We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury experience”
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
geordie land
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luxury experience”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed only overnight (gift from family) but enjoyed every minute, pampered luxury from the large bedRoom ( and bed) to the organic breakfast

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank col-sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    65
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
301
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed in the Lauren suite for 3 nights in April. The suite is lovely, and the extra space a bonus. Arrival was really lovely, with a glass of bucks fizz, hot towel and fudge and sherry in the room. Breakfast was exceptional, and I could not resist the salmon and scrambled eggs every morning! My husband enjoyed the full english. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The nearby Italian restaurant was exceptional and we would make a special effort to return to eat there. The Queens head was very hospitable and Cragside is amazing. I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecat4006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed one night on Groupon and, therefore received "standard" double room. There was nothing "standard" about it. We were in room 6, which was part of the Percy suite. The room was very spacious with modern decor and front-facing. Two large windows made the room extremely light, but the curtains were of good quality and therefore no chinks of light shining through during the night (which is often one of my complaints in other establishments). The bed linen & pillows were of high quality and the mattress was comfortable. There was also an enormous full-length mirror (again, sometimes missing even in 5-star properties). Enjoyed the bucks fizz & little treats in our room and nice to have access to fresh milk when required. Would have preferred sachets of Kenko,and sugar (instead of sugar- lumps) but that's just a personal thing, and I am sure if I had asked, they would have been available.

Breakfast was very tasty, but everything is on the menu, there is no cereal, yoghurts or fruit out for guests perusal, which again is just a personal preference and I can understand that this can lead to wastage. It was only after I had ordered, and breakfast was about to be served, that I realised I had not had my usual cornflakes! My husband did point out that they were listed on the menu and should have been ordered via the waitress. I did ask if there were any croissants, as I always like to finish with something sweet, and the waitress apologised and said that if we had been staying another night she would have made sure there were some the next day. However a few seconds later she returned and said that Graham (the owner) had popped out to get me a croissant! How about that for service!!

After breakfast the waitress showed us some of the other rooms, which all had the wow factor. Would love to return and try the Blue room.

Rothbury and surrounding area has plenty to offer. Cragside is well worth a visit and there are plenty of eating places. Lunch at the Three Wheat Heads was wonderful - friendly service and first-class food. We were also impressed with the Queens Head, just down the road from Orchard House.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Orchard House and am hoping for a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscart35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed one night in the standard double room on a groupon offer. Hot towels and bucks fizz on arrival, room was immaculate and to a high standard. Breakfast was lovely too.

TV set was a small flat screen with poor analogue picture, and complimentary WiFi did not reach our room on the top floor.

Parking was difficult as you are directly on the high street.

Room Tip: Proprieter indicated that sometimes booking a standard double room when not busy, may be upgraded to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squir3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for one night on a groupon special.Staff were great and so friendly,room which was a standard room was so comfortable.What a beautiful building set in a lovely place.Loved the little extras IE; bucks fizz and hot cloths on arrival,little treats in the room,lots of thought has gone into making guests feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We arrived on Good Friday and had difficulty finding a parking space as the village was very busy. The Orchard House does not have a car park, you have to find a space on the surrounding roads, but it is located right in the centre of the village so all shops, pubs and restaurants are within walking distance. The owner gave us a warm welcome, complete with a glass of bucks fizz, and warm towels to wash our hands which was a nice thought. We were shown to our room which was huge, en suite shower room, very modern, stylish, and had absolutely everything we needed, and overlooked the village green and police station. The public areas (hall, stairs, landings) of Orchard House are currently being refurbished but if they are finished to the same standard as the rooms then it will be a very fine establishment when completed. We had an evening meal in the restaurant at the Queens Head down the road which was excellent. The following evening we had a meal at the Italia Plus restaurant which was absolutely brilliant. It's obviously a very popular venue judging by the number of people eating there.Breakfasts at Orchard House were lovely, the dining room is beautiful. On Easter Sunday the waitress brought out warm hot cross buns to accompany breakfast. We got an excellent deal on Late Rooms for Orchard House. We would not hesitate to recommend this establishment, and we would certainly love to make a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We would agree with many of the opinions already expressed, although no doubt people's experiences vary according to their room. On the downside, our's (standard double) was not large, but adequate, and this would have been fine if there'd been more surfaces to put things on. The dressing table was largely taken up by the TV, and so we ended up putting things on the floor. We also had to boil the kettle on the floor as there didn't seem to be any other surface within reach of a socket to safely do so. (Apologies if there was and we didn't find it.) The mattress was also very soft and uneven (hollowed on each side where people sleep). I had read previous comments and response about the seasonal variations in pots of plants at the front of the building, but was disappointed to find nothing there at all in the middle of April. Perhaps some hardy evergreen shrubs might do all year round?

On the plus side, the room and the whole building was very tastefully furnished. There were some very nice extra touches (Bucks Fizz, etc). The bed linen and towels were of lovely quality. The shower room was fitted to a very high standard, and the shower was excellent. Our cooked breakfast was delicious, with very high quality items. We received a very warm welcome and were asked if we had made dinner arrangements. All the staff we met were helpful and very pleasant, and we felt relaxed at all times. Overall, I would thank the owner for a pleasant stay, and would hope that any minor criticisms would serve to help improve what is a lovely B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann57789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
319 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing