We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the photos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Springfield Guest House
Ranked #10 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We would never stay here again. We didn't get the room we booked but got put in a rather tatty room with no feature stone wall and only a small bathroom with a not very clean looking shower and no bath as advertised. The owners could only be contacted by phone and never turned up when they said they would. The Wifi didn't work . The room in general wasn't as clean as it should have been. In the photos on the internet the rooms look totally different to the room we were given. R&L

Room Tip: Request to see the room before you commit to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Can not fault this lovely family b&b. A lovely old building with a beautiful parquet entrance. Our accommodation was a superior room and was
spotless. Breakfast was delicious and piping hot with with plenty tea and toast. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we were made to feel very welcome and at home. We will certainly stay here again and will recommend to all our friends, thank you so much for a very pleasant and relaxing break.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This place is best avoided. Check out the pictures.

The owner was only available by phone.

The whole place looks run down, as announced by the dirty entrance and staircase.

The shower room was damp with mould on the walls and ceiling. See pictures. Other guests and rooms appear to have similar problems.

We left and went home, without staying. A wasted 10 hours round trip.

Rang owner to complain, no answer or reply to e-mail. Told them not to take money from card, but took £50 regardless. Posters around the building say this is a Cash Only business ! Draw your own conclusions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guesthousecyprus, Owner at Springfield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

This review is currently under review by trip adviser for a blackmail attempt by this reviewer Stephen m.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to visit Alnwick castle this Easter holidays. The springfield guesthouse offered us a warm welcome. The family room was spacious and had the best shower we have ever had in a B&B. breakfast was beautiful and all locally sourced. Lovely pubs and restaurant in Rothbury. We will certainly use this as a base next time we visit. Thank you x

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Alexi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was my second stay at the Springfield Guest House, Rothbury and just as before, I received excellent service. The room was spacious, spotless and very comfortable. The drinks facilities include a proper tea pot, so you're not left to brew up in a cup.

The staff are extremely approachable and respond swiftly to any reasonable request. This was a business trip for me, but I'm thinking of taking my wife up to Northumberland for a walking holiday, and the Springfield would be the place we'd stay. Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Travelled all the way from Lancashire but on arrival told the ensuite bathroom was unavaliable due to water damage (fair enough these things happen). However, it had happened earlier in the week and I had not been contacted about the problem.

Was offered the use of a redundant bathroom on another floor but it was tiny, the door didn't lock and it was freezing and the bath mat was filthy.

Room was ok but some of the cushions were stained.

Breakfast was ok but no help yourself cereals and the sausages were inedible.

On the whole poor, wasted a weekend as had no choice but to check out in the morning and shorten my stay. Travelled 400 miles for a 1 night stay. Not even offered a discount.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was very much a last minute booking and there was little choice in Rothbury for this particular night. However the pictures looked OK and we needed somewhere walkable from our dinner destination.
We were very happy with our choice. The room was large, warm and comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean. We chose not to have breakfast but there was a tea and coffee tray in the room.
Although on the Main Street it was very quiet. We were accompanied with our small dog and there was no extra charge for him. Friends staying to the hotel next door paid a third more and their room was very poor. I would certainly stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Rothbury.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainemckeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#4 of 11 in Rothbury
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 11 in Rothbury
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#5 of 11 in Rothbury
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#6 of 11 in Rothbury
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Haven
The Haven
#7 of 11 in Rothbury
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Guest House

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE6 5SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: £54 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Springfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield Guest House is a three story Victorian townhouse. We have six large en suite rooms. Bed and breakfast starts at a very reasonable price. We have double, twin and family rooms which can sleep up to five persons. We are located right in the centre of beautiful Rothbury, an ideal base to visit the whole of Northumberland. We have off street parking and cycle storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Springfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Guest House Hotel Rothbury
Springfield Guest House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing