We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy holiday”
Review of Portsonachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portsonachan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy holiday”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Not ultra modern but very comfortable,excellent breakfast and evening meal,staff pleasant,very quiet location beside Loch Awe,worth the the long drive down a single track road.we both enjoyed our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    504
    305
    169
    240
See reviews for
293
924
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here as it was advertised as being dog friendly, When we checked in we were told about the brown water and that some would be brought every day, this was not the case! When we went into our accommodation we found that it hadn't been cleaned after the last guests had left. It was filthy! After being told that we could take our elderly dogs anywhere in the hotel apart from the restaurant, we were shoved in a corner of the bar for all our meals and forgotten about. The staff were very friendly if not very well trained. At every meal we were missing something. Back in the accommodation, there was a waterfall right outside our bedroom window meaning we had very little sleep and there was no housekeeping in the 5 days that we stayed. On the plus side though there was a lovely pub down the road that welcomed us and our dogs. We would definitely not return.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsonachan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Having read some negative reviews I was in two minds about coming here but I can assure you now that they are all lies. The view was stunning, staff friendly and the food couldn't have been better. I went at new year and what an occasion. It had at least half an hour of stunning fireworks over the glassy loch and champagne and a disco night. The champagne was free. I have since been back 4 times and loved every one of those holidays. It is only a short drive from Inveraray too! Fantastic place that I would definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Having read some very negative reviews we wondered what to expect at this country hotel and were pleasantly surprised to find it was not half as bad as some reviews lead us to believe. The staff were welcoming and although few were 'locals' they all spoke excellent English. We were made welcome and the 'brown water' clearly explained. (As we had stopped for lunch at Loch Fyne on the way we had already come across this phenomena at a very reputable restaurant and I believe it is common in that area.) We made use of the free bottled water was provided in all rooms.The range of food on offer was quite extensive for a small hotel and everything we ate was very tasty at reasonable prices. Our room was clean and comfortable. I understand some refurbishment is taking place and there is certainly room for improvement but at the price we paid we felt it was reasonable value and much better than expected. The stunning views make up for the small shortfalls.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayzelknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongue, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

When we go away, we don't go out of our way to complain or find fault. What's the point when you're away to relax? For our three-night stay in Portsonachan, I made an exception.
Check-in was quite painless. We were told about the brown, peaty water being unsafe to drink and that there would be fresh water every day. When we got to our room, it seemed to be adequate for our stay, although we were given a double room instead of the twin that we had booked, and there was no bottled water.
We went for dinner on the first night. I was served a drink in a glass that still had the last person's lipstick on. I had been told that there were vegetarian choices on the menu. There were two starters, both containing cheese and one main, also containing cheese. Well, it tasted like a packet cheese sauce so I'm not sure just how much cheese was in it! Needless to say, we didn't eat there again in the evening.
Breakfast was adequate, but the service was very slow. The waiters were working hard but it all seemed very disorganized.
When we returned to our room in the evening, there had been no housekeeping done. Nobody had even been in the room. The next morning we had run very low on toilet paper so went to ask that some was put into our room. We were assured that it would be and that this should be done every day as a matter of course. On returning that evening the room was still untouched and there was no loo roll! Now I was quite annoyed and so went to reception to complain. We were given two rolls of loo roll and somebody offered to come and clean the room. We declined as we had been out walking and wanted a bath and to settle down for the night.
This hotel is in a fantastic location with so much potential. Bring in Alex Polizzi, the Hotel Inspector , before the place is run into the ground.

Would I return - no.
Would I recommend it to anybody else - no.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda_and_Bill_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Like so many others we bought a voucher at Sandringham craft fair and thought that at that price it would be a little rough around the edges but couldn't be that bad. How wrong we were. The first thing I noticed going to our room was the filthy unvacumed stair carpet. Going into the room (which was very small) we were hit by the smell of damp. The carpet was stained and dirty and the paper was peeling off the ceiling. When I sat on the bed I found I was sitting on the base of the bed. What springs there were in the mattress dug into us so much that we ended up going to buy two duvets the next day to try and make it more comfortable. The bathroom needed an extensive re-vamp. The bath had a huge crack in the bottom so goodness knows where the water went even if you did want to use it. There was just a shower hose attached to the bath taps that was nowhere long enough for you to stand and shower with. The bath panel was split and the shelf over the sink was just hanging on at a precarious angle. The laminate flooring was also starting to pop up.The dining room/conservatory had dead fly's everywhere, mould around the window frames and generally needed a thorough re-vamp. The table cloths were dirty and had dog hairs on them and the cutlery needed a proper clean. We did eat there, as we were too tired to drive anywhere else,and the food was good. Breakfast was also good and the foreign waiters were very polite unlike the English waiter who guite frankly needed a kick up the backside as he clearly couldn't be bothered with anything. The location of the hotel is great if you just want to get away from it all but is a good 45 minute drive from Oban. We left after two nights. Frankly you would get much better value and a much better experience staying in one of the wonderful b&b's in Oban. So to sum up, we would not stay here again. It wasn't the bargain we thought it was.

Room Tip: I suspect no good rooms so just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead - UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The reviews that say that this place is tired & needs refurb are spot on! The staff are friendly on the whole but the entire hotel needs a good scrub & complete refurbishment! Ok, it's cheap but we didn't expect sticky floors, brown water, cobwebs in the rooms & beds completely tilted! The restaurant is expensive (in my opinion) & the service is very hit & miss but the staff do try to be cheerful.
We would have paid more to stay in a better place, it's a shame because the views are tremendous ....

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank FPLOCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsonachan
0.3 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
357 reviews
8.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,406 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
6.9 mi away
The Taynuilt
The Taynuilt
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsonachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsonachan Hotel

Property: Portsonachan Hotel
Address: | South Loch Awe Side, Portsonachan PA33 1BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Portsonachan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portsonachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, with restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portsonachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portsonachan Hotel And Lodges On Loch Awe
Portsonachan Hotel Dalmally
Portsonachan Resort Dalmally

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing