We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third visit, and still up to standard.”
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our third visit, and still up to standard.”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

It's all been said. From our greeting by Graham to the moment we left, everything was excellent. Our third visit, and our third stay in the Amethyst Room. The staff are all friendly and breakfast was up to the usual high standard. Looking forward to visit number four!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ericb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    65
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
301
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted with Bucks Fizz by Graham, the owner, made to feel comfortable straight away. We were on a Groupon voucher but were made to feel as a full paying guest. Room was very comfortable - king size bed in our room, we slept like logs. Great small touches eg fresh fruit, bottles of water (over and above the mandatory tea and coffee) and fresh flowers as a result the room smelt wonderful. Good choice of breakfast options and the staff very friendy.Will deffinately stay again. Appears to be very child frinedly. Great place to stay after a day long visit to Cragside.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Groupon deal and extra night.
We were warmly welcomed with a drink on our arrival.
We stayed in the Amethyst room.This was excellent and very comfortable.
The hotel is well situtated on the main street easy access for everything and walks.
Extensive choice of breakfast,'full english' great!!.
Would definitely go again and highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in Amethyst room, at rear of hotel,very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We were also treated to a Groupon coupon as a gift from family. The B & B is situated on the main street of this beautiful market town and is being delightfully and sympathetically restored to its former glory by the present owner. We were welcomed with a warm towel and a glass of bucks fizz to refresh us after our journey. Very acceptable on one of the hottest days this year. Our bedroom was on the top floor and described as a standard double. The bed was kingsize, and very comfortable with duck and goose down duvet and pillows. Having delicious nibbles and ground coffee instead of the usual Nescafe was a pleasant surprise. The ensuite was quite small but we were provided with toiletries and fluffly white towels. There was an very good selection of cooked breakfast, my only negative comment is that the options were not clear and there was no yogurt or fresh fruit available (personal choice for breakfast). I did however manage the very good granola and a locally produced sausage sandwich with very little room left for anything else. The staff are friendly and only too happy to show the more expensive rooms which definitely have the WOW factor. The recommended Queens Head Pub was a little disappointing as they had several meals missing from their menu due to being very busy. The comment that they had run out of salad,when the local co-op could most likely have supplied it very quickly, was to say the least perplexing. Overall this was a very pleasant overnight stay which we will no doubt return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller60England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamst, Owner at The Orchard House, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are going to look at our breakfast service as this does seem to cause some confusion. We do not offer a buffet and everything is ordered from the menu and of course you could have had fruit and yogurt however I do fully appreciate that if the menu is not explained properly it can cause confusion with guests not appreciating that they can order as many dishes as they wish and are not restricted to one course. I do hope this did not mar your enjoyment too much and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Orchard House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We used "Groupon", but upgraded to the "Blue Room", which was just perfect in every way. Every conceivable need was thought about, from chocolate brownies and flapjack on arrival, to water by the bedside, and ipod docking station. My other half was delighted to be able to watch the England v W Indies Test on his laptop via wifi. The welcome, complete with hot towels, was warm and friendly without being formal or intrusive. Lovely towels, robes, bath oils etc in the bathroom - and even the facility to make fresh coffee (no instant here). We had a wonderfully comfortable night in the huge bed complete with tons of pillows. Breakfast was delicious. We shall be recommending to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: If you get the chance - upgrade. Worth every penny. So luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 453JayCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geordie land
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed only overnight (gift from family) but enjoyed every minute, pampered luxury from the large bedRoom ( and bed) to the organic breakfast

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank col-sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed in the Lauren suite for 3 nights in April. The suite is lovely, and the extra space a bonus. Arrival was really lovely, with a glass of bucks fizz, hot towel and fudge and sherry in the room. Breakfast was exceptional, and I could not resist the salmon and scrambled eggs every morning! My husband enjoyed the full english. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The nearby Italian restaurant was exceptional and we would make a special effort to return to eat there. The Queens head was very hospitable and Cragside is amazing. I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecat4006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
319 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing