We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant hotel brilliant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newcastle House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant hotel brilliant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

jst stayed herefor 1 night 21st jan 12, staff great. Really summed up the village of Rothbury in that locals and staff were so friendly. Place is really relaxing, just what we needed after a couple of stressful weeks. Great night sleep bed so comfy. Special mention must go to owner Sarah who was so welcoming and makes guests feel at home. Would fully reccommend this hotel and would make comment to the Travel agent to accept that this venue is typical English village pub and should be rated as such. They were so concerned with finding faults they missed the essence of the pub village and the locals. Sarah informed me and my wife they had only acquired the hotel 18 months ago and the process of updating will take time. One thing is for sure they are setting solid foundations with the basiscs for any small indepentant hotel in that they offer a friendley relaxed atmosphere with great personal service.Good luck for the future and thanks for a great night!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    42
    14
    11
    2
See reviews for
19
72
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

This was a last minute booking, staff on arrival were friendly and very helpful. Our room was very spacious and lovely and clean. We had drinks in the bar where the staff and locals were friendly and helpful. At breakfast time nothing was too much trouble plenty of tea & toast was brought out, the full English was very good with a high standard of sausage & bacon excellent quality and outstanding service & value for money we will defiantly stay again. Mr & Mrs S Mcentee

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmamcentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The bar is ok, the staff are nice, the cooked breakfast is pretty good, but unfortunately the whole place is scruffy. Lots of odd bits of furniture and spare picture frames are to be found in corridors. Pity, as it could be tidied up with very little effort.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gummington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sassle, Owner at Newcastle House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
I am sorry to see this review as the person does not give any allowances to the owner for redecoration of the upper floors and function room to be carried out with out the removal of the pictures and furniture which were placed I would agree randomly around the building. the work is nearly completed and the items some of which have already will be returning to there usual tidy places.
In a time when money is tight and as a business we are trying to improve a very tired and old building which has had no investment from previous owners for several years closing to redecorate is not an option.

It is good to hear you found the staff to be nice and the bar area ok (this has been refurbished earlier this year) and that the breakfast was good. We aim to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The reason I am prepared to write this review is because, as a travel agent, I use tripadvisor as my bible when reerving accommodation for my clients. This is one of the roughest hotels I have stayed in. The building is beautiful, the room spacious, the duvets and pillows, comfortable and the location excellent in a quaint little village but that is really the end of the positives. The bedlinen was not matching which made me feel that the apricot bottom sheet on the double bed was just arbitrarily pulled from a cupboard. The room was set up for 3 of us but there were only 2 coffee cups and when I requested a 3rd, I was given a mug that was so coffee stained as to look dirty - I had to rinse it with boiling water before I felt ok to use it. The television had not been tuned so there was only 1 channel that we could watch and it was totally unsuitable for young children. There is no phone in the room. The carpet needed a good clean

Room Tip: I would definitely look for other accommodation in Rothbury
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sassle, Owner at Newcastle House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. I think you may have selected a place to stay that is not 5star and has never pretended to be we offer good comfortable accommodation which you agreed you had. If you need telephones in your room and fresh towels everyday with sky TV, then maybe you need to stay elsewhere rather than a traditional country pub which is what we are. As for the bedding I think had you checked you would have found that the bottom sheet matches the valance on the kingsize bed and that a cream duvet cover ties in well with the duck egg blue and cream curtains. The bedding is all minimum 300 thread count and your sheets are acctually 400 thread count so we do have a standard. Regards the TV I checked the TV and it worked perfectly once it had had some new batteries in the remote if I had been told at the time that it would not change channel we could have sorted this out, you said nothing until you left. Regards the carpets the mark you are refering to is not a stain but a burn, it happened less that 2 weeks ago when we had some other people staying we are in discussion with them to have the carpet replaced. I have to admit I am a bit dissappointed with my staff for giving you a dirty mug that I must say is inexcusable. It is a shame you did not mention any of these issues on the morning of your first night it would have given us the oppertunity to correct them. We feel that in this instance you have been a little over aggressive in your comments as you did not give us the chance to attend to anything before you left. We would ask anyone reading this to have a look at the other reviews on trip advisor and you will find that we are a friendly welcoming pub with rooms, that offers comfortable beds and a hearty breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seahouses
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Hiking the St.Oswalds Way we arrived very early for a three day stay, but were welcomed and allowed to leave our luggage before setting off for the first stage of our walk. Jacqie the cleaner/waitress/ general treasure had both our rooms ready for our return a soggy, dripping 8 hours later. The rooms were warm and comfortable and a hot shower folowed by a good meal restored our spirits in no time (a couple of beers didn't hurt either!)
Sarah & Chris have obviously refurbished the rooms recently and have big plans for the hotel in future. There's a really good atmosphere, with live music on a Saturday night and speciality menu evenings (tapas, steak etc.) throughout the week. Breakfast was plentiful, though a request for poached eggs seemed to cause some anguish in the kitchen. The waitresses Sophie and Tonni were helpful and attentive, and it was a much needed boost to an otherwise very wet weekend. We'd certainly stay again.
.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spindrift1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sassle, Owner at Newcastle House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thank you for such a positive review I am so pleased you had a good stay with us and that you will reccommend us to others. We are delighted that you have commented as you have your own Bed and Breakfast which is highly commended, we must be doing something right. I look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0.3 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Haven
The Haven
#9 of 12 in Rothbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle House Hotel

Property: Newcastle House Hotel
Address: Front Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Newcastle House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional pub in a small country village looking out onto the village green. Lively bar and lounge offering real ales Cask Marque Awarded for Quality Real Ales and a good selection of beers and lagers, wines and spirits. We serve food in our restaurant all day serving Locally sourced ingredients which is home cooked and hearty. Our rooms are comfortable and styled to be simple but cosy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Newcastle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle House Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing