We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music mayhem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newcastle House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Music mayhem.”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed over on Saturday 19th October to catch up with friends and had an amazing Steak cooked to perfection byJason as usual great atmosphere and Sarah the Landlady and Ann behind the bar were as welcoming as ever.What I hadn't bargained for was the great music that was on,it was a brilliant night.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 6 really good but above the bar so if you want an early night which I didn't then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    47
    14
    11
    2
See reviews for
23
75
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Excellent fresh food, our party had fresh fish lovely chicken burger and kids meals were real fish not prossesed like kids meals usually are. Oh and generous portions! staff very pleasant and friendly and is situated in ideal location in town centre! Would defenitely make the 1hour trip to visit again. Thank you x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Hattonfamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Myself & 6 other family members (2 being children) visited on a Friday lunchtime for some food this was our first visit to the newcastle house.. We were very impressed by the welcoming and friendly staff, we got a variety of meals fish which was very tasty & fresh, beef stroganoff was perfect, scampi also being very fresh & tasty, homemade chicken burger which was absaloutly gourgeous & tasty, Children loved their homemade fish and all meals were served with beautiful hand cut fresh chips which were delicious! Overall our lunch was fab i would most definitely visit again I live in newcastle town but if I was local i would be back for lunch tomorrow!! We were very impressed & couldn't fault a single thing! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hetherington-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We discovered Rothbury a couple of years back and have been making regular visits since. The Newcastle was the first place we ever ate in Rothbury and we both honestly thought it was the best Sunday roast we'd ever had. We thought we'd stay over last weekend and were not dissapointed. The staff were great and the room was excellent VFM with great views. Thanks for a great night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Not been to the Newcastle House for a meal since Sarah took over, disgraceful I know as we live locally. My friend and I decided to try it, we were not disappointed!!!
It was Thursday and Tapas night was on the specials board.
There was about eight tables in front of us, we waited about 5 minutes for our order to be taken and about 20 mins for the meal to come, but please bear in mind that everything is cooked to order.
We went for the Tapas:
Garlic Mushrooms, Prawns, Pork Fillet in pepper sauce, the sausage dish with a bowl of hand cut chips.
Just before the dishes arrived a lovely fresh salad with a dip and bread were placed on the table.
The Tapas were delicious and very filling, the chips were the best we have ever had in a restaurant and all for the price of £16.50 for two people. We left feeling very satisfied and full.
Will certainly give the Newcastle House a try again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirk8Northumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked into Newcastle House for two nights to use it as a base for spending time in Northumberland. We chose it based on price and location. My husband also wanted a bar which served real ale. There is no dedicated car park however, parking nearby is not a problem as there are no parking restrictions. Our room was a double en-suite with a warning that it may be noisy late at night as it was over the bar area. However, as our stay was mid-week this wasn't an issue. We were however awoken on our first morning by the brewery delivery - not sure if this would have been an issue if the window had been closed. It was open on arrival and we left it open as it was very hot (summer of 2013). Although there was a free standing fan available in the room. The price of £45 per room per night was room only and we decided not to book breakfast on site as I don't eat enough breakfast to warrant the price charged £8.50. We choose instead to breakfast in the nearby Tomlinson's Cafe and Bunkhouse where we paid £14 for the two of us. My husband had a full English breakfast and I had scrambled egg on toast which included 2 slices of lovely brown bread and fabulous eggs plus a cappucino and a white coffee - excellent value. Back at the hotel our first night coincided with the evening Curry Buffet £10 a head. You can go back for as many plate refills as you like, although I did not. That night I asked for a bottle of wine as it's cheaper than buying by the glass and asked if they would keep it for me while we nipped across the road for a drink. This was not a problem and I was given a wine bag - a strong transparent carrier which was filled with ice - brilliant idea. The free wifi wasn't great. My husband and I are on the same network T mobile and have the same phone and yet I was able to access the internet but he was not. I also overhead another customer complaining about the wifi. Overall a nice friendly place which was good value for money. One more thing, there is a clock tower a few doors away which chimes each hour and each quarter. I didn't mind this but some people may.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My daughter and I spent 3 nights at the hotel, and really enjoyed our stay. The beds were comfortable and the room clean. We used the shared bathroom but seemed to have it to ourselves. The water was piping hot.
The food in the hotel was very good and very reasonably priced. There is a co-op just across the road, which is really well stocked and was ideal for making up our packed lunches.
The hotel is budget priced. We found it really good value and found the welcome to be outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janplatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
0.1 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
687 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Three Wheat Heads Inn
0.1 mi away
Springfield Guest House
Springfield Guest House
#10 of 12 in Rothbury
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle House Hotel

Property: Newcastle House Hotel
Address: Front Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Newcastle House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional pub in a small country village looking out onto the village green. Lively bar and lounge offering real ales Cask Marque Awarded for Quality Real Ales and a good selection of beers and lagers, wines and spirits. We serve food in our restaurant all day serving Locally sourced ingredients which is home cooked and hearty. Our rooms are comfortable and styled to be simple but cosy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newcastle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle House Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing