We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Springfield Guest House
Ranked #11 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If I had visited here looking for something cheap and cheerful, I would be writing about this guest house's central location and spacious bedrooms.
Visiting it on a walking holiday, my impressions were very different.
Each day, our luggage was moved on for us to await our arrival. When we arrived here we were alarmed to find our four suitcases unsecured and unguarded, with no member of staff on the premises for several hours. We had booked twin rooms, which meant two of us got comfy double beds, and two got good-sized fold-out beds - not ideal after a day's walking. We had been told there would be baths - one room had no bath, the other had a bath but no plug. When we raised this issue, we were told others had complained about this before us - but we didn't get a plug.
As we left the next morning, we heard other guests being told they couldn't have anything to eat as breakfast was over. They reasonably asked how they could have known this with no member of staff on the premises to greet them when they arrived?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    32
    26
    9
    13
See reviews for
30
88
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Booked this at late availability but was still expecting a good standard guest house.
Danielle wasnt there when we arrived (as mentioned on many other reviews)
First impressions were not great, steamed up windows, musty smell, dust & cobwebs. The hospitality tray was very average and the 'generous' toiletries were hand wash and a box of tissues!! Sky tv is actually free view.
Bed not comfortable and the saniflo system noisy and irritating. Breakfast was like a scene from fawlty towers with lost orders.
The staff that we did meet in the morning were very friendly though.
In conclusion, overpriced for what is advertised and certainly not 4 star but served a purpose.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BP2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent 4 nights here - Danielle and the rest of the staff were very friendly and welcoming and full of useful advice about where to go.
The toilet was rather noisy as previously mentioned and we needed to fiddle with the cistern to make sure it filled up properly after it stopped on one occasion. otherwise all good and the Breakfasts were excellent - the bacon and black pudding especially great

Room Tip: Room 2 was very convenient - on the ground floor - but consequently a little noisy in the early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eladora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Not really bothered Danielle is not around much, when she is she is very friendly and a great host. Room is nothing special, bed not the comfiest and the flat screen TV made me howl with laughter it has to be about 12 inch and laid on the bed I would recommend binoculars if you need to read the drop down SKY menu ! The breakfast is very good, I would recommend the bacon it is excellent. The bathroom is tired and to be honest smells stale and the noise from the saniflow toilet is just a bit annoying. On the whole you get what you pay for its not the Ritz but it is clean and based in a much better setting than the Ritz what a lovely village.

Room Tip: Downstairs should be avoided noise from the road in all front facing rooms is quite bad especially w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

On arrival owner not there to meet and greet, followed instructions left on back of door and was directed to our room over the telephone. As we were near the entrance we had to help other guests on arrival and show them what to do. On reading other trip reports this appears to be the norm. Was OK but it would have been nice to find out what time breakfast was served etc.

Room was nice but the bathroom absolutely awful - a macerate sewerage system which if in working order should be fine - this was not. We did not flush during the evening for the sake of other guests. At 6.00am we spent 30 minutes fiddling with the cistern as it did not fill properly thus causing the macerate to go off every 30 seconds. We were unable to use the shower due to the jack hammer noise, even brushing your teeth set it off. Again we did read about this in a previous trip report but just hoped we did not get this room. We only stayed one night so a missed shower was not to bad.

A great pity as the room, location and parking were great. Not to mention a fabulous breakfast with locally sourced produce and the best bacon we have had in many years. 12 out of 10 !

Room Tip: Not room 2, only because of bathroom waste system, otherwise fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0ndie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smethwick
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is a hidden gem with everything anyone could need such as great hosts, great rooms, great breakfast, superb placement close to everything you need etc etc. Danielle and Gavin really know how to make you feel at home and offered great advice on places to go. Close to Alnwick and Amble you are within 20 - 30 mins driving of some stunning scenes and great history. Rothbury is a wonderful place to live so I'm having an extra go on the lottery tonight to retire early and live there. Thanks for a lovely stay ... superb guest house.

Room Tip: Room 5 is quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and i along with a friend stayed here for just one night and i must say i wish we had stayed for longer as it is a really lovely place. The room was clean,comfortable & had all that you needed. The breakfast was also good. We hope to stay here again sometime.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Guest House

Property: Springfield Guest House
Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE6 5SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Springfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield Guest House is a three story Victorian townhouse. We have six large en suite rooms. Bed and breakfast starts at a very reasonable price. We have double, twin and family rooms which can sleep up to five persons. We are located right in the centre of beautiful Rothbury, an ideal base to visit the whole of Northumberland. We have off street parking and cycle storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Springfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Guest House Hotel Rothbury
Springfield Guest House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing