We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springfield Guest House
Ranked #11 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here recently just for the weekend. Upon arriving there is no reception. There is a corner table with a phone + a phone number with instructions to call the owner if required. Rang the number + got a voicemail so stood in hallway for a while. Eventually found another phone number, rang that + owner said room was ready + she would knock when she returned, which she didn't. Room was beautiful, featured stone wall, en suite, very spacious + tastefully decorated, bit cold as central heating on time + only comes on between 4pm-11am, so through day u need to wear extra layers + drink lots of hot drinks. Pillows were awful + lumpy, room was quite dusty. Only had 3 teabags in tray and virtually no toilet roll so the following day went to look for someone for replenishments. There was no one around. When it was breakfast time it was a pleasant but small dining area, lots of choice + the service was wonderful. Mary made sure everyone was well looked after + topped up with hot drinks. I asked for extra supples + was told it wouldn't be a problem. Later that afternoon, two extra pillows + another hospitality tray was left outside room. Overall, was pleasant enough, bit too cold for me through day, and needed a dust + extra supplies but perfect location for walking + taking in the scenery.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    30
    25
    8
    13
See reviews for
30
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I'd like to address previous comments about Danni & Gavin not bn around on arrival. Like many Guest Houses there are 2 signs & a phone clearly giving instructions on getting hold of them, so open the door, walk in & read. The rooms are great value considering what I paid. If I had paid more then maybe I would expect more, however, I'm sure if I'd have asked for anything it would be no trouble at all. With that said I do think a more thorough cleaning regime & quick check to see if bins need emptying, milk replenishing, bed turn down service should be offered.
It is centrally located to access most of Northumberland & it's POI. Rothbury is a lovely friendly village with the locals saying Hello's & passing time with you. It has 3 pubs, village shops & a co-op. The scenery around is amazing & recommend just taking a walk around.
Every morning I had a lovely breakfast & again I'm sure if you wanted something & asked it wouldn't be too much trouble for them. They even state you can bring a takeaway & use their facilities. You do have 2 chairs & table in ur room with a mini fridge, coffee & tea making facilities & complimentary biscuits. A TV with added freeview channels & all the usual wardrobe, drawers, vanity table & a double bed. The mattress was a little soft, soon adjusted though. I brought my dog & it was no bother or trouble at all & made to feel welcome with her. It is always hard & nerve wrecking taking your dog on hols as you never now how you will be received. I had a late night at the observatory & Danni said I could have left her with them checking on her. Now that is a lovely gesture.
All in all great value & wouldn't hesitate in stopping again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J9YMXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Springfield is a beautiful big house with a great central location within Rothbury's main street. Our room was huge with a lovely sitting area as well as all the essentials like a comfortable bed and plenty of storage. The room had an exposed stone wall which was a lovely feature and made the room feel cosy regardless of its very generous size. We both had a full English breakfast both mornings and it was gorgeous and cooked to perfection, the bacon and sausage were local produce and you could really taste the difference from supermarket. Finally the owners were very welcoming warm people, who offered lots of information about the area suggesting places to eat and places to visit during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helendavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Run by a friendly young couple, who served up one of the tastiest breakfasts I've had. But, although the rooms are spacious, some of the amenities need updating and the appearance of the room bore no resemblance to the picture on the website.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJS276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Mixed review.

The good - we booked last minute then got lost. Danielle was understanding about our lateness and helpful in directing us. Breakfast waitress was very friendly and there was a good choice with what we had being well done. Rothbury proved to be a lovely wee village in a nice area, handy for visiting this part of Northumberland, Hadrian's Wall etc.Peace and quiet - slept well.

The quibbles - we booked a "superior" double I believe it was. And according to the site we booked through, we got a 51% discount. At the discounted price, I would still have had a few quibbles but would have thought it OK. Had we been paying £100 a night I would have been quite unhappy. No toiletries. Not a single one. Very limited tea and coffee, 3 small cartons of milk and some tiny biscuits. That's just a wee bit mean at the reduced price but at full price? No wall mirror to dry hair just a wee one on a stand. Tiny TV. Noisy sanitation unit. Nothing set out to help yourself to at breakfast in the way of juice/cereal. Couldn't really see why this was meant to be superior/deluxe.

It was OK. ish. We stay in B+Bs quite regularly and this just doesn't come up to what others provide for a price at less than the full rate for this one.

Room Tip: Get the discounted rate for any kind of value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meg_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Had my first review of this place removed as I had accidently rated an overnight stay.
So will write again and quickly :
First impressions : outside of the place dirty, all windows steamed up, paint from the windows peeling off, windows looked rotten. Upon entering the building no-one there to greet us. Had to call the owner, other people in same situation doing the same thing - seems this is a regular occurence according to other reviews on here.
Room : smelled mouldy and damp, windows all steamed up with water running down the inside, carpet dirty, bathroom small and not very clean, wallpaper peeling from the walls in one corner due to damp and mould, "personal hairs" on the bed, blood on the heardboard - need I go on ?
I would definitely not stay here again and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We wanted a few day break at short notice and not knowing the area used reviews to chose. When we arrived there wasn't anyone around, but there was a number to call and they arrived soon after. We had booked a deluxe room at cut price, but I doubt the room we had was deluxe, and the owner did say she had out us Arthur's e back of the house so traffic didn't disturb the dog. The room was pleasant enough and clean, the shower room was very compact and the saniflow was loud and being above the kitchen got noisy early. This didn't really bother us as we wanted to make the most of our stay with long walks. The breakfasts were very nice, and made as requested. Rothbury itself is a pretty and friendly place, and most of the pubs are dog friendly which is nice. If we were down that way again, we would stay there again, and I would recommend it as a good friendly clean stay. One potential problem we found, on our last night there were other dogs staying, and the small ones were rather yappy, so possibly not the place to stay if you are not dog tolerant!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter until breakfast is prepared, but for early risers this won't be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reecesnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Guest House

Property: Springfield Guest House
Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Springfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield Guest House is a three story Victorian townhouse. We have six large en suite rooms. Bed and breakfast starts at a very reasonable price. We have double, twin and family rooms which can sleep up to five persons. We are located right in the centre of beautiful Rothbury, an ideal base to visit the whole of Northumberland. We have off street parking and cycle storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Springfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Guest House Hotel Rothbury
Springfield Guest House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing