We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burythorpe House(Burythorpe)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel(Huby)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
81
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowardian hillsself cateringlovely hostsunderfloor heatingcompotebeautiful countrysidenorth yorkshiretwo nightslittle touchesthe ground floorperfect locationkimaccommodationcottage
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have just returned from three, extremely relaxing days at the Brush and Boot. The accommodation itself is of an excellent standard, though even better than this is the wonderful reception and friendliness of the hosts, Richard and Kim. They could not have been more helpful and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable.
If you are walkers, this is an ideal place to go. There are 'walk from the door' paths in numerous directions, meaning your car can stayed parked. If not walkers, it is a beautiful location and ideally situated for the wealth of local attractions that surround it.
Rarely do we go back somewhere in a hurry as we like to explore new places, but we will certainly head back to the B&B soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a fabulous weekend break at the wonderful Boot and Brush, with a warm and a nothing too much trouble welcome from the lovely hosts. Our dog Max had a fantastic time with Ruby and we enjoyed a never to be forgotten walk out across the fields/woods to Castle Howard, with international rescue in the shape of Richard to collect us from a nearby pub. The bed was so comfortable and breakfast was devine. Can't recommend enough....Lyn and Paul (and Max)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesBarney55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for four nights in th self catering apartment and loved it. Richard and Kim made us very welcome and were happy to chat when required. The b&b is very well located for access to York and other places in Yorkshire. You must have a car and it pays to follow Richard's instructions on how to find it. The apartment is spacious and has all you need for food preparation. The separate bedroom and bathroom were great. The underfloor heating worked well too. K&R did some washing for us for a small fee. We would definitely stay there again if the opportunity arose.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GreyNomad-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardABurn, Owner at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Your generous and kind comments are greatly appreciated by both of us. We really enjoyed your stay with us and I am always very happy to point out places to visit and how to get there. As you know, I do love a map! Be great to see you again and hopefully the weather may be a little warmer next time. All the very best, Richard & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We came for a short weekend and were pleasantly surprised by the owners who greeted us; wonderful people who couldn't do enough for us. The house itself is beautiful with underfloor heating, perfect for when you get up in the morning. The beds were very comfortable, in fact I considered staying there all day rather than spending the day in York. If the b&b wasn't so close to the town centre I probably would have!

Thank you very much Richard and Kim, our stay was absolutely perfect.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank rebeccadrake93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardABurn, Owner at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your extremely lovely review. Kim & I are so pleased that you had such a pleasant stay with us and it really helps us to get such great feedback. As you know, unlike many B&B's you have your own independence and can come and go as you please so you would have been more than welcome to have stayed here all day and enjoyed the peace and quiet from the comfort of your bed. Maybe next time? Thanks again. Richard & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Arrived here for a little getaway and couldn't be more perfect

We were greeted by really friendly and polite owners who made us feel very welcome.

Place is absolutely fantastic with comfortable bed and amenities, the heated floor is so nice to walk onto on cold mornings. Very close to york town centre and lots of places to visit.

Thanks to Richard, Kim and Ruby the dog for making it possible :)

Will definitely be back again soon

Love

Steve & Melissa xx

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank predatorvtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardABurn, Owner at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much, we are really grateful for your kind comments and for taking the time to make them. We do hope that people enjoy the "Getaway" from it all feeling of being a bit off the beaten (and admittedly muddy) track and we really hope you find your way back here again.
Very best wishes Richard, Kim & Ruby the pup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews