We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Turks Head
Nearby Hotels
US$196
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
58
40
15
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
40
15
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomthe pubbeer gardenlovely friendly pubbirthday nightlady servinghot beefprices are reasonablesteak and ale pieon arrivalsofa bedmashshort drivewarm welcomebrilliant staffate herefeel very welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Every year between Christmas and New Year, we like to have a few days away. These trips generally turn out to be quite quirky - we don't mind quirky and this trip was no exception.
We had booked an apartment for 4 with a sofa bed and a double room - if you book the same room and are led through the garden and turn to the right, be prepared to be surprised. I cannot imagine how anyone would want to stay in this 'apartment' - it comprises of a small living/kitchen with 2 tiny velux windows and the sofa bed, a bedroom with 2 single beds and the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen - the bedroom and bathroom have no windows!! The only thing the room is good for is a teenage hangout where they can make all the noise they like.
Needless to say within 5 mins of arriving we headed back to the bar and asked for an alternative, the staff were marvelous. We were given 2 rooms in the main pub - one had recently been refurbished, the other was waiting for a revamp but was perfectly adequate. We had to share the enormous bathroom, but that wasn't a major problem.
The downside of the room however is that it's right over the front door of the pub, the problem with this is the smoke - people stand outside the front door, smoke floats up and in through the window. 'Close the window' I hear you say, this would be an option if the heating wasn't on full blast. You can apparently alter the heating in the big room but not so in the refurbished room.
We ate in house on the first night - vast menu at very good prices - all I'll say is that you get what you pay for.
Cooked breakfast is good but the choice for the continental breakfast could be better. There are 3 cereals and grapefruit, no yogurts but there is juice and coffee. The pastries are made by the chef, but they do appear to be put back out the following morning if they haven't been eaten.
We chose the accommodation on the basis of previous reviews and I'm sorry for not agreeing with all those reviews but not everyone can agree on everything. I'll leave you to decide for yourself.
The staff at the pub are lovely - friendly, attentive and informative - thank you to them.
On the plus side, the hotel is ideally located for touring the fabulous surrounding countryside of Northumberland.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocolate06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for leaving us a review, we do appreciate the time it takes and without your valuable feedback we are unable to offer the service we strive for. I would however like to address a couple of the issue you have raised.

"the bedroom and bathroom have no windows!!"
The bathroom has a large frosted opening window, whilst the bedroom does not have a window it opens into the bathroom, natural light can be gained by simply leaving the adjoining door open.

"We had to share the enormous bathroom, but that wasn't a major problem"
-As you booked and payed for a family room i'm afraid sharing a bathroom in inevitable

"The downside of the room however is that it's right over the front door of the pub, the problem with this is the smoke - people stand outside the front door, smoke floats up and in through the window. 'Close the window' I hear you say, this would be an option if the heating wasn't on full blast. You can apparently alter the heating in the big room but not so in the refurbished room."

- We have a purpose built smoking area at the back of the pub, however occasionally customers prefer to smoke out front. Only one of our rooms is above the front door and this is first time anyone has mentioned this problem, that said the window is easily closed and ALL our rooms have thermostats on all radiators. The heating in your room is controlled by turning the dial on the radiator, I apologies if this was confusing, any member of staff would have gladly helped, had you mentioned this at the time of your stay.

"We ate in house on the first night - vast menu at very good prices - all I'll say is that you get what you pay for."
- Thank you, we do strive to provide value for money- all our food is home made and sourced locally where ever possible.

"Cooked breakfast is good but the choice for the continental breakfast could be better. There are 3 cereals and grapefruit, no yogurts but there is juice and coffee. The pastries are made by the chef, but they do appear to be put back out the following morning if they haven't been eaten."

-Our pastries are baked each morning freshly, we have a large variety of cereals, fresh fruit bowl in additional to the grapefruit, pastries & toast. We offer a full breakfast menu, not just cooked breakfast, Had you wished for anything in addition to what was on offer you had only to ask, as you have stated our staff are indeed lovely and strive to make your stay a pleasant one.

"The staff at the pub are lovely - friendly, attentive and informative - thank you to them.
On the plus side, the hotel is ideally located for touring the fabulous surrounding countryside of Northumberland."

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a girlie weekend at the cottage, so cozy and comfortable, a band was playing on the friday evening the place was buzzing. The full English breakfast the following morning kept us going the whole day. The staff were so helpful and friendly we are looking forward to going back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review & we hope to see you again soon :) Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a lovely time staying at the Turks Head. The room was lovely spotlessly clean and there

was ample tea and coffee making facilities. The evening meal Starter Combi for two was fantastic

highly recommend you try. Debbie and her staff made us very welcome and we intend to go back

very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review & we hope to see you again soon :) Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Booked the Turks head inn because we couldn't find family accommodation in Alnwick town. Very happy accident, wonderful stay, very accommodating and super family friendly. Lovely breakfast with large and clean rooms. Even the short drive to Alnwick was a treat with beautiful views to rival the Peak District. And thanks to the staff for all your local knowledge we will be back soon to visit crag side and the other attractions you mentioned.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review & we hope to see you again soon :) Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We popped in here after being recommened off Orchard House. Carla the bar manager is fantastic. After one round she knew exactly what we were drinking and made us feel very very welcome. She gave us a brief history of Rothbury. Fantastic real ales and a very warm country pub. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JoandJasonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review & we hope to see you again soon :) Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews