We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rescued”
Review of The Turks Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Turks Head
Ranked #6 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rescued”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were transferred to here when our booked accommodation in Rothbury was not available at the teatime we arrived after a long walk. The Turks Head had not been informed we needed a twin room. Debbie, Carla and all the staff could not have been more helpful and actually put an extra bed into a double room for us - calling in the cleaner to go through the room before we occupied it The room was pleasant and airy with a large shower room. We ate in the bar and the food was good pub grub and our breakfast the next morning was excellent. However the staff made the stay by being so helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thanks Ann for your kind review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday & didn't get too wet on your epic walk the following day :)
Hope to see you again, Debbie :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    35
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
61
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We chose the Turks head as it had everything we look for, modern bright decor in the bedrooms, vegetarian breakfast options and the real plus on this occasion was that we were practically on the doorstep of cragside, the national trust property we were in the area to visit.
Although we arrived late (having been on lindisfarne) we were warmly welcomed, checked in & shown to our room which was lovely and warm. All you need; clean, modern, fresh linens, toiletries, tea & coffee options and a bonus of 2 velvet wing back chairs to enjoy a cuppa in whilst watching tv. Vegetarian breakfast was lovely as were the pastries we enjoyed afterwards. After breakfast we took a wander out to the garden - great use of a difficult plot - lots of seating on different levels. We will definately be back to enjoy a drink out there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gate1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, and really please you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon :)
Kind regards, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

First time in and made to feel very welcome

A good few ales on tap and obviously been looked after properly

The location is good and the beer garden looks great , although I was too cold to sit our when I got there.

A good mix of locals and visitors

I would go back and try the food

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The website shows a photo of an apartment available at the Turks Head but unfortunately does not state which aptmt it is. We were very disappointed when shown to a small room with no opening window and a tiny bedroom with no window at all. The double bed was pushed against the wall it was so small. It felt like you were staying in a 'cave'. There is a proper sink and fridge with crockery and cutlery but no where to even make toast or heat a meal, so these extras were a waste of time.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not book the patio room as it is like a cave
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We are aware you were not happy as when you checked in you believed you had booked the Garden room. Which had already been booked & occupied in advance and had no availability for your selected stay. You made your booking on the 23rd for your stay on the 24th and you selected the named “Double en-suite Apartment” (Patio Cottage). We offered you a full refund including deposit which you refused.

1. “The website shows a photo of an apartment available at the Turks Head but unfortunately does not state which aptmt it is”
I would ask you to look again at our website-it is extremely clear which room is which. And each room has several photographs along with a full description and accommodation name. I would like to draw your attention to the tab “ROOMS”

2. There is a proper sink and fridge with crockery and cutlery but no where to even make toast or heat a meal, so these extras were a waste of time.

There is a toaster in the cupboard in the kitchen area, I would also like to remind you that this is a Bed & Breakfast accommodation, and not self catering, these are indeed free additional extras which all out other guest have been greatly appreciative of.

If you stay in Rothbury again I think that you will find this is a fantastic alternative to the bedroom only accommodation you will find everywhere else for the same price.

2 of are other great reviews relate to this clearly named cottage in addition to the 4 photographs on the website. And the cottage is anything but a “cave”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We called in late Saturday afternoon after walking with Charlie dog in the Simonside Hills and looking for a dog friendly pub serving food we were delighted to find the Turks Head. We found seats in the recently refurbished beer garden which I have to say is a magnificent improvement and very very nice. We bought some drinks and settled down to read the menu. We decided to start with the sharing platter then a steak sandwich and chilli for the blonde. We waited about 45 minutes for the platter which when it arrived looked extremely generous unfortunately most of it was cold the meat balls were raw and then we found that there was a human hair nestled in the potato skins. This put the blonde right off her food so she complained to a passing waitress explained what was wrong and that we didn't want our main courses and could we have our money back.
Within a couple of minutes the lady behind the bar came out with our money asked again what was wrong and apologised.
It was a shame as the beer garden is excellent and its always nice to find a dog friendly pub and Maybe we'll give it another go next time we are in Rothbury.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudyjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for leaving your review. We are pleased you liked the changes to the pub & garden. We did 84 covers that day and we were informed by the staff that a complaint had been made. I understand a full refund was given, we apologise unreservedly and hopefully you will comeback again and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend away. stayed in the garden room it was absolutely stunning. The beer garden is lovely and if the weather is like it was when we where there it was the perfect little break. The staff could not have been more helpful. Food was lovely, breakfast to die for. service was impecable. Everyone made us feel like long lost friends even the people who live in the village. I would recommend this hotel at the drop of a hat. Have booked up to go back in November (even though it will be cold)... I think this will become our second home. Thank you to everyone that made our weekend a one to remember... sharon and allan x

Room Tip: the garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us-we are pretty new to this so feedback is really important-especially whens it's so nice. The staff will no doubt be thrilled with your feedback & we all look forward to seeing you when you come back. Don't worry if it's cold in November the fire & the heating will be on & we guarantee you a warm welcome back :) Thanks again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Had been to the Turks' Head several times before it was taken over and what a good job they've done of it. Previous two ladies who ran it were lovely and very welcoming but pub had become very tatty and few locals or even tourists visited (I remember one of the lady telling me that it was for sale for 45K£ -, this was 2 years ago). Well done to the new owner for having resurrected this most pleasant of public house, if I lived locally I'd certainly patronise it. All the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babaorum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks very much for your review- It's been a long hard road, but think we are there now. Please you had a nice time & We hope to you again. I really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
0.1 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
687 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Three Wheat Heads Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.2 mi away
Springfield Guest House
Springfield Guest House
#10 of 12 in Rothbury
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turks Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turks Head

Property: The Turks Head
Address: High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Turks Head 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turk's Head was built in the sixteenth century as a coaching Inn. Centuries later, our stables have been renovated into cottages boasting charming, original features. The main building was restructured in 1874 and our rooms offer truly impressive views over Coquetdale and Simonside. Our rates are based on B&B. We have a huge garden and patio area with kids play area. We also serve fresh local homemade food 7 days a week, meal times can vary depending on day and season, please call us or check our facebook page, generally 12-3, 6:30-9:00 Monday to Friday 12:00-8:00 Saturdays Sunday 12:00-4:00 or later. We offer free WiFi access to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Turks Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Turks Head Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing