portsonachan.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I booked a lodge at portsonachan for the weekend of the 12/13 may 2014 for 5 adults.

When we arrived it was apparent from the moment we arrived at the lodge that the standard was well below that of what was advertised, the lodge was in a state od disrepair and not very clean, there was a musty smell

the furniture was in a sorry state most of it was marked or was broken, the fridge had masking tape inside to separate the compartments , the flooring was ripped in various places and was a trip hazard for the occupants.

I spoke to the manager who had only been there for 3 weeks, he offered us a free drink which we declined, he said he would speak to the owners and get back to us, it has been 2 weeks now and I have hears nothing despite calling the manager on 2 separate occasions, I also left my contact details and requested a full refund.

We decided after only 3 hours that we did not want to stay in the lodge and drove home, this trip was a complete waste of my time not to mention my fuel, it is apparent that the owner of these lodges does not care about his customers and is only interested in getting your money.

I will never visit these lodges again and would advise anyone to reconsider before the book in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    517
    312
    176
    245
See reviews for
303
954
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The location is stunning and to have meals overlooking Loch Awe is worth every penny paid. We stayed in a room overlooking the loch and it is a must. The room was large and comfortable with beautiful soft furnishings. We didn't have a problem with the peaty water as the hotel supplied drinking water in our room daily. We had a both with a hand held shower and would prefer a proper shower, but we managed.

The breakfast selection was extensive and we really appreciated the fresh fruit salad, homemade yoghurt and quality muesli available. The evening meals were varied, well cooked and reasonable. We found the staff to be courteous, helpful and efficient at all times.

We enjoyed using this hotel as a base to discover the area, somewhere we have not been before. Yes, it takes time to get to places, but that is what to expect, the scenery is just amazing. We would gladly go back to this hotel again, it is brilliant value for money. We paid more for bed and breakfast to and from Scotland and they were both of a good standard, but the breakfasts were not as comprehensive or as good at Portsonachan and they most certainly did not have a view to compare with Loch Awe!

Room Tip: We stayed in McCauley with a Loch View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel is about 8 minutes drive down a nearly single track road in a fairly isolated situation on the banks of Loch Awe. The views from the dining room and extensive patio area outside were absolutely stunning - over the Loch to the hills behind. That's the good bit!

We went with another couple and booked two twin rooms for 3 nights. One was a reasonable size but the other -Mackenzie - was really quite small and was over the kitchen area so a lot of noise from about 7am.
Mackenzie also smelt fusty and the carpet had obviously not been cleaned properly with hairs here and there and generally grubby. The bedroom was made up each day but the bathroom wasn't touched and the towels were not replaced so in the evening we came back to damp towels(only one small radiator in the bedroom).We got replacements from reception but again the next day no-one had been in the bathroom and the towels were still in a heap on the floor where we had left them!
Then came the dining room....generally well appointed and with those fantastic views over Loch Awe. The evening food was quite good and the Sauvignon and Malbec wines were very good...but the breakfasts were poor and the service was even worse.
The second morning 3 breakfasts arrived...so we started as we expected the fourth breakfast to arrive shortly. Well, we finished our breakfasts after repeatedly asking different staff members to find out where the missing meal was....we were told "it's coming". After 25minutes it still hadn't come and the staff were avoiding eye contact(at this stage it was exactly an hour since we sat down). So we gave up and left to go out for the day...we later found out from other guests who had been watching the episode that it NEVER came!!
Now everyone and every enterprise can occasionally make mistakes but having realised that one meal was missing "they" should have put that order at the top of the Chef's list...we believe it just went to the bottom of his list...complete lack of organisation and direction...."Fawlty Towers" comes to mind!
We were told by the Manager that everything would be perfect for the next day, our last morning (and he gave us a bottle of wine by way of compensation for the poor service...or rather complete lack of service!)....the next morning no-one had come to take our order after 30 minutes...it was eventually taken and then another 15minutes went by(so much for things being "perfect")...we caught the eye of the Head waiter (who had been on holiday) and explained what had happened the previous day...he said he would give our order top priority...which he did...it came 5 minutes later! But what an effort to get a fairly ordinary breakfast!

If you want an "interesting experience" then do go - if you want good food, good service, and attentive staff....then go somewhere else!!

Room Tip: Don't choose Mackenzie! Maybe worth paying extra for a Loch view room (none were available when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanBrown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsonachan hotels

England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Like other reviewers booked on spec at a travel show as the rate was good so not expecting too much especially after reading earlier reviews. We were pleasantly surprised however at the standard of the hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and could not fault the value for what we paid. Can't comment on the lodges but the hotel rooms have obviously been updated and were clean and comfie if a bit old fashioned in terms of furniture but this suited the traditional style. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed all our food at both breakfast and dinner. The staff were all friendly and helpful, some less experienced than others but all trying hard and very pleasant. A fun after dinner session in the bar sampling the wide selection of malts. Good luck to the new manager -I am sure it will go from strength to strength.

Room Tip: Worth having the lock view rooms -stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniseHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Like previous reviewers we had booked a three night stay at a local Flower Show which seemed to be very good value with the freedom to choose when to stay within an eighteen month period. We had paid the extra for an upgrade to a loch view room and can certainly not complain about the outlook, stunning views in both directions but I am afraid the room was very tired. We had no problem with the local water supply being peaty and drinking water supplied but did have considerable trouble trying to control the temperature in the shower it only did hot or very hot. Our double room in fact had two single beds together leaving very little room on either side with only one side having a bedside table with lamp excluding bedside reading for one of us. The staff were friendly especially Sergio and we found no complaint with service at breakfast with everything delivered on time and in the correct crockery. We had one evening meal on our day of arrival and we ate in the bar which was adequate but quite pricey for bar food Overall we had a good stay for the price paid but some serious money is required to bring this once grand hotel up to modern standards .

Room Tip: worth the extra for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaexIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

An excellent location spoilt by the service from the front of house staff. We booked via the Ideal Home Show in April 2013, and it accepted pets we thought it ideal.

On the first evening the bar tender (using the word in the loosest possible way) when taking a booking for evening meal, could not comprehend a local common clan name, deciding it was a made up.

Evening meal service was acceptable, but not exceptional. Then we turn to breakfast. Everytime we were encourage to order quickly as the place was likely to get busy soon - on the three days this comment came at 07:30; 08:30 and 09:15. All it meant was that the order was taken for three of four tables and after a considerable wait tea/coffee and toast arrived, and then after another longish wait cooked breakfast arrived.

The Head Waiter - who we saw on two of the days had all the charm and customer care of Basil Fawlty. Ordering the staff around when they were already do a good job. I saw him taking a pot of tea to another table and carrying it at an angle poured it out on the floor as he walked. On the second day the tea arrived in a coffee pot, the coffee in a tea pot and when we asked for milk it arrived in a tea pot.

The good point was Sergio who gave us service with a smile and could not do enough to help us - when he was given a chance!

The accommodation in a Lochside apartment met our requirements, however the instructions for the TV just did not work. The Freesat was not correctly setup, meaning we could not get BBC2 and the only BBC1 service we could get was BBC1 Wales and BBC1 South East. We commented on this and the response was that was all that they could be done.

There were speakers mounted on the wall of the living area and the head of the bed, which were not connected. The TV in the bedroom was unusable as it was only connected to an aerial and obviously Freeview in not available at Portsonachan.

There were some positives. The location is a great base with Oban and Inveraray easy to get to and some great views across Loch Awe.

Would we go again - unlikely. Would we recommend to a friend, possibly but only with the caveats detailed above.

Room Tip: Get a Lochside apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pencefn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We booked our weekend away some months back at a travel show and this was without looking on trip advisor, which is something we would normally always do. On checking reviews when we got home we were slightly worried but we had booked and were looking forward to a weekend away.
We paid a bit extra to stay in a loch side apartment as we wanted to be sure we had a view, for the view alone this is definitely worth it.
On arriving I was slightly disappointed with my first impression of the apartment, although the hotel looked lovely and we were checked in quickly. The apartments are quite old fashioned and could do with a make over, we thought we had gone well equipped but there was no cleaning equipment so had to go out and buy extra as we didn't want to eat out every night. The kitchen and bathroom could have been cleaner, but as mentioned earlier, if they were updated it would help. Some of the pots and pans were very old and wonky!
We had always known we would eat out on the Saturday night and had decided before our visit that it wouldn't be in the hotel, purely because of the reviews but after a long day out driving we couldn't face another drive to Dalmally so decided to give the restaurant at the hotel a go (note: you need to reserve your table on a piece of paper at the bar). We were really pleasantly surprised with our meal, both starters and mains and really glad we decided to give it a go, we eat out and travel a lot and it was lovely! Staff were also very pleasant and polite and couldn't do enough for you. As for one of the previous reviews saying the bar was dark and there was no lounge to have a drink (as well as the terrible food and staff), I'm not sure where they were staying but it doesn't sound like the same place! There is a small intimate bar and a larger lounge with real fire right next door (you can't miss it). The fire wasn't lit so one if the waiters brought wood and coal round and let my partner light it whilst we enjoyed a glass of wine.
I'm not in the habit of writing long reviews but I wanted to get my point across that hotel really is worth a visit - spectacular views, good food and great staff.
It would have had 5 stars throughout if the apartments and had been more modern and better equipped.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsonachan
0.3 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
372 reviews
8.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,453 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
681 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Taynuilt
The Taynuilt
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
311 reviews
18.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsonachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsonachan Hotel

Property: Portsonachan Hotel
Address: | South Loch Awe Side, Portsonachan PA33 1BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Portsonachan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portsonachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, with restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Portsonachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portsonachan Hotel And Lodges On Loch Awe
Portsonachan Hotel Dalmally
Portsonachan Resort Dalmally

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing