We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$252
US$244
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burythorpe House(Burythorpe)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
US$168
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$101
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel(Huby)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$193
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn York North Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$127
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
81
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowardian hillsself cateringlovely hostsunderfloor heatingcompotebeautiful countrysidenorth yorkshiretwo nightslittle touchesthe ground floorperfect locationkimaccommodationcottage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Arrived here for a little getaway and couldn't be more perfect

We were greeted by really friendly and polite owners who made us feel very welcome.

Place is absolutely fantastic with comfortable bed and amenities, the heated floor is so nice to walk onto on cold mornings. Very close to york town centre and lots of places to visit.

Thanks to Richard, Kim and Ruby the dog for making it possible :)

Will definitely be back again soon

Love

Steve & Melissa xx

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank predatorvtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardABurn, Owner at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much, we are really grateful for your kind comments and for taking the time to make them. We do hope that people enjoy the "Getaway" from it all feeling of being a bit off the beaten (and admittedly muddy) track and we really hope you find your way back here again.
Very best wishes Richard, Kim & Ruby the pup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a beautiful, clean room with everything in it,including waterbottles!The room was warm and had a cosy feel to it.You must try their homemade plum jam on toast.They were the most welcoming hosts and I will defiantly come back and with my family :)

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Becky20061990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardABurn, Owner at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for the lovely and very kind review. Kim is delighted that you liked the hot water bottles (I am not a fan, so I guess I have lost that debate) and of course the home made plum jam (I am a big fan of that too!).
We look forward to seeing you again soon and perhaps in warmer times when hot water bottles are not required.
All the best, Richard & Kim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a three night stay at the Brush and Boot and would have no hesitation recommending it to friends. We stayed in the double room downstairs in the annex which had a large bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and lounge area/art studio. Nice decor and impeccably clean. Lots of room to spread out in the evening and watch TV if you so wish. The underfloor heating was much appreciated because of the chilly weather this weekend. If you like peace and quiet in an idyllic setting this is the place for you and only a short drive to the Park and Ride to take you into York. Richard was very welcoming and helpful with information on where to eat and places to visit. Would definitely love to return when the weather is better.

Room Tip: We visited a lot of places and did a lot of walking and it was nice to get back to the annex and relax in the living area and watch TV, much better than just having a bedroom to relax in. Also we had food and drinks in the fridge so handy for a late night supper.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardABurn, Owner at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay so much with us despite the weather. Not much I can do about that one, but I will try and have a word for you to see if we can get a bit more sunshine sorted for the next visit and you can maybe bring along your flip flops rather than your wellies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just had the most relaxing and romantic weekend with my boyfriend in the Brush Suite. The Suite (definitely worth the few extra pounds) was so cosy. It was very tastefully decorated and fitted with all the essentials (and more!). Richard and Kim were such kind and welcoming hosts. Breakfast was delicious and provided enough sustenance for the entire day. We especially enjoyed watching the birds eat their breakfast in the garden at the same time as us! The location was perfect for visiting the city centre but also far enough that we could truly relax - the surroundings were stunningly beautiful. We will definitely be returning in the Summer!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svanprehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I booked the brush and boot for an art session from 11-4 that day. Kim was very encouraging, friendly and accommodating. The whole session was booked as a surprise for my friend's birthday and Brush and Boot did everything they could to make sure it was a special day. I would definitely stay or visit there for an art session again! Its very peaceful and quaint.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hennax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews