We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Springfield Guest House
Ranked #11 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As far as b&b go this was faultless for me a nice clean place with cracking breakfast great location and a friendly welcoming feel about the place not far from the riverside which is lovely this time of year I would definitely recommend this to friends or family

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larandangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    32
    26
    9
    13
See reviews for
30
88
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was the second time i stayed at the Springfield guest house and i will definately be returning. The service was amazing and Danielle and Gavin went out of their way to make our stay as great as possible. With a lovely breakfast, wifi and a beautiful room, i would recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelene a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I can understand the other reviews of this place I have just noticed. Pity I didn't see them before I booked! It was not bad , but with absent owners and "The Cavalry ", their words not mine, called in to cook the breakfast this place is in trouble. There are a number of good places in Rothbury, avoid this one.

Room Tip: First look for another B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicestershireYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I booked a 2 night stay here through Booking.com on the basis of previous guest reviews, photos shown on the booking website and the fact that it had a 4* visitengland rating. Our room was billed as a Classic Double Room, located on the 2nd floor with double bed, tea/coffee making facilities.
We arrived at 4pm and there was no one around (there is no reception) so we used the mobile telephone on the hat stand in the hall and were told ours was room 8 on the top floor, key in the door. Upon entering the room, our first impression was that it was quite OK. However, it soon became apparent that it was far from OK! No towels had been left for us, which necessitated another phone call to the owner who said she would send someone round with them. We then found that all the surfaces were grubby and dusty, needing a good clean before we put our things down, even the inside shelves of the wardrobe were dirty. There was thick dust on the shades of the light fitting above the bed, behind the bedstead (where we also found a used dirty tissue!) and on the framed picture on the wall behind the bed. Even the small mobile radiator beside the bed was encrusted with dust and dirt!
The bathroom was tiny (although there was both a bath and shower) with mould in the grouting and on the ceiling and the extractor fan didn't work. The bath taps were a joke - they turned through 90o when we tried to turn them on!
We decided to go for a walk and see what other places might be available but everywhere seemed pretty well booked up. When we returned to the guest house we found the towels had been delivered but left on the floor outside our room! (We had been given just one bath towel each, no hand towels). At this point my husband and I seriously considered driving the 180 miles back home there and then rather than spend the night (let alone 2 nights!) in a place displaying such an obvious lack of basic cleanliness. However, the sheet, pillow cases (I doubt very much that they were Egyptian cotton, as stated on the booking website) and duvet seemed OK so we decided to tough it out.
There were several other cosmetic defects – a hole in the wall behind the door, part of the rubber sealant strip hanging off the door (no matter how many times we tried to get it to stay in place), a wardrobe shelf just left propped up between the side of the wardrobe and wall where a piece of carpet was missing and mould around the window frame.
On the landing of the top floor we noticed lots of debris on the window ledge and thick dust on the window sills. On the landing below there was an old-fashioned gramophone player, again covered in thick dust as was one of the hats on the hat stand.
My husband noticed that there were no fire evacuation instructions posted within the room just a notice on the door of our room asking that the bill be settled in cash “to keep costs down”.

When we subsequently spoke to the owner and showed him the dust and dirt his reply was that it was a standard room after all - so does that mean that dirt is acceptable and consistent with a value deal? No discount was offered but my husband said we would pay £100 (which I personally felt was rather generous, given all the problems!) instead of the £118 price stated at booking. Gavin, the owner, said the room had already been discounted and reiterated that it was a standard room but reluctantly agreed to accept the lesser payment.
We certainly saw no evidence that would justify the establishment as being labelled "boutique" nor any stone wall features as shown on the booking site, except in the dining room used for breakfast.
The only positives were the central location (although parking outside was a bit of a lottery as the town was very busy and parking spaces at a premium - there is no private car park for the hotel), the decent breakfasts and free WiFi.
Like some other reviewers we feel that the information and photos shown on the website were misleading. We also feel that the standard of cleanliness in our accommodation was totally unacceptable - we were not expecting luxury, just basic comforts and cleanliness, and to say we were disappointed would be a gross understatement. An experience never to be repeated!

Room Tip: Don't book a "Classic Double Room" (our room was room 8) and try to check out the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyGRMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We would never stay here again. We didn't get the room we booked but got put in a rather tatty room with no feature stone wall and only a small bathroom with a not very clean looking shower and no bath as advertised. The owners could only be contacted by phone and never turned up when they said they would. The Wifi didn't work . The room in general wasn't as clean as it should have been. In the photos on the internet the rooms look totally different to the room we were given. R&L

Room Tip: Request to see the room before you commit to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Can not fault this lovely family b&b. A lovely old building with a beautiful parquet entrance. Our accommodation was a superior room and was
spotless. Breakfast was delicious and piping hot with with plenty tea and toast. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we were made to feel very welcome and at home. We will certainly stay here again and will recommend to all our friends, thank you so much for a very pleasant and relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This place is best avoided. Check out the pictures.

The owner was only available by phone.

The whole place looks run down, as announced by the dirty entrance and staircase.

The shower room was damp with mould on the walls and ceiling. See pictures. Other guests and rooms appear to have similar problems.

We left and went home, without staying. A wasted 10 hours round trip.

Rang owner to complain, no answer or reply to e-mail. Told them not to take money from card, but took £50 regardless. Posters around the building say this is a Cash Only business ! Draw your own conclusions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guesthousecyprus, Owner at Springfield Guest House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
This review is currently under review by trip adviser for a blackmail attempt by this reviewer Stephen m.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Guest House

Property: Springfield Guest House
Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE6 5SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Springfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield Guest House is a three story Victorian townhouse. We have six large en suite rooms. Bed and breakfast starts at a very reasonable price. We have double, twin and family rooms which can sleep up to five persons. We are located right in the centre of beautiful Rothbury, an ideal base to visit the whole of Northumberland. We have off street parking and cycle storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Springfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Guest House Hotel Rothbury
Springfield Guest House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing