We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Qualms Whatsoever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No Qualms Whatsoever”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have no qualms in recommending the Orchard House. Its in the middle of the middle of Northumberland and you can't get any nearer than that.
Everything about the place is meticulous even tho' we were in a standard en- suite double and not one of the higher priced band rooms.....
.......and if you wish to save a quid or two on petrol the local bus zooms you up to the front door in 30 minutes from Morpeth.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anagallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    65
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
300
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed here the weekend after Valentine's Day 2012 on a Groupon Deal. We were welcomed with hot towels and bucks fizz which was a lovely touch.
The room we were given was very nice. Nicely decorated and very clean. Did it live up to the reviews?...For us...not quite. There were a few little things which would have improved it - better mattress, batteries needed replaced in remote control, smashed coffee pot, loose coat hanger on back of door. Yes, we could have phoned down for new batteries/coffee pot but as the hotel was full and we were just on a Groupon deal we didn't bother. There was also a lot of noise from a bathroom next door which woke us early.
Breakfast was very tasty. It wasn't a very large portion but was very tasty.
However, overall it was fine. Five star...no..but depends on your frame of reference I suppose.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Orchard House, Rothbury 26th Feb 2012.. We received a warm welcome upon our arrival, plus bucks fizz wow. Enjoyed a fabulous room which was fitted to a high standard. All staff were very pleasant and could not have been more helpful. A fabulous place and would not hesitate in giving Orchard House the highest recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here 19 - 21 February. We arrived early as the journey took us less time than expected. Despite this, we were very warmly welcomed with a glass of bubbles, shown where things were and given our keys.The room was beautifully decorated, with good quality furnishings and linen. A big plus point was fresh ground coffee and fresh milk - what a great idea. How I hate those sachets of Nescafe! The bathroom had underfloor heating and a heated towel rail, which made for a lovely warm room. Toiletries were good quality and replaced when used.
Breakfast was delicious with pots of tea and cafetieres. The downstairs rooms are very elegant but homely, and again beautifully decorated and furnished.
The attention to detail is what makes this place a cut above others - fresh milk and coffee, fruit and goodies in the room etc. and of course the owner and his staff - all really hospitable people who clearly enjoy what they do, because it shows!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband surprised me with a two night break for Valentine's day. Now, granted, the romantic nature of my stay could arguably give me a rose-tinted view of The Orchard House but, truly, it was a wonderful stay.
Rothbury itself is a lovely, Georgian town with some striking, stone-built townhouses. The Orchard House itself is in that classic style and we loved the exterior. The real treat was our room though. We were greated by our wonderful host, Graham. He escorted us to our room and gave us hot towels and flutes of bucks fizz. My husband had asked for a bunch of flowers to be in the room and Graham had arranged this, even asking my husband to 'register' when we arrived (allowing him to fill out the accompanying card for my flowers).
The suite (Lauren) was STUNNING. My husband and I have stayed in some fantastic hotels in New York, London and a range of English boutique hotels, but this was genuinely the most beautiful room we have stayed in. The suite comprised of: an immaculate, stylish seating area, a bedroom with a huge bed, and the most amazing bathroom. The bath was definitely made for two- a deep, roll top beauty. The shower was magnificant- a power shower you just don't want to leave and the whole room was immaculately clean and high spec.
The little touches- bathrobes, truffles, bottles of water etc made us feel really spoiled and made us feel as if the owners clearly cared about giving their guests a lovely experience. We had the option of breakfast in our room (which we took up on the second morning) and, again, felt this was a luxurious treat.
The only thing which was a tiny, minor issue is that our bedroom was above the kitchen which did mean we could hear breakfast preparations from quite early on. Not a huge problem for us but if you were wanting a longer sleep-in you might be better in one of the other rooms. The thing is though, that you are so well looked after, and the experience is so relaxing, that even that small issue became trifling for us.
Reading some of the less satisfied reviews is quite mystifying. For a start, they do seem to have been written by the type of reviewer who complains for the sake of it... I mean, moaning about a room being too warm whilst acknowledging that you didn't turn the heating down seems utterly ridiculous. The reviews which have mentioned the breakfasts are also unfair. They may not be huge but they are made using tasty, high quality ingredients and are perfectly good at setting you up for the day. The staff we encountered at breakfast were, without exception, friendly and helpful...if we had wanted more toast etc we could have had it. Please, please don't pay attention to those who claim The Orchard House to be disappointing- it isn't. At all.
One of the best things about The Orchard House is Graham, the charming host. He made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. In the guest book there was an extensive list of services including ice, hot water bottles and even candles and soft music if you'd have wanted it. We aren't the type of guests to constantly harass our host but we really felt that this was some of the absolute best customer service we have ever experienced. The Orchard House is a real find. We couldn't believe the size of our suite and the quality of the service we received. Genuinely thrilled and the best Valentine's day I have ever had. Thank you Graham, we had a truly wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luce007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

As with others who have recently reviewed this B&B we had booked using a groupon voucher. Under the circumstances this was excellent value for money.
Having read the previous reviews, we seem to have missed out on the hot towel / bucks fizz arrival that others have had, not that this greatly detracts from anything as we were in Rothbury for the countryside and location rather than the accommodation. I did find it a bit peculiar that neither the staff member who originally met us or the owner (I assume he was) who we met later in the afternoon actually introduced themsleves.
Don't get the worng idea though as both were friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and warm enough, even though it was the coldest night of the winter so far (-7 overnight!!)
Breakfast was tasty with plenty of toast refills on request and no issue although we turned up later than the time we had originally given when we checked in.
All in all I would stay here again either with or without a special deal.
I would also recommend trying the Italia Plus restaurant for an evening meal - 5 mins walk away and excellent food servcie and value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ss1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We booked a one night stay at Orchard House for a romantic (first-night away from our baby!) getaway. Getting the booking on a half-price offer rate we weren't really expecting to get 5 star hospitality, how wrong we were! Welcoming bucks fizz, hot towels, sweet treats in the room and bath robes were a wonderful treat. The blue room was beautiful (although a little cold until the extra heater warmed it up eventually) and more than we expected. The house it's self was also lovely and the staff very attentive.

The only feedback comment I have, is as someone who is a big fan of breakfast, I would have liked more continental choices such as fruit and pastries but my husband loved the cooked breakfast. Also being asked about breakfast time on arrival might be too forward - maybe a form customers could complete and hang on their doors before they go to bed would be better?

I would definitely return and have already told friends and family what a wonderful stay Orchard House is.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrylolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
9.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
341 reviews
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing