We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Turks Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Turks Head
Ranked #6 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just a few miles off the direct Newcastle to Edinburgh road lies the traditional Northumbrian town of Rothbury. The Turks Head is right in the centre of town, its bar door opening right onto the street. Inside you will find a warm welcome - if you are staying, eating or calling for a decent pint the bar is your first port of call.

We got a warm welcome from staff and customers alike and were quickly shown to a tidy if quirky room in the courtyard at the quiet back of the hotel. We had a small lounge with a kitchen unit, a tiny bedroom with a comfy bed and thick duvet and a really tiny shower room. Everything was neat and clean despite a few knocks and scratches to paint and woodwork.

Dinner is well cooked pub food. On a busy evening do not expect speedy cooking - but your dish will be freshly cooked for you. With good ale on tap there's no hurry anyway!

Breakfast was a choice of well prepared local food - smoked haddock from the North Sea, local butcher sausage and black pudding, fresh eggs.

Our double room came in at less than £50 including the great breakfast. Hard to beat and certainly unbeatable in attractive Rothbury.

Note - there is only on street parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipyardtales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we are currently re-painting and decorate the pub and have so far redecorated the bar/lounge area and complete re-furb of our loo's. The rooms are next on the agenda and we do hope you come back to visit us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    31
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
54
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the night at this very welcoming B&B,though arrived during a football game and a very busy time, the bar person took time to check us in. Most inviting and happy atmosphere by all staff and regulars. The garden room(cottage) had everything we needed and was very warm, food deliciously hot and beer refreshingly cold. Will most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review, we do hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
339 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Called for a lunchtime drink and struggled to get served even though the bar was quiet. Rather tired and tatty but I must say that the menu looked good value and had we been staying longer we might have given it a try.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi thanks for your review, we are happy to confirm we have had the pub painted and decorate throughout as well and upgrade and replace all out ladies and gents loo's in a refurbishment pre summer.
We do hope you come back some time in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We originally were booked in to stay in the simonside room but checking availability we asked to swap to the patio room for the same price, we had previously stayed in that room which was very clean and freshly decorated but it's nice to have a change of scenery. We were just as impressed with this little cottage type accommodation. The decor, cleanliness and space were first class. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed full
English breakfast with plenty of other alternatives on offer! I had the pancakes with syrup, bacon and haggis the 2nd morning and was not disappointed. Overall we were happy with our stay here and look forward to coming back in the summer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

After needing a well earned break from the kids and the dog we thought we would try staying at the Turks Head for the weekend.
From first walking into the bar to check in we were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to the patio cottage we had booked. We found it to be lovely and clean,cosy and very comfortable. After having a drink in the bar next to a lovely roaring fire we then set off to explore the surrounding area which was beautiful.
We could not fault the Turks Head at all. Every member of staff was extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome as did the locals. The food in the Turks Head was delicious and good value
and the breakfast choice was great and set us up for the day.
We are so pleased to have found this little gem only a couple of hours drive away from home and would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in or around Rothbury.
We will definitely return hopefully in the not to distant future :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and we do hope you come and stay with us again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Every year between Christmas and New Year, we like to have a few days away. These trips generally turn out to be quite quirky - we don't mind quirky and this trip was no exception.
We had booked an apartment for 4 with a sofa bed and a double room - if you book the same room and are led through the garden and turn to the right, be prepared to be surprised. I cannot imagine how anyone would want to stay in this 'apartment' - it comprises of a small living/kitchen with 2 tiny velux windows and the sofa bed, a bedroom with 2 single beds and the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen - the bedroom and bathroom have no windows!! The only thing the room is good for is a teenage hangout where they can make all the noise they like.
Needless to say within 5 mins of arriving we headed back to the bar and asked for an alternative, the staff were marvelous. We were given 2 rooms in the main pub - one had recently been refurbished, the other was waiting for a revamp but was perfectly adequate. We had to share the enormous bathroom, but that wasn't a major problem.
The downside of the room however is that it's right over the front door of the pub, the problem with this is the smoke - people stand outside the front door, smoke floats up and in through the window. 'Close the window' I hear you say, this would be an option if the heating wasn't on full blast. You can apparently alter the heating in the big room but not so in the refurbished room.
We ate in house on the first night - vast menu at very good prices - all I'll say is that you get what you pay for.
Cooked breakfast is good but the choice for the continental breakfast could be better. There are 3 cereals and grapefruit, no yogurts but there is juice and coffee. The pastries are made by the chef, but they do appear to be put back out the following morning if they haven't been eaten.
We chose the accommodation on the basis of previous reviews and I'm sorry for not agreeing with all those reviews but not everyone can agree on everything. I'll leave you to decide for yourself.
The staff at the pub are lovely - friendly, attentive and informative - thank you to them.
On the plus side, the hotel is ideally located for touring the fabulous surrounding countryside of Northumberland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolate06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review, we do appreciate the time it takes and without your valuable feedback we are unable to offer the service we strive for. I would however like to address a couple of the issue you have raised.

"the bedroom and bathroom have no windows!!"
The bathroom has a large frosted opening window, whilst the bedroom does not have a window it opens into the bathroom, natural light can be gained by simply leaving the adjoining door open.

"We had to share the enormous bathroom, but that wasn't a major problem"
-As you booked and payed for a family room i'm afraid sharing a bathroom in inevitable

"The downside of the room however is that it's right over the front door of the pub, the problem with this is the smoke - people stand outside the front door, smoke floats up and in through the window. 'Close the window' I hear you say, this would be an option if the heating wasn't on full blast. You can apparently alter the heating in the big room but not so in the refurbished room."

- We have a purpose built smoking area at the back of the pub, however occasionally customers prefer to smoke out front. Only one of our rooms is above the front door and this is first time anyone has mentioned this problem, that said the window is easily closed and ALL our rooms have thermostats on all radiators. The heating in your room is controlled by turning the dial on the radiator, I apologies if this was confusing, any member of staff would have gladly helped, had you mentioned this at the time of your stay.

"We ate in house on the first night - vast menu at very good prices - all I'll say is that you get what you pay for."
- Thank you, we do strive to provide value for money- all our food is home made and sourced locally where ever possible.

"Cooked breakfast is good but the choice for the continental breakfast could be better. There are 3 cereals and grapefruit, no yogurts but there is juice and coffee. The pastries are made by the chef, but they do appear to be put back out the following morning if they haven't been eaten."

-Our pastries are baked each morning freshly, we have a large variety of cereals, fresh fruit bowl in additional to the grapefruit, pastries & toast. We offer a full breakfast menu, not just cooked breakfast, Had you wished for anything in addition to what was on offer you had only to ask, as you have stated our staff are indeed lovely and strive to make your stay a pleasant one.

"The staff at the pub are lovely - friendly, attentive and informative - thank you to them.
On the plus side, the hotel is ideally located for touring the fabulous surrounding countryside of Northumberland."

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We had a girlie weekend at the cottage, so cozy and comfortable, a band was playing on the friday evening the place was buzzing. The full English breakfast the following morning kept us going the whole day. The staff were so helpful and friendly we are looking forward to going back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review & we hope to see you again soon :) Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.2 mi away
Springfield Guest House
Springfield Guest House
#10 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turks Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turks Head

Property: The Turks Head
Address: High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Turks Head 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turk's Head was built in the sixteenth century as a coaching Inn. Centuries later, our stables have been renovated into cottages boasting charming, original features. The main building was restructured in 1874 and our rooms offer truly impressive views over Coquetdale and Simonside. Our rates are based on B&B. We have a huge garden and patio area with kids play area. We also serve fresh local homemade food 7 days a week, meal times can vary depending on day and season, please call us or check our facebook page, generally 12-3, 6:30-9:00 Monday to Friday 12:00-8:00 Saturdays Sunday 12:00-4:00 or later. We offer free WiFi access to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Turks Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Turks Head Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing