We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper country kitchen cafe!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sun Kitchen

The Sun Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Rothbury
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Proper country kitchen cafe!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My daughter and I popped in here to have lunch, not a large meal but a 'something to keep you going' until evening meal later on. It was a delightful little cafe and a nice ambiance. The staff were all helpful and the fare was very nice. Would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retired26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    0
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Little Cafe”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We often pop in to this cafe when we visit Rothbury. The food is well cooked and well presented, and I do have to admit that the idea of putting Trivial Pursuit cards on the tables is a brilliant idea!!! It keeps you occupied while waiting for your order to arrive, and to be honest we carry on asking each other the questions during lunch as well.

The cakes are lovely and as a coffee drinker their's is well worth ordering.

The only negagtive I can write about the place as a customer is that it is sometimes full and we cannot get in until later. But if this is the only negative we can run with it. It is good for the business and there is plenty to see and do in Rothbury until a table does become free.

The staff have always been professional and give great customer service. We will certainly go back when we next visit Rothbury. We think the locals are very lucky to have such good eateries in their area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RUE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Old Fashioned Tea shop”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Lovely home made cakes and friendly service. The tea was good too! Its quite crowded table wise but managable

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

We visited the Sun Kit hen Cafe for afternoon coffee and were very impressed by the quality of the coffee and the delicious home made cakes. If you visit Rothbury and don't pay this pace a visit, you've missed out!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chevdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Scrumptious cakes”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Slightly cramped but lovely place for lunch or afternoon tea. I have a weakness for their cakes which have always been good, plentiful and fresh. They have trivial pursuit cards on the tables to keep the kids, and even the adults amused, which is a nice touch. Tricky parking round there so worth using the Beggars Rigg car park just outside the 30mph sign.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesignerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Kitchen also viewed

Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 

Been to The Sun Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing