We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, staff extra helpful”
Review of Portsonachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portsonachan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location, staff extra helpful”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed in the hotel in April. Lovely, quiet location with superb views. After initial hiccup, Robert stepped in and was so helpful. We had a lovely room on second floor and enjoyed all meals. We were staying for three nights (Sat - Tues) and my car broke down on way back from Oban on the Sunday. Limped back to hotel and arranged for it to be towed to garage. It did mean we had a Monday in hotel but went for a couple of walks and Robert made sure we had lunch, so quite relaxing really. Robert then arranged for us to be taken to Oban on Tuesday morning by a member of staff. We found the staff really helpful and Robert is a star! He has a super dog too. We'll certainly return!

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more for view of Loch Awe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    504
    305
    168
    240
See reviews for
293
922
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

When you read some of the utter rubbish on here , it would certainly put you off running a hotel,
As clearly some people's expectations are clearly not possible to achieve .
Do people consider value for money, or expect 5 star luxury for nothing .
Believe me I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world ,and if you want modern contemporary ,do not book here ,

What you get is a lovely traditional loch side base , perfect for one of the most stunningly picturesque landscape s I have ever seen , drive through Glen Coe a must ,

Owners are lovely , staff excellent , breakfast excellent , only ate one evening due to other arrangements , fish and chips was delicious , soup my wife had was lovely .

The owners could spend a fortune and still not make everyone happy ,
Go with your eyes open ,appreciate the stunning views , explore the area , eat lovely sea food ,appreciate what you have paid ,and have fun , Greg smith

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank greg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights in May,we had no hot water for Two days the service at breakfast was terrible with at least half an hour wait to be served this was with only a couple of other people waiting so they were not rushed off their feet on one occasion I had a hair in it.If you need a shop it's a 15 mile drive away,the water as said by other reviews is brown you cannot drink it and we found it smelt.The only good thing going for it was the view over the loch wouldn't go back again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank mavis e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsonachan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights in the loch view apartments . Although the furnishing and equipment were basic they were perfectly adequate for our needs. The view from the apartment was breathtaking and as we were lucky to get lovely weather we spent a very pleasant part of each day relaxing on the small patio area overlooking the loch. We went to the hotel each morning for breakfast - a very short walk from the apartment. The staff were friendly and efficient , and breakfast was served hot and freshly cooked to order within a short space of time. All in all, considering the reasonable price we paid for our break, we were very happy with every aspect of the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I booked a lodge at portsonachan for the weekend of the 12/13 may 2014 for 5 adults.

When we arrived it was apparent from the moment we arrived at the lodge that the standard was well below that of what was advertised, the lodge was in a state od disrepair and not very clean, there was a musty smell

the furniture was in a sorry state most of it was marked or was broken, the fridge had masking tape inside to separate the compartments , the flooring was ripped in various places and was a trip hazard for the occupants.

I spoke to the manager who had only been there for 3 weeks, he offered us a free drink which we declined, he said he would speak to the owners and get back to us, it has been 2 weeks now and I have hears nothing despite calling the manager on 2 separate occasions, I also left my contact details and requested a full refund.

We decided after only 3 hours that we did not want to stay in the lodge and drove home, this trip was a complete waste of my time not to mention my fuel, it is apparent that the owner of these lodges does not care about his customers and is only interested in getting your money.

I will never visit these lodges again and would advise anyone to reconsider before the book in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The location is stunning and to have meals overlooking Loch Awe is worth every penny paid. We stayed in a room overlooking the loch and it is a must. The room was large and comfortable with beautiful soft furnishings. We didn't have a problem with the peaty water as the hotel supplied drinking water in our room daily. We had a both with a hand held shower and would prefer a proper shower, but we managed.

The breakfast selection was extensive and we really appreciated the fresh fruit salad, homemade yoghurt and quality muesli available. The evening meals were varied, well cooked and reasonable. We found the staff to be courteous, helpful and efficient at all times.

We enjoyed using this hotel as a base to discover the area, somewhere we have not been before. Yes, it takes time to get to places, but that is what to expect, the scenery is just amazing. We would gladly go back to this hotel again, it is brilliant value for money. We paid more for bed and breakfast to and from Scotland and they were both of a good standard, but the breakfasts were not as comprehensive or as good at Portsonachan and they most certainly did not have a view to compare with Loch Awe!

Room Tip: We stayed in McCauley with a Loch View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel is about 8 minutes drive down a nearly single track road in a fairly isolated situation on the banks of Loch Awe. The views from the dining room and extensive patio area outside were absolutely stunning - over the Loch to the hills behind. That's the good bit!

We went with another couple and booked two twin rooms for 3 nights. One was a reasonable size but the other -Mackenzie - was really quite small and was over the kitchen area so a lot of noise from about 7am.
Mackenzie also smelt fusty and the carpet had obviously not been cleaned properly with hairs here and there and generally grubby. The bedroom was made up each day but the bathroom wasn't touched and the towels were not replaced so in the evening we came back to damp towels(only one small radiator in the bedroom).We got replacements from reception but again the next day no-one had been in the bathroom and the towels were still in a heap on the floor where we had left them!
Then came the dining room....generally well appointed and with those fantastic views over Loch Awe. The evening food was quite good and the Sauvignon and Malbec wines were very good...but the breakfasts were poor and the service was even worse.
The second morning 3 breakfasts arrived...so we started as we expected the fourth breakfast to arrive shortly. Well, we finished our breakfasts after repeatedly asking different staff members to find out where the missing meal was....we were told "it's coming". After 25minutes it still hadn't come and the staff were avoiding eye contact(at this stage it was exactly an hour since we sat down). So we gave up and left to go out for the day...we later found out from other guests who had been watching the episode that it NEVER came!!
Now everyone and every enterprise can occasionally make mistakes but having realised that one meal was missing "they" should have put that order at the top of the Chef's list...we believe it just went to the bottom of his list...complete lack of organisation and direction...."Fawlty Towers" comes to mind!
We were told by the Manager that everything would be perfect for the next day, our last morning (and he gave us a bottle of wine by way of compensation for the poor service...or rather complete lack of service!)....the next morning no-one had come to take our order after 30 minutes...it was eventually taken and then another 15minutes went by(so much for things being "perfect")...we caught the eye of the Head waiter (who had been on holiday) and explained what had happened the previous day...he said he would give our order top priority...which he did...it came 5 minutes later! But what an effort to get a fairly ordinary breakfast!

If you want an "interesting experience" then do go - if you want good food, good service, and attentive staff....then go somewhere else!!

Room Tip: Don't choose Mackenzie! Maybe worth paying extra for a Loch view room (none were available when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanBrown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsonachan
0.3 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
355 reviews
8.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,405 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
6.9 mi away
The Taynuilt
The Taynuilt
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsonachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsonachan Hotel

Property: Portsonachan Hotel
Address: | South Loch Awe Side, Portsonachan PA33 1BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Portsonachan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portsonachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, with restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portsonachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portsonachan Hotel And Lodges On Loch Awe
Portsonachan Hotel Dalmally
Portsonachan Resort Dalmally

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing