We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bluebell Cottage is tucked away on the Estate and provides an Idyllic rural location set in 2 acres.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluebell Cottage is tucked away on the Estate and provides an Idyllic rural location set in 2 acres.
The Living Room at Bluebell Cottage is stylish and offers access to the patio The Living Room at Bluebell Cottage is stylish and offers access to the patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Bluebell Cottage is tucked away on the Estate and provides an Idyllic rural location set in 2 acres.
The Living Room at Bluebell Cottage is stylish and offers access to the patio
The Living Room at Bluebell Cottage is stylish and offers access to the patio
The Living Room at Bluebell Cottage is stylish and offers access to the patio
You'll feel away from it all at Bluebell Cottage with views like this from the off road parking
The frontage of the Westcliffe House estate, Bluebell Cottage is tucked away behind the main House.
The modern Master Bedroom has a beautiful en suite with bath and shower (over)
The modern kitchen has an oven/hob, dishwasher, washer/dryer, fridge/freezer & granite worktops
The modern kitchen has an oven/hob, dishwasher, washer/dryer, fridge/freezer & granite worktops
Fresh flowers from the garden are provided whenever possible, daffodils in Spring to Sweet peas
The second Bedroom at Bluebell Cottage is a spacious Twin room with plenty of storage space.
The second Bedroom at Bluebell Cottage is a spacious Twin room with plenty of storage space.
The second Bedroom at Bluebell Cottage is a spacious Twin room with plenty of storage space.
In addition to the en suite bedroom there is also a family bathroom.
The large hallway gives a feeling of space
A warm welcome to Bluebell Cottage
Countryside views from the Master and Twin Bedroom.
Guests at Bluebell Cottage are free to enjoy all the 2.5 acre grounds and the beautiful views.
Rhododendrons light up the gardens around Bluebell Cottage in late Spring
Breathtaking views from the walks that lead directly from your doorstep.
Woodland areas and countryside right from the front door of Bluebell Cottage, peace and quiet.
Rural views around Bluebell Cottage.
Rural views around Bluebell Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
607mauree...
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Found the cottage clean and nicely done out to a modern style, very spacious and plenty of room for my grandson to play, with toys,books, and games left for young children.
Nicely situated for going places such as Holy Island, Bamburgh and there are nice walks around Rothbury a small town with plenty of eating places
The cottage was easy to find with directions given.
I would certainly book this cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet of the area and the views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brinscall...
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, v. quiet location”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The bungalow was very clean, well presented and equipped, good central heating and hot water etc, and everything seemed new - kitchen, bathrooms etc. Spacious layout ideal for family of up to 4. We took our dog and it was well located for walking, good sized porch for leaving boots etc. Location was about a mile outside Rothbury which had a few shops, cafes and pubs. National Trust property Cragside nearby well worth a visit, also Alnwick Castle (11 miles), Holy Island, Lindisfarne and all the scenic coastline south of it. Be prepared to drive quite a lot of miles over the holiday though as everything is quite far apart over undulating Northumberland countryside. No wifi at property, which we were prepared for, but also no mobile phone signal, which we weren't! Teenagers would prefer somewhere a bit nearer to civilisation but it's the perfect place for a quiet break in a beautiful part of the UK. Key collection was from keysafe at property - we didn't actually meet anyone at all there but it worked fine and directions were good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: standard of property interior
Liked least: no mobile signal. More local info would be helpful eg walks, recommended place to eat
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havewebee...
Chandlers Ford, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage in peacefull location”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at Blue Bell Cottage. My husband, myself, my parents and 2 dogs, had a lovely relaxing week in this spacious well equipped spotlessly clean cottage. The grounds and the surrounding countryside were perfect for some lovely walks and an ideal base for trips to Gragside, Alnwick and walking up Simonside. I can also recommend the Three Wheatheads in nearby Thropton, possibly the best carvery ever, and the views from the restaurant looking across to Simonside are amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No Wi Fi, but not a real problem
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane L
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restful, relaxed two week stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday in Bluebell Cottage and what an amazing time we had.

We were greeted by Andrew on our arrival and a welcome pack was waiting for us in the kitchen - very welcome after a four hour drive.

The cottage was beautifully clean and very well presented - very much a home from home. The ensuite bath is so deep, heaven knows how long it would take to fill and the shower is brilliant with great water pressure. The kitchen is a really good size and well equipped with the lounge being a well proportioned room. The bedrooms are a good size and the wardrobes are well stocked with coat hangers.

In our opinion, this cottage is the better one for dog owners as it has a separate grassy area for them to 'do their business' but don't forget your poo bags! Our two Labradors settled in very quickly and loved the walks up the lane adjoining the neighbouring farm into open fields. We just loved the peace and quiet and the stunning views from the cottage and the drive down into Rothbury itself, something we would never tire of.

Rothbury is a lovely town with ample shops, pubs and cafes. The Newcastle Hotel serves delicious food including Sunday carveries which are very good value for money. The local butcher sells all sorts of different sausages (the pork and caramelised red onions are to die for!).

We really couldn't have asked for a better location or accommodation for our two week stay. One week just wouldn't have been long enough. We will definitely return to Bluebell Cottage and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, get away from it all holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility
Liked least: No wi-fi or mobile phone signal!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spud2805
1 review
“relaxing,peaceful and family time”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Me and my family enjoyed our break and monday to friday was just not long enough.The cottage was perfect there was everything you could need,andrew was lovely and welcoming.Coming from yorkshire i thought we had nice places but i was like a little kid in northumberland,it brought my family closer together thank you rothbury and bluebell cotttage i will be back.The only tiny thing wrong was the cottage getting swarmed by midgers at dusk but when with nature its to be had.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallersta...
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A complete joy for humans and dogs alike”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved this place. How often have we stayed in supposedly "dog-friendly" accommodation and then spent our entire holiday in a state of fear about infringing a set of rules longer than War and Peace? Not here. There is not a single instruction about guests' dogs at Westcliffe. And guess what ... not a single whiff of dogginess in the immaculate apartments, not a poop unscooped anywhere in the wonderful grounds, not a canine squabble anywhere and genuine kindness and pleasure in meeting the dogs from our hosts. It confirms what I always suspected - that it's mainly conscientious, civilised owners who take their dogs on holiday and when they receive an ungrudging welcome from their hosts, they don't abuse it. This holiday was a real delight. The cottage is probably the best we have ever stayed in - and we have staying in a fair few - and Rothbury itself is enchanting. Walkers are spoilt for choice and, because Westcliffe is high above the town, it is minutes away from the wonderful Cragside carriage walks which go for miles and give stunning views across the Coquet valley. We really wish the owners well in this new venture. They are setting a new standard in self-catering accommodation and they thoroughly deserve success.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the general friendliness to guests and canines alike. The tiled porch for towelling dogs clean.
Liked least: What nit picking - I would love some hooks on the bathroom door! An outdoor tap with a spray attachment for cleaning dogs down on muddy days would be the gilding on the gingerbread.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing