We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxed B&B”

Hillcrest Vegetarian B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Vegetarian B&B
Ranked #11 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Marminiac, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxed B&B”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I arrived and was immediately offered tea and homemade biscuits beside a log fire. Gerry is a very attentive and interesting host who knows Rothbury and the surrounding area extremely well. Each day started with a delicious breakfast, lots of choice, perfect porridge! My room was extremely comfortable and quiet. I have already recommended Hillcrest to friends and work colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2012

A spotless and beautifully maintained period house. A great welcome from Gerry and then log fires, vegetarian delights, and a happy sheepdog to accompany us on walks. Superb value for money.

Room Tip: mrs pringle's room has a quiet aspect and with wonderful light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A very comfortable and thoughtfully presented B&B - beautifully decorated with an awareness of the Georgian history of the house. The home cooking was delicious with plenty of choices for breakfast, and we had the best vegetarian three course meal we've had in a long time. Gerry was very knowledgeable about walks in the area, and gave helpful advice about which places were open to visit at that time of year. I've recommended it to all my friends.

Room Tip: We were shown the two rooms, and they were both equally attractive,well equipped and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

A lovely place to stay and very reasonable rates. Our room was beautiful - really big with a spacious en-suite. Very comfortable and Gerry was very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. The B & B is also very close to the town (Rothbury) so very convenient for riverside walks/shopping etc. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

After a long journey from the South Coast, Gerry greeted us with homemade cake and a big pot of tea. Gerry made us feel completely at home, in this relaxed, stylish, quiet little B&B. The room we stayed in was at the top of the building so it felt very private but we knew we could nip downstairs if we needed anything. The room was perfect, clean, fresh with lots of wonderful little touches to provide understated pampering and comfort. Gerry cooked us the most amazing breakfasts which my non-veggie young man still talks about, I only wish we'd had dinner there.

This little B&B is perfect for its surroundings, muddy boots and bikes are welcome which makes exploring a pleasure. I run out of superlatives. Go and try it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
0.5 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Three Wheat Heads Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Vegetarian B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Vegetarian B&B

Property: Hillcrest Vegetarian B&B
Address: Hillcrest House, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillcrest Vegetarian B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Vegetarian B&B Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing