We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Stittenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Anniversary Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I visited this delightful B & B on the 17th May 2014 for 2 nights, both the two advertised rooms in a separate Annex were fully booked up so we were offered the cottage house for our stay.

We arrived late on in the evening as we had spent the day in York seeing the sights & sounds of what York had to offer plus planning what we would do over the few days we had available in York, as there is SOOOO much to do and even in the 3 days we did have we found that there was still lots of places we missed.

On arrival Richard & Kim made us feel very welcomed and gave us a tour around the cottage and rooms that we were staying in which we loved the room and bathroom looked both AMAZING! The view from both the bathroom & bedroom out onto the Yorkshire Dales especially in the morning are STUNNING and have to say the best views from any of the rooms.
After a long journey we decided to use the amazing deep roll top bath, which was our ONLY problem of our whole stay was that after trying to fill the bath with hot water within 5-10 min's became lukewarm and we were unable to take advantage of this amazing looking bath, I proceed to have a shower which must have been on the same water supply and was also lukewarm at this stage. We proceeded to inform Richard about the issue and they were VERY apologetic about the whole situation and even offered us a bottle of wine for the inconvenience due to a boiler requiring turning on, and power outage earlier in the week.

Next morning hot water seemed perfect and VERY hot lol, the power shower... wooow was a POWER shower (VERY powerful and NICE!!!), we went to breakfast where a little gift was awaiting us from Richard & Kim to apologise regarding the hot water which was soooo kind of them (Which they didn't have to do), Breakfast was VERY tasty and both Richard & Kim were warm and welcoming again giving us lots of advise and ideas for the day plus the view into there back garden was stunning, watching woodpeckers and lots of birds animals around about's.

The surrounding area was amazing and I think this was also due to the AMAZING weather we had while we were there. It was a shame we never got to use the bath again as we didn't want to risk running the hot water out again just in-case.

For the one tiny incident, the rest of our stay was fantastic and they were very kind and understanding, would I recommend this place to anyone else and would we come back again YES YES YES!!! We loved the place and I am MORE than sure if we visited again everything will be 100%

Thank you sooo much again

Andy & Vicky

Room Tip: We would recommend the cottage if possible only because of the views from the main cottage our STUNN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asells355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardABurn, Owner at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We loved having you here with us for your anniversary and are very grateful for your extremely kind comments. Its a big lift for Kim and I when our guests like what we have to offer here as much as you guys did. Come back soon! All the very best. R&K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We returned for our second weekday stay at the lovely Brush and Boot, this time booking the entire annexe for two nights with my boyfriend and his mum. We had an amazingly relaxing York break. As anticipated, the breakfast was exceptional, the beds were unbelievably comfortable, and we even had the chance to use the fully equipped, beautiful kitchen to make ourselves dinner. Richard and Kim are the most delightful hosts, and they are always available to provide helpful tips on what to do and where to dine in the area. Believe all the amazing reviews. Two nights never feels like long enough at the Brush and Boot, and we can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svanprehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardABurn, Owner at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you very much for another lovely review and for coming back to stay with us again. It is incredibly encouraging for Kim and I to know how much you enjoy staying with us and the pleasure you get from the tranquil surroundings. Do please came back next time you feel the need to "re charge" the batteries again. Very best wishes R&K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Brush and Boot and had a lovely time. Richard and Kim are very hospitable, even bringing us milk late in the evening when we had run out. Richard recommended some lovely walks and even lent us maps. The breakfast is really lovely and Kim's plum jam is lovely! We stayed in Boot which is a lovely room, really nice bathroom and a huge bed. The bathroom is really nice too, we recommend this room!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This little gem of a bed and breakfast has everything! Amazing location, 5 ☆ accommodation with top notch en suite (the best shower ever!) contemporary cottage style, locally sourced full English breakfast, very welcoming couple, surrounded by stunning views and all this 20 minutes from city centre! They also have a small self catering holiday home separate from the main house that doubles as an art studio as the host is an artist so if this is your thing then you're all set. You won't be disappointed unless it's fully booked!
Thanks for a great weekend, we'll be back :-)
PS. Castle Howard 5 mins away too!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HRS2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have just returned from three, extremely relaxing days at the Brush and Boot. The accommodation itself is of an excellent standard, though even better than this is the wonderful reception and friendliness of the hosts, Richard and Kim. They could not have been more helpful and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable.
If you are walkers, this is an ideal place to go. There are 'walk from the door' paths in numerous directions, meaning your car can stayed parked. If not walkers, it is a beautiful location and ideally situated for the wealth of local attractions that surround it.
Rarely do we go back somewhere in a hurry as we like to explore new places, but we will certainly head back to the B&B soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a fabulous weekend break at the wonderful Boot and Brush, with a warm and a nothing too much trouble welcome from the lovely hosts. Our dog Max had a fantastic time with Ruby and we enjoyed a never to be forgotten walk out across the fields/woods to Castle Howard, with international rescue in the shape of Richard to collect us from a nearby pub. The bed was so comfortable and breakfast was devine. Can't recommend enough....Lyn and Paul (and Max)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesBarney55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for four nights in th self catering apartment and loved it. Richard and Kim made us very welcome and were happy to chat when required. The b&b is very well located for access to York and other places in Yorkshire. You must have a car and it pays to follow Richard's instructions on how to find it. The apartment is spacious and has all you need for food preparation. The separate bedroom and bathroom were great. The underfloor heating worked well too. K&R did some washing for us for a small fee. We would definitely stay there again if the opportunity arose.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyNomad-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardABurn, Owner at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Your generous and kind comments are greatly appreciated by both of us. We really enjoyed your stay with us and I am always very happy to point out places to visit and how to get there. As you know, I do love a map! Be great to see you again and hopefully the weather may be a little warmer next time. All the very best, Richard & Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stittenham
7.0 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
7.2 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Woodend Cottages High Stittenham, Stittenham YO60 7TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stittenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stittenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, former Woodsman's, country cottage, luxury retreat set within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty just 25 minutes drive to York and 3 miles from Castle Howard (famous as location of Brideshead Revisited) and Richard III's Sheriff Hutton Castle. Beautiful views, great walks, abundant wildlife, peace and tranquility mean you can "get away from it all" and still enjoy all York has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing