We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well-kept, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Springfield Guest House
Ranked #10 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Had a three night break in Rothbury with Mum. Booked twin room, got a family room. My single bed was a little lumpy, but I slept soundly, that is until the staff arrived to cook breakfast and the doors started banging.
The room was clean, the bathroom didn't sound outside, though the saniflo was noisy, not helped by a faulty door catch, but of short duration.
Breakfast was plentiful, a lot of choice, and the best scrambled eggs we've had in years.Parked right outside, useful in the poor weather.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelswithMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

I thought the room was beautifully decorated and spacious. The bath room and shower were lovely and in all I was really comfortable.

The breakfast was extremely generous I would definitely stay here again.

Being pet friendly was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlcreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very friendly, comfortable and ideally situated for both Cragside and the pub! the TV in the room was a bit small, but did not detract from a lovely stay. Good choice at breakfast. Parking is right outside and very convenient. Rothbury makes a good base to explore the local area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

i cant believe i was staying in the same place as the last reviewer come on were you having a bad day i dont have any complaints at all we had a lovely large ensuite room spotless to a fault , the breakfast was fantastic Gavin and Danni were very hands on and Mary the waitress the best , value for money at £65.00 couldnt ask for more will be back again Rothbury is a lovely place to visit take my word for it you have no worry booking here

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here with my husband a few weeks ago. Was greeted by Danni who was very helpful on local attractions and places to go. Room was was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was nice with plenty choice. Rothbury is a lovely place and will definitely return to the Springfield guesthouse.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrstrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The bed and breakfast is in the center of Rothbury next door but one to the Queens Head pub where you can get good pub food. The Springfield is clean and tidy and we had a very nice very large room. The breakfast is cooked individually for you and sets you up for a days exploring. Location of Rothbury is ideal for exploring the moors, Cragside and the sea side.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here with my wife for 2 nights recently. We were greeted by Mary, who was helpful but perhaps best described as an elderly retainer. There was no sign of the mysterious Diane. We had Room 3 on the first floor. Spacious but a little dark. Double bed was too soft, the TV didn't work until I fiddled with connections, the en-suite was so small that an overweight person would not be able to use it and the 'generous toiletries' turned out to be one bottle each of Boots shampoo and handwash. Gents beware - there is no shaver socket!

Good freshly cooked breakfast. On the whole somewhat over-priced!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKVocalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#4 of 11 in Rothbury
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 11 in Rothbury
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Rothbury
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 11 in Rothbury
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Haven
The Haven
#7 of 11 in Rothbury
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Guest House

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE6 5SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: £53 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Springfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield Guest House is a three story Victorian townhouse. We have six large en suite rooms. Bed and breakfast starts at a very reasonable price. We have double, twin and family rooms which can sleep up to five persons. We are located right in the centre of beautiful Rothbury, an ideal base to visit the whole of Northumberland. We have off street parking and cycle storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Springfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Guest House Hotel Rothbury
Springfield Guest House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing